We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location with breathtaking views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pregge Mill

Pregge Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pregge Mill
Upper living room Upper floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Pregge Mill
Upper living room
Upper floor
Upper lounge: Views across the Usk Valley
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom dressing table
Lower lounge: TV and library
Lower lounge: Staircase to upper lounge
Lower lounge: Staircase to upper lounge
Shower-room
Shower-room
Crickhowell and the Usk Valley
Entrance, parking for two small cars
Winter at Pregge Mill
Approach to Pregge Mill
This could be your first sight of Pregge Mill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahN604
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Idyllic location with breathtaking views”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in September 2011

Pregge Mill was recommended to us by a friend as we were attending a wedding in the area but did not want to stay in the same hotel as the reception. Jon and Ann made some excellent recommendations for places to eat and drink, including the Bear and Peterstone Court.

The house is well maintained, light and airy and exactly as described.

The location was the main attraction - it is on some beautiful walking trails and we were rewarded with breathtaking views from the of Table Mountain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2013
How kind and thoughtful; we try our best !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jolamo30
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely homely accommodation in very pretty village”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here as a couple with a young baby and had a nice time. The accommodation was attractive, clean, warm and comfortable. The location was good, being tucked away but also only a short walk or drive to the centre of the village where there was an array of shops, castle ruins and a lovely pub called The Bear (great food). There was parking right outside the Mill and fantastic views from the property. We would thoroughly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The upside down style, spacious living area and access to wifi
Liked least: Combination microwave/oven was a bit limiting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
smr105
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place but perhaps missing a few finer details”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Pregge Mill during a pre-Easter getaway and had a nice, relaxing time. We would certainly like to stay here again but want to point out a few small things that, if looked into, would make out stay even more perfect. I never mean to be picky in my reviews, but hope to provide helpful, objective descriptions and accounts. The owners were away during our stay enjoying some well deserved time off themselves and so there has not been an opportunity for them to hear our comments or act on them. As a result - please do take into account any response they might provide after posting this review.

On arrival - we didn't know where the keys would be as had not received any instructions regarding this. Luckily, we found the right door and chanced across the keys (I'm not going t say where they were on here to avoid security being brought into question).

At any cottage we have visited, we are used to a welcome pack that contains information on the local area, including advice re: pubs/restaurants and any walks or activities available in the immediate vicinity. We appreciate that lots of people who come to the Brecon Beacons are keen walkers (we're a little on the amateur side!) and will already have detailed plans of what they want to do. We didn't plan that far in advance and would have appreciated this touch! There is a notice board in the cottage with the names of pubs etc in the town, but no advice as to what's worth going to (naturally, we went to them all and will leave reviews on here for each in turn!). Further to this - although not expected, the omission of a modest welcome hamper including some milk/butter/bread or breakfast stuff is a slight shame. I only mention this as we have been to several cottages that are of similar, or cheaper rate and include this and it always starts the holiday off on a high :)

It was an unusually cold few days that we were at the cottage, and the heating is not controllable in the cottage itself - not that I could find, anyway. It would have been nice to have control over the heating in case no one is about to change it. The owners do leave a notice asking you to speak with them if you wish for it to be altered, but we didn't have that option on this occasion.

The property does off Wifi, apparently, but the details on the noticeboard do not proivde clear instructions what the network is called. We tried the password that was left on the board on all available networks, but none of them worked. This was attempted on 1 computer and two phones. We would have liked to have used the WiFi to plan what to do in the local area, considering no welcome book!

The one suggestion I would like to reinforce from previous reviews is to do with the stairs in the cottage. I'm 27 and not clumsy (usually!). Having said this, I slipped down the stairs on 3 occasions (without any alcohol involved). The culprit was one of the corner steps on the curve of the stairs being rather slim and easily missed when walking down the stairs. This was dangerous and it really needs to be made safe. My suggestion would include what has been said re: hand rail. Equally, a rubber grip on the corner steps would be a very good idea in my opinion.

The final thing - where was the guest book? We couldn't find one! We did have a lovely stay (despite everything said here!) and would have loved to have said thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs and lack of welcome book
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2013
Dear smr105, thanks for the review, and glad to tie up any loose ends; we have a box full of things to do in the area in the lower lounge,you must have just missed it. If our guests ask for us to prepare a Welcome Box, we will carry out their wishes, but we always have tea, and coffee in the premises.The visitor's book is next to one of the TV's, but it's discreet.We never give our opinions on eateries, because everybody is not the same.We are having bother with BT at the moment, thus the temporary line, and lack of WiFi at the moment, for which we apoligise.Finally we emailed you the day before letting you know where the keys would be, although it's rare for us not to greet our guests personally, but we're glad you had a good time and next time we'll be here for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing