We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Albergue lo de Trivi(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Grande Hostel(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$26
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hosteria Vertical Lodge(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Hem Herhu(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Cabanas Cerro Torre(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cabanas Rivendel(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Latitud 49 Apart(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patagonicus Bed & Breakfast(El Chalten)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
114
67
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
67
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtthe main streetnice fireplacecomfortable bedsin townstrong coffeequiet at nightlog firebox lunchcome homerooms are largenice stayconvenient locationtwo nightsgreat place to staystay there againsmall town
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2016

We weren't feeling well when we checked in, and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Rocio even rushed out from her home on her day off to wish us well as we drove off to spend a few nights at Hosteria El Pilar! These are super nice people. Our room was quiet and comfortable, and we enjoyed being away from the busy street nearby. It's very close to the start of the Torre trail and also close to many restaurants since it's such a tiny town. Since several places now offer happy hour from 4-7 P.M., you can choose noisier places like this if you want your dinner during those hours or just walk around to find a quieter place. The breakfast was good. We're very happy that we found such a friendly, quiet place to stay in town.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thanks a lot Elizabeth for your nice review!
Our staff works as a family really, and it appears it works!!!
Glad you are much better and hope to see you in a close future.
There is always something missing in El Chalten that make you return!
Regards
Hosteria el Puma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

The place is very cozy. Rooms are big and comfortable. Breakfast is fine. The staff is very helpful. I did not try dinner there because i stayed for only one night. You have free parking space. Wi fi only works in the lobby but good wi fi is a problem is all chaltén. Very well located, close to the laguna de los tres trail.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sofia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ritag1969, Commercial Department at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Sofia
Thanks a lot for your review!
Best regards
Hosteria El Puma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

This hotel was located in a convenient location in the small town of El Chalten. The Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and the lounge/dinner area are wonderful. The hotel rooms and bathrooms were a little small and there was no TV in the rooms to watch. We were only here for two nights so we didn't mind it too much, but there isn't much space in the hotel rooms to store items. The hotel is very accessible to the trails for hiking. Overall, great experience!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aditi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosteria-El-Puma, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you Aditi for your comment!!
We want to preserve the cozy and quiet enviroment of the lodge in this remote mountain village. That´s the only reason for rooms without TV. But we take note about your opnion and observations!
We hope to see you again in Patagonia!
Kind regards,
El Puma staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

El Chaltén seems to be transitioning from sleepy hikers enclave to a true tourist destination. Infrastructure is improving, bars are popping up, and buses make their way in and out most days. As the personality of the town changes, it's wonderful to stay at a place like Hosteria El Puma. It preserves all the best qualities of the original lodges, with a friendly and knowledgeable staff, but has grown to accommodate demand and diversity without cheapening the experience to just cash in.

This was our favorite place to stay in all of Argentina. The room was well appointed and warm after long days of hiking. Instead of TV or loud parties (like we saw at other hotels for hikers), folks gathered by the fireplace to sip tea and exchange stories and chat with El Puma's wonderful staff (shout out to Rocio).

With wind and snow during much of the year, it's helpful to have El Puma situated close to many of the best restaurants (and the hotel's kitchen can accommodate vegetarians and gluten-free folks, too).

Overall, I can't give higher praise to El Puma!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosteria-El-Puma, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Thank you Ryan for your comment!!
It is very nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay at El Puma and in El Chaltén!!
We look forward to see you here for a new trek adventure!
Kind regards from the staff, specially from Rocío!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We stayed in the Torre room, 4 nights. It's a brisk walk in the high winds to some of the trailheads for trekking but overall, a superb location. The breakfasts are hearty with fine yogurt, strong coffee, tasty breads and preserves. Staff members speak English quite well and helped us with LANTAM boarding passes the day of departure. The walk to town is only few minutes away or you can choose to eat at the Puma or nearby restaurants. There's no coffee in the room but you can walk down the hall and get a cup for your spouse right? This is your place in El Chalten. We're coming back to this hosteria.

Room Tip: You will heard the wind howling, be sure of that.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyf296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hosteria-El-Puma, Gerente at Hosteria El Puma, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thank you for leaving your comment! You are welcome to come back for a new adventure in Patagonia! Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews