We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
40
75
28
8
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
75
28
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar keeping an eye no trouble apartment tripadvisor deals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2010

thanks to all the staff for making our holiday special everyone there were so helpful, Big Simon organised our excursions,Victor the sea food chef cooked up some amazing meals. Big thanks to the lads on the beach for our walk to the reef and the trip to the local school .Be warned it is a little out of the way and a bit isolated but it is afantastic place.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheeths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

we spent a week at the Royal Reserve to start off our two-week holiday to Kenya in celebration of a special wedding anniversary ....the apartment was clean but the decor dated and overall quite shabby. To celebrate our special wedding anniversary we were treated to twin beds of differing heights pushed together ...? The kitchen was poorly fitted out for any self-catered venture and was not serviced when the apartment was cleaned, although the coffee percolator was an unexpected bonus. The shower curtain was too short resulting in a drenched bathroom floor after use, dangerously slippery to bare feet on tiles. The towels provided both in the apartment and at the pool were very hard and rough. The food on offer in the restaurant was limited and poor quality, more expensive than warranted. Drinks were very pricey (more than twice what we paid at any other bar/restaurant). The beach was a huge disappointment, being a coral beach with no swimming facilities and the presence of the "beach boys" discouraged us from venturing onto the beach after the first foray - we retreated to the relative safety and seclusion of the resort swimming pool..water sporting facilities were sadly non-existant and the steep dollar cost to partake in the excursions arranged by the resort prohibited us since we're from South Africa and not Europe, USA or UK with strong currency to exchange. The staff were friendly enough and quite helpful, and we experienced this everywhere in Kenya except at the airports. I would NOT recommend this resort if you wish for a holiday with special atmosphere or walks on the beach after dinner, but if you're out touring around a lot and just need somewhere to stop in between, it's convenient and the housekeeping issues are tolerable. I would DEFINITELY NOT pay a large sum of money to stay here ...we utilised holiday exchange thankfully, or I would be severely irritated had I paid the going rate for the week.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TurtleFanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

By UK standards the resort is a little tired and could do with a spruce up, but it's not that bad. You can not fault the attitude and helpfulness of the staff, quality of the food or cleanliness. It's a little out in the wilds but transport is easily arranged via reception to meet your requirements. A little care needs to be taken at the beach due to tides, corals and sea life. We arranged our Safari though the hotel, It was very good and well organised. The tours manager Simon recommended that we did at least a two night (3 day) Safari and after doing it I would say he was spot on. The other tours offered are good value for money and when food is included it was excellent. The Beach boys also offer the same tours at a slightly lower cost, other guests that book via them had a good experience, the only care to take here is to ensure that the Beach boys are licenced, they will always have this on them and it should be clearly visable. I would recommened the reef walk offered by them it is not too difficult and takes about 2 hours but wear a hat and stay covered up or you will burn. All in All a very enjoyable holiday.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We decided to spend 7 days at a resort where we could lay by the pool and read and sleep for 7 days. Our choice of the mombasa coast was based on hearing great things about that stretch of coast line.
Pro's : Very friendly helpful staff, Large clean apartments. nice pool. Awesome sunrises.
Con's : Beach and street hawkers around the hotel are intolerable.One eventually was too scared to leave the premises.Some buildings and facilities looking grubby. AC power tripping continuously not good.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonydacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

5 of us went to Royal Reserve for Xmas New year 2009/10 - we had a great time.

Being a timeshare rental - there were very few europeans at the resort - most of the owners at this time of the year were Kenyans from Nairobi. What a friendly and interesting group of people.

The resort itself is African 5* but European 3-4*
The staff are 7*

A great place to relax.
My 14 year old son had a great time in the pool, my parents (both in their 70's) had a great time by the side of the pool.

We took a reef walk with the beach boys (George & Moses) which was really interesting, and even though we could have gone without them, we would have missed so much without the benefit of their local knowledge.

Apart from the hotel - the local area is pretty quiet.
We walked up the beach to the various bars and restaurants - all of which were very nice. Especially the free beer at the all inclusive sun & sand which is about half a mile up the beach.

I am a very keen fisherman and took the family on a day out deep sea fishing with [--] who had been recommended to me by a friend from the UK.
We had a great day out, catching huge Sailfish, Dorada and Wahoo (similar to mackerel but much much bigger!
This cost £350 which was half the price of the fishing trip promoted by the resort.

I also booked a safari with one of the locals who has set up an office next to Royal Reserve. Our 3night/4day safari was exactly the same as the one offered by Royal Reserve, visiting the same parks, staying in the same lodges but $250 per person cheaper. Now thats one hell of a saving when paying for 5 people!

The two guys who ran this Safari impressed me so much, that i have written a little website for them.
[--] - which tells you a little about our safari
I recommend you use them - they were alot cheaper than the resort and cheaper than the beach boys!
Why? because they cut out the middle man (they dont have to pay out any commissions to salesmen)

All in all - it was an amazing fortnight.

Date of stay: December 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Nelson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews