We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual excellent lunch”
Review of Portland House

Portland House
Restaurant details
Reviewed 15 September 2016

As we’re local, my wife and I visit Portland House often. Our most recent visit was par for the course.
I was feeling peckish so I opted for the two sausages, two eggs and chips; my wife had the Coronation Chicken Jacket Potato. She always says the Coronation Chicken here is the best ever. My meal was excellent as usual.
I have read some petty reviews of this restaurant which have grumbled that the carpet is filthy. I wouldn’t disagree, but do you eat off the carpet? Bear in mind Portland House is busy so the consequent high level of footfall would make any carpet filthy! Also I would point out that the restaurant has a five-star hygiene rating.
We shall eat here regularly as usual. Good place, we recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 902timj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R L, Owner at Portland House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for your review. The carpet is something we are desperately looking to change and will do at some point but will require us to close for a number of days. Will keep customers posted of any days we close. See you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Very enjoyable meal, I had an omelette that was one of the best I have eaten. Great staff that give you a warm welcome, thank you.

1  Thank julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R L, Owner at Portland House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for your review hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Came here for lunch with friends greeted by friendly waitress, there was a good choice of food on the menu all at very reasonable prices, our curry was very nice as were the chips and omelette. Visited during Victorian week and locals were in the cafe dressed in costume would recommend.Tea came in pots.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank roscwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R L, Owner at Portland House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Thank you for a lovely review, any description of the lady who served you so we can acknowledge their good work. Maybe see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We'll never been before despite family and many visits to Llandrindod..

Service was poor
Food was poor - only good thing was they served fentimans drinks, bar that it was an alround poor experience...

Never mind trying out the B&B that they had there..

2  Thank Ravingeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R L, Owner at Portland House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Sorry to hear you had a poor experience with us. We endeavour to make all our customers experience a good one. Our past reviews have always been of a good standard. As for the bandb which you did not use we have a 9 out of 10 rating with a popular booking agent and have recently received a trip advisor award for excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We love this cafe we always find it so clean ,the staff are so nice and friendly and the food is always perfect today we had the small breakfasts which were really nice the bacon was delicious nice and thick and the portion sizes of the breakfasts were really good and the presentation was wonderful as usual ,the place is always so clean and the staff are always very attentive and keep the tables clean ready for the next customers,shortly after we had been here we went up to the lake side restaurant and what a difference in the two places ,portland house should be proud of themselves as there overall service is fantastic i know previous reviewers have mentioned the carpets in portland house well they need to see the state of the tables and chairs at the lakeside restaurant they hadn't been wiped or cleared even those that had been cleared still had crumbs on them and spillage marks .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R L, Owner at Portland House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Thank you for your review hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portland House also viewed

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to Portland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing