We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe”

Mynydd ddu tea rooms Cwmdu
Ranked #13 of 32 Restaurants in Crickhowell
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great coffee and a good cooked breakfast and good value. Warm welcome from lovely staff. Will most definitely be back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JanGwent_southwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018

A nice friendly welcome waits for you at this little gem of a place. My husband enjoyed a full cooked breakfast whilst I opted for Welsh rarebit with homemade chutney, and both hit the spot! It's rare to find a cafe these days that offers good quality dishes prepared on the premises, and with a plethora of awards to back it up you know you're in the right place.
A nice, clean establishment where nothing is too much trouble. A must if you're in the area and be sure to check out the cakes - we bought a chocolate and banana loaf and it simply melted in the mouth. Cracking!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WelshWookieWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

I was so hungry I was banging on the door just before 8am. Keen to start walking. great place to visit before walking the Black mountains or the Brecons. Great service and full cooked breakfast - Big boy is perfect to set you up for a day outdoors.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Visited this cafe as it's really handy for the local campsite. I really want to write something nice here and give it a better rating but a couple of things are stopping me.

The food is nice, the breakfast was filling and a decent price, I think it was £5.95 for a standard breakfast with a cup of tea. But here is the crux and I hope the owners read this as i think this is constructive criticism.

An extra cup of tea costs £1.70 for a small mug!
the second morning I ordered beans on toast and guess what it was the same price as the standard breakfast the day before....how can beans on toast be the same price as a full English breakfast?

However is a decent cafe and the foods ok!

Date of visit: August 2017
3  Thank Matto8750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

...and although it looks nice and you know people who've been there an liked it - but you've always been a little cautious about going in - in case its not all it's cracked up to be?

I've passed this place hundreds of times and always had a reason for not stopping, but today, the sun was shining, I had plenty of time and my tummy was rumbling. "in you go" I said, parked the car and went in. Blimey, what a clean, appetising place with really genuinely friendly people. Medium breakfast and coffee was needed and brought to my table immaculately cooked and presented.

"Where have you been all my life" I chided myself between mouthfuls - wishing I had room for all then cakes on display and probably a main course or two.

Wasted years, that I'm quite keen to make up. Well done to all the staff there, brilliant job!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rhmclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mynydd ddu tea rooms Cwmdu also viewed

Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
Crickhowell, Brecon Beacons National Park
 

Been to Mynydd ddu tea rooms Cwmdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing