We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely terrible/awful/abysmal”
Review of Dona Magalis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla El Gran Roque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dona Magalis
Reviewed 24 February 2015

so. I'm here right now.
The family is insanely rude, MEAN even, & absolutely do not care one way or the other about their guests. I'm sure they drum up enough business from agencies duping people into staying here (that's how I'm here) so I guess they don't have to.
Dirty. Don't touch the walls or the paint will flake on you. Bathroom - ugh!
Food???? She literally just told me two minutes ago 'you don't like it? Go to another posada' & wiped her hands in the air.
She is a total 'word-for-female-dog' & the rest of the family glares at you in disdain every time they walk by.
Absolutely miserable place in 'paradise'
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amigo-imaginarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2015

I booked late and was told there are not accomodations for Christmas. I should have only booked 1-2 nights and taken the chance for my other 6 nights. The room was very small and at first the owner gave me the smallest room (and I am sure I overpaid as an non Venezuelan tourist for 8 days). Because the lock did not work, the owner gave me a larger room. Everything is very old and run down. The equivalent in the US would be a homeless shelter (I imagine).

The food was terrible. The owner must be tired from cooking everyday since it was only me in the posada (food is included), she was lazy and cooked the same food everyday and it was unimaginative. I felt like a dog waiting to eat the food.

Finally, I couldn't stay the entire 8 days (I only stayed 4 nights of the 8 that I paid for) nor could I eat the food after several days.

Note on Venezuela: Be thankful for the massive currency exchange rate with local people (black market) and ask on average 5 people what the price of anything is or rate is because everyone will try to overcharge you for everything. (I try to be a detective when abroad and triangulate the information by asking many, many people so you don't get screwed.) Many seemingly normal people will give you a terrible rate (waiter at the bar near the church). There is a huge margin of overpayment, scams so the massive currency adjustment just pays for the price you will "overpay" as a tourist. I am not sure if Venezuela is ready for foreign tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillermo Amade... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank narcela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla El Gran Roque hotels
0.0 km away
Posada Caracol
Posada Caracol
#4 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
147 reviews
0.0 km away
Posada Acuario
Posada Acuario
#12 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
61 reviews
0.0 km away
Posada Bequeve
Posada Bequeve
#3 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Villa Caracol
Villa Caracol
#5 of 20 in Isla El Gran Roque
163 reviews
0.0 km away
Posada Galapagos
Posada Galapagos
#7 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
87 reviews
0.0 km away
Posada Dona Carmen
Posada Dona Carmen
#9 of 11 in Isla El Gran Roque
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Magalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Magalis

Address: Los Roques National Park, Isla El Gran Roque, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Los Roques National Park > Isla El Gran Roque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Isla El Gran Roque
Price Range: RM592 - RM634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dona Magalis Los Roques National Park, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing