We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Pictures”
Review of Kora Cottages

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kora Cottages
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I rented #8 (2bd) for my kids/grandkids and #11 (1bd) for me. #11 both were small and dirty, the floors felt like it was collapsing/lopsided and no I was not intoxicated. We were constantly being watched and nagged at for noise and kids playing too loud, the fire too much yada yada. The swing set was ridiculous. It was a slide only (no swings) It was falling apart. the place is run down and needs lots of renovations. Besides all that It was great having my now kids and grandkids together. I hope to make it a yearly trip to Wasaga. but not there!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stayed one week in the unit 7. There was mold all over the bathroom , in the windows and air conditioning. The floor of the bathroom was beginning to " collapse" . The dishes were dirty . Unable to open or close the blinds in the windows ( broken ) . No children's swing . The pictures on the website does not represent the current situation. Young people rent units in the weekend for party : music, alcohol and others. Anyway , it's the same for all the cottages near the beach! Was probably a nice place before but now renovations are needed!!!

Room Tip: If you are there, visited the unit before renting .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripforweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Booked to stay for one night May 2-4 long weekend with 5 people, early to mid 20s. We had trouble from when we booked back in March as there was a lot of confusion but we got it sorted out. Issues from before we arrived is that we requested proof of purchase or an email confirmation and they were unable to provide it. When we arrived Sunday morning we had to run around the property trying to look for someone to talk to. Once we found someone we were informed that we would not be staying in a cottage overnight but instead we would be staying across the street at the Queens Motel. If we had known we would be staying in a Motel we might have reconsidered where we booked. We tried to make the best of the situation so did not complain. Once we got in our room it was very tiny, dirty, dingy and had no soap, toilet paper or any other amenities. We went back to ask if we could at least toilet paper and were told we were supposed to bring our own... Considering they made us put down a $200 damage deposit plus pay $50 each to stay here I would definitely find other accommodations when visiting Wasaga Beach. The only positive was that the walk to the beach was less than 5 minutes away and River Road East is a very lively fun street with tons of friendly people. BUT definitely look elsewhere when booking a place to stay in Wasaga else you may be mislead like we were.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrispehfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

First of all! This place was Terrible
Me and 5 friends rented a cottage which wsuper dirty and old.
Bathroom was disgusting and felt as if the floor was about to collapse from under your feet also the bedroom sheets were dirty!!! all we had was a little toaster oven
And there were only three outlets in the whole place.

Secondly,
The owner lied to us and told us that the cottage was $800.00 with $400.00 being the security deposit and if the cottage was in clean and in good shape at the end of the weekend we would get that $400.00 back.

Check out day came and we woke up and cleaned the place even better then how it looked when we arrived. The owner came banging on our door at 9am (check out time wasn't till 10am) and came in yelling at us telling us we had to hurry up. We hurried and finished cleaning and packing and called her over to inspect the cottage.

We asked her for the security deposit back and she said no there was no money for us.

This place is horrible and the owners are even worse

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

First off, let me say I'm so glad i didn't disregard this place based on the bad reviews i found on Kora Cottages. Either the owners read all the bad reviews and changed their business practices or there were some unhappy people that booked these cottages.
The cottages were clean and in much better shape than i anticipated. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen cabinets are well stocked!!! i was delighted!!
Barbara was more than accommodating with payments and even went out of her way to get a plumber in when we told her the sink was clogged. She did not charge us for the plumber and apologized profusely. I was very impressed with her customer service(and I'm not easily impressed ha ha )
We were a large crowd of around 6 families and admittedly noisy - she just reminded us gently on the first night to be mindful of loud music and we took the party inside thereafter. i was very happy with these cottage rentals and will recommend them highly to all my friends visiting Wasaga Beach.
It was a wonderful experience and my son (and the other kids) had a blast. Thank you Barbara.

Room Tip: Check out the fridge and washrooms ahead of time so you can let her know it needs to be adjusted so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KarrieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wasaga Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
147 reviews
10.3 km away
Wasaga Motel
Wasaga Motel
#3 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
22 reviews
4.3 km away
Travelodge Wasaga Beach
Travelodge Wasaga Beach
#13 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
26 reviews
0.8 km away
No photo provided
Edgewater By The Bay
#15 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
6 reviews
0.3 km away
J&J Motel
J&J Motel
#4 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kora Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kora Cottages

Address: 67 River Rd E | Site 128, P.O. Box 15, R.R. 1, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2L1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kora Cottages Hotel Wasaga Beach
Kora Cottages Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing