We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is LIT. Don't go with your family and don't bring your kids.”
Review of Kora Cottages

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasaga Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kora Cottages
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Everyone here complaining is literally so foolish for not doing there research. THIS IS A PARTY SPOT, 5 mins from a two day festival, full teens running around and getting intoxicated. If you were unaware of this, your a fool. And as for the quality of the cabins, Koras not dumb enough to put money into already cheap cabins that are used for partying. Get your heads out of your butts and do some research.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keirstenpaynter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2016

The picture they have on their website is outdated for sure! The landscaping looked so pretty on the website but when you actually get there, you wonder if it is the same cottages!

PROS:

In terms of its location, it is about a 5-minute walk to the main beach, which was a bonus as we basically left our car by the cottage the whole time we were there. It is a 5-minute drive to a Walmart Superstore which also had a Boston Pizza, Harveys, KFC, and other restaurants within the plaza. It is a 5-minute drive to the LCBO and Beer Store. Along the main beach there are various fast food places as well which included a Burger King, Pizza Pizza and Tim Hortons.

Water pressure in shower was great however, if someone else was using the water in the cottage, the hot water kicks in and can get scalding hot as it had happened to us one morning.

There was two gas barbeque grills, which came in handy, but you had to share with all the other guests in the complex. Luckily we brought our own portable bbqs with us.

Barb, the owner, kept the property clean. We always saw her cleaning up and picking up garbage around. Cottages were clean but very old and run down.


CONS:

Way to expensive for what they were charging for these cottages! We paid $400 for 4 people for 2 nights!!

The cottages itself were very small and tight. It said that it could sleep up to 8 people but you would literally have to be on top of each other to do so. The kitchen/living room was very tight and you could barely fit 6 people in it.

The website said that there would be a toaster, kettle, pots and pans as well as cutlery and such but our cabin only had one frying pan and cutlery and a microwave. Was hoping to have the toaster and kettle but luckily the other cottage that housed one of the families in our group had them and we ended up sharing it.

The cottage itself was clean, upon arrival, however very run down. Everything about the cottages was old from the furniture to the paint to the floors, etc. At one point we thought the floors were going to break through and often times we felt they were slanted. Bathroom is very dated but I guess that is what you would expect from cottage life? The kitchen stove was hardly working, you had to put it to maximum to actually cook anything and because there was no vent fan, trying to cook in there kept setting the alarm off.

They had an air conditioner in the living room but because of the layout of the bedrooms, it was still hot in the bedrooms. The air conditioner was leaking all over the couch and around the window and almost left a musty smell.


Overall, it is a good place to stay if you are a younger group and just looking to party at the beach and just crash here are night. I would not really recommend it for families.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

I rented #8 (2bd) for my kids/grandkids and #11 (1bd) for me. #11 both were small and dirty, the floors felt like it was collapsing/lopsided and no I was not intoxicated. We were constantly being watched and nagged at for noise and kids playing too loud, the fire too much yada yada. The swing set was ridiculous. It was a slide only (no swings) It was falling apart. the place is run down and needs lots of renovations. Besides all that It was great having my now kids and grandkids together. I hope to make it a yearly trip to Wasaga. but not there!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

We stayed one week in the unit 7. There was mold all over the bathroom , in the windows and air conditioning. The floor of the bathroom was beginning to " collapse" . The dishes were dirty . Unable to open or close the blinds in the windows ( broken ) . No children's swing . The pictures on the website does not represent the current situation. Young people rent units in the weekend for party : music, alcohol and others. Anyway , it's the same for all the cottages near the beach! Was probably a nice place before but now renovations are needed!!!

Room Tip: If you are there, visited the unit before renting .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripforweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

Booked to stay for one night May 2-4 long weekend with 5 people, early to mid 20s. We had trouble from when we booked back in March as there was a lot of confusion but we got it sorted out. Issues from before we arrived is that we requested proof of purchase or an email confirmation and they were unable to provide it. When we arrived Sunday morning we had to run around the property trying to look for someone to talk to. Once we found someone we were informed that we would not be staying in a cottage overnight but instead we would be staying across the street at the Queens Motel. If we had known we would be staying in a Motel we might have reconsidered where we booked. We tried to make the best of the situation so did not complain. Once we got in our room it was very tiny, dirty, dingy and had no soap, toilet paper or any other amenities. We went back to ask if we could at least toilet paper and were told we were supposed to bring our own... Considering they made us put down a $200 damage deposit plus pay $50 each to stay here I would definitely find other accommodations when visiting Wasaga Beach. The only positive was that the walk to the beach was less than 5 minutes away and River Road East is a very lively fun street with tons of friendly people. BUT definitely look elsewhere when booking a place to stay in Wasaga else you may be mislead like we were.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrispehfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wasaga Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Saga Resort
Saga Resort
#2 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
147 reviews
10.3 km away
Wasaga Motel
Wasaga Motel
#3 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
22 reviews
4.3 km away
Travelodge Wasaga Beach
Travelodge Wasaga Beach
#13 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Villa Nova Motel Resort
Villa Nova Motel Resort
#6 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
26 reviews
0.8 km away
No photo provided
Edgewater By The Bay
#15 of 16 in Wasaga Beach
6 reviews
0.3 km away
J&J Motel
J&J Motel
#4 of 11 in Wasaga Beach
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kora Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kora Cottages

Address: 67 River Rd E | Site 128, P.O. Box 15, R.R. 1, Wasaga Beach, Ontario L9Z 2L1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wasaga Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Wasaga Beach
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kora Cottages Hotel Wasaga Beach
Kora Cottages Wasaga Beach, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing