We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This gorgeous, cosy little hideaway surpassed our...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Straw Cottage from the meadow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Straw Cottage from the meadow
Light and airy sitting room The Living area with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The Straw Cottage from the meadow
Light and airy sitting room
The Living area with wood burning stove
Double bedroom
Dining area with candelabra
The view from the veranda
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Spend a lazy afternoon in the hammock
Kitchen with Welsh dresser and gas cooker
Paddling in the stream
Walking the dogs at the back of the cottage
The path to the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jeremy K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This gorgeous, cosy little hideaway surpassed our expectations and was the perfect place to see in the New Year.”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just got back from spending four days over new year walking in the frosty sunshine, getting toasted by the fire, filling the cottage with the delicious smells of local produce, cycling through the softest of landscapes and reading by candle light. There was nowhere I'd have rather been. No Internet, no phone, no electricity, just a lot of peace.

Date of stay: December 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the straw cottage with my boyfriend and our two friends. as soon as we got there we fell in love. Margot was so lovely and helpful, thank you. . . you are literally in the middle of your own paradise, its so peaceful and is actually really nice not being with electricity. It was very clean, shower was powerful and really hot and the beds were super comfy, there were also lots of candles and a lovely log fire.what more could you want? would recommend and will be back!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how cosy it was at night
Liked least: quite cold when we would wake up
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirayfont...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Straw cottage is a rare space ideal for total relaxation. We were there for a week with our 2 year old and we enjoyed every minute of it. There was nothing to interrupt our time together. We were surrounded by beautiful scenery that went on as far as the eye could see with the sound of the stream and the odd animal. We also took advantage of nearby activities such as hiring bikes and riding around the Elan Valley, a boat ride down a canal and had lots of picnics and barbecues. We are very happy to have had this experience.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surrounding nature and no wifi.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful piece of hidden treasure”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Straw Cottage provides the perfect getaway from normal life and offers something different with the Cottage built of straw and no electricity.

When you relax on the decking, you feel a part of nature, as all you can hear is the stream flowing and the birds singing. As you settle down in the evening you can enjoy the night sky with a BBQ or get cozy around the log burner that provides you warmth and comfort. Overall you feel like no one knows where you are and it’s complete bliss

We went with our young daughter who was happy to explore the local surroundings, whether it be fishing in the stream or swinging on the swing, in any case it was refreshing to know that she was perfectly safe no matter what she chose to do.

Despite no electricity The Straw Cottage provided for all your basic amenities and the local village was only a short drive away if required.

The hosts were very welcoming and more than approachable with huge smiles. We will definitely be returning soon.

Date of stay: April 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna m
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

No words to describe how amazing this place is! You really will have the most chilled out weekend ever. So relaxing. The views are truely beautiful, the Straw Cottage is truely beautiful. Did not miss the electricity once, nor my 6 year old son, we played cricket, baseball, football in the large open field, we went pond dipping in the stream. We played and made dens in the wood. We did a treasure hunt that was given to us by Margot, again thank you for his treasure. The whole area was so safe to play and explore for the young and the old, all fenced in so childrens and dogs dont wonder off and get lost. It was so cosy when it started to get dark, the logs on the fire the candles on. We chatted, we laughed, we played games, we all had so much fun. We had a BBQ on 2 evenings and the rain certainly didn't spoil it so dont let the weather put you off. We are now working out our dates to come back again.

Date of stay: March 2014
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.