We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wasaga Beach Inn and Cottages(Wasaga Beach)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
J&J Motel(Wasaga Beach)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saga Resort(Wasaga Beach)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wasaga Motel(Wasaga Beach)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hollywood Cottages(Wasaga Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wasaga B&B(Wasaga Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
3
4
0
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
0
6
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

The picture they have on their website is outdated for sure! The landscaping looked so pretty on the website but when you actually get there, you wonder if it is the same cottages!

PROS:

In terms of its location, it is about a 5-minute walk to the main beach, which was a bonus as we basically left our car by the cottage the whole time we were there. It is a 5-minute drive to a Walmart Superstore which also had a Boston Pizza, Harveys, KFC, and other restaurants within the plaza. It is a 5-minute drive to the LCBO and Beer Store. Along the main beach there are various fast food places as well which included a Burger King, Pizza Pizza and Tim Hortons.

Water pressure in shower was great however, if someone else was using the water in the cottage, the hot water kicks in and can get scalding hot as it had happened to us one morning.

There was two gas barbeque grills, which came in handy, but you had to share with all the other guests in the complex. Luckily we brought our own portable bbqs with us.

Barb, the owner, kept the property clean. We always saw her cleaning up and picking up garbage around. Cottages were clean but very old and run down.


CONS:

Way to expensive for what they were charging for these cottages! We paid $400 for 4 people for 2 nights!!

The cottages itself were very small and tight. It said that it could sleep up to 8 people but you would literally have to be on top of each other to do so. The kitchen/living room was very tight and you could barely fit 6 people in it.

The website said that there would be a toaster, kettle, pots and pans as well as cutlery and such but our cabin only had one frying pan and cutlery and a microwave. Was hoping to have the toaster and kettle but luckily the other cottage that housed one of the families in our group had them and we ended up sharing it.

The cottage itself was clean, upon arrival, however very run down. Everything about the cottages was old from the furniture to the paint to the floors, etc. At one point we thought the floors were going to break through and often times we felt they were slanted. Bathroom is very dated but I guess that is what you would expect from cottage life? The kitchen stove was hardly working, you had to put it to maximum to actually cook anything and because there was no vent fan, trying to cook in there kept setting the alarm off.

They had an air conditioner in the living room but because of the layout of the bedrooms, it was still hot in the bedrooms. The air conditioner was leaking all over the couch and around the window and almost left a musty smell.


Overall, it is a good place to stay if you are a younger group and just looking to party at the beach and just crash here are night. I would not really recommend it for families.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I rented #8 (2bd) for my kids/grandkids and #11 (1bd) for me. #11 both were small and dirty, the floors felt like it was collapsing/lopsided and no I was not intoxicated. We were constantly being watched and nagged at for noise and kids playing too loud, the fire too much yada yada. The swing set was ridiculous. It was a slide only (no swings) It was falling apart. the place is run down and needs lots of renovations. Besides all that It was great having my now kids and grandkids together. I hope to make it a yearly trip to Wasaga. but not there!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stayed one week in the unit 7. There was mold all over the bathroom , in the windows and air conditioning. The floor of the bathroom was beginning to " collapse" . The dishes were dirty . Unable to open or close the blinds in the windows ( broken ) . No children's swing . The pictures on the website does not represent the current situation. Young people rent units in the weekend for party : music, alcohol and others. Anyway , it's the same for all the cottages near the beach! Was probably a nice place before but now renovations are needed!!!

Room Tip: If you are there, visited the unit before renting .
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripforweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015 via mobile

First of all! This place was Terrible
Me and 5 friends rented a cottage which wsuper dirty and old.
Bathroom was disgusting and felt as if the floor was about to collapse from under your feet also the bedroom sheets were dirty!!! all we had was a little toaster oven
And there were only three outlets in the whole place.

Secondly,
The owner lied to us and told us that the cottage was $800.00 with $400.00 being the security deposit and if the cottage was in clean and in good shape at the end of the weekend we would get that $400.00 back.

Check out day came and we woke up and cleaned the place even better then how it looked when we arrived. The owner came banging on our door at 9am (check out time wasn't till 10am) and came in yelling at us telling us we had to hurry up. We hurried and finished cleaning and packing and called her over to inspect the cottage.

We asked her for the security deposit back and she said no there was no money for us.

This place is horrible and the owners are even worse

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

First off, let me say I'm so glad i didn't disregard this place based on the bad reviews i found on Kora Cottages. Either the owners read all the bad reviews and changed their business practices or there were some unhappy people that booked these cottages.
The cottages were clean and in much better shape than i anticipated. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen cabinets are well stocked!!! i was delighted!!
Barbara was more than accommodating with payments and even went out of her way to get a plumber in when we told her the sink was clogged. She did not charge us for the plumber and apologized profusely. I was very impressed with her customer service(and I'm not easily impressed ha ha )
We were a large crowd of around 6 families and admittedly noisy - she just reminded us gently on the first night to be mindful of loud music and we took the party inside thereafter. i was very happy with these cottage rentals and will recommend them highly to all my friends visiting Wasaga Beach.
It was a wonderful experience and my son (and the other kids) had a blast. Thank you Barbara.

Room Tip: Check out the fridge and washrooms ahead of time so you can let her know it needs to be adjusted so you give her enough time to get a handyman in.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karrie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews