We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most delicious fish, lovey staff”
Review of Kiboko Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kisumu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiboko Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Kisumu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was new-year's day and we had planned to spend it in Kasumu on our way from Jinja to Nairobi. The place we had booked for camping was extremely crowded and the grounds were really dry ad the music extra loud. So we decided against camping but were too tired to continue so we went looking for the nearest decent place we could lay our heads heads down. Our car-nav brought up Kiboko Resort as the nearest so we headed there. The welcome usually tells you what to expect from your stay in a new place. Fortunately, there was a suite for us that we could use as a family room. It is a concrete unit unlike the rest of the quarters that are tented units. The staff were very helpful. With lightening efficiency, they quickly installed two extra mattresses in the living room for our teen age kids. The unit is right at the bank of Lake Victoria. We actually saw a few hippos through the windows as we unpacked out stuff. We had some down time as we waited for dinner and went exploring. They have very well groomed neat gardens. The beach is not that extensive, a good part of the water on one end is covered by the water hyacinth but the views are really scenic especially the sunsets. Dinner was a delightful time. The fish, oh my... it was really fresh and tasty! On checking out, we were presented with free souvenirs (hippos in stone). This place is worth visiting. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable.We plan to go back and spend t least 3 days next time.

Room Tip: Get the suite right at the beach, it gives you a nice view and is also right at the end of the path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were 3 women from the USA who came here for lunch. We each had tilapia, prepared differently. I had mine with filleted with a marsala sauce. My friend had the kochumbari (sp?) sauce. It was all delicious. It was a nice day with a nice breeze and we sat on the covered dock. The furnishings were very comfortable--nice couches and pillows.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rustenburgbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

It was too expensive for me to stay as a student but I could step by any time so I made many new friends at Kiboko bay!

The staff is amazing and the view is stunning! I was happy to go on many boatrides and there is a nice little fishtown close by, Dunga fishing village.

Thanks for the amazing time!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Studentsonsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Dean is a gracious manager who sets the tone for courteous and helpful service beyond the norm. They supported us in the preparation of a workshop and gave us a table in the dining room for all our cutting out. They can arrange a reasonably priced car for the day with a cooperative driver.

Service was always friendly and relaxed. The food was generally good and we were happy to find Indian variations on the menu., clean, delicious, and reasonably priced. Eating breakfast as the sun rose over Lake Victoria with all those birds was delightful. We were lucky enough to find a boatman who was a birder and had a magical morning on the lake. Do bargain.

The tents are clean, but a bit tired and very dark. I kept losing things and was glad I had a headtorch. My window ‘flaps’ were furrowed and did not close. I had an outside light shining directly in my eyes at night. Bring a sleeping mask. The bed is comfortable with a good mosquito net. I did not get bitten at all. It’s lovely to sit on the netted balcony (with tea & fruit from the room, nice) and listen to the birds and the hippos. The bathroom is spotless with welcome toiletries and it’s nice to have a safe in the room. I give them 10/10 for service, the location, and a good bed, which is what matters. I will stay here again if I return to Kisumu.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your positive review of our resort. We are glad to hear that you found the service courteous & helpful, as well as friendly & relaxed. Happy to hear that you found the space you needed to work on your workshop materials too.

Glad that you enjoyed your meals, thanks for the compliments: clean, delicious & reasonably-priced is what we aim for! Breakfast at Kiboko Bay can be a most pleasurable experience, & we appreciate your spot-on observation.

Thanks too for your feedback on the tents. We are having them spruced up, & hope upon your return you will find them much-improved.

Thanks again for giving us a 10/10. Guests like you inspire us with joy at what we do, & give us the incentive to go the extra mile! The team at Kiboko Bay are most grateful for your kind comments, & we all look forward to your return!

Asante sana,

Nirmal Darbar.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I've been here for lunch or dinner with friends before, its one of the nicer places you can visit by lake Victoria. As a Kenyan, I like to bring friends from out of town here for a meal. Two days ago, I had friends visiting from outside the country. A group of five of us walked in to the dining room for dinner and we were COMPLETELY IGNORED. Waiters kept whizzing past us and stopping at tables with white guests to ask if they needed anything. While we sat there and wondered whether we were invisible. I complained to the manager and the waiter came to rudely defend himself, yet I had had to STOP him after he walked by us TWICE. Eventually we left to a more friendly establishment in town, where we were welcomed and served. Thumbs down kiboko bay, you just lost a customer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Manager at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry you had such a less-than-stellar experience at our resort. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us improve our standards where we may fall short. We assure you that as a policy we do not discriminate, all guests are free to visit Kiboko Bay irrespective of colour or creed, and will be welcomed with equitable warmth, which can be witnessed by the many positive reviews listed by our guests both local and foreign.

We have discussed this incident with all the staff concerned, to see where we may improve our services, and wish to politely point out that on the night you came in, there was a group of hippos on the grounds which the staff and guests had gathered round excitedly to see. Our supervisor called you to see the same as soon as your group walked in which you did. You then requested for a table in the garden which we informed you wouldn't be safe due to the presence of the hippos, and as our terrace was filled with guests, we requested that you sit in the dining room, which one of our waiters accompanied you to and settled you at a table.

As it was a busy night, our front office supervisor then brought you menus herself which she gave you some time to look at, upon coming back to enquire on whether you were ready to order, you said you were not yet ready and asked for more time. The waiter you called out to was serving several other tables, and did come to your table immediately he was free, to which you said you were still not ready to order. Neither were any guests who arrived after you, attended to before you.

Shortly after, you approached the manager who apologised after hearing your complaint and offered to take your orders himself or dedicate a waiter to your table.Therefore given the four points of contact you had with different members of our team, we are sorry to hear that you felt ignored.

We regret this unfortunate occurrence. As you said, you have come to us before, and hope that you found the welcome and service to be of a high enough standard to return.

While we do our best to strive towards excellence, we do sometimes fall short, and regret that this may be one of those times.

We apologise, and hope that you will give us another chance to allow you experience the true warmth and sterling hospitality that we aim to give all our guests.

Kind regards,

Dean Martins,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kisumu hotels
2.8 km away
Acacia Premier Hotel
Acacia Premier Hotel
#1 of 27 in Kisumu
185 reviews
3.3 km away
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
Imperial Hotel Kisumu
#2 of 27 in Kisumu
290 reviews
4.2 km away
The Vic Hotel Kisumu
The Vic Hotel Kisumu
#7 of 27 in Kisumu
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Sovereign Hotel
Sovereign Hotel
#3 of 27 in Kisumu
139 reviews
3.2 km away
Imperial Hotel Express
Imperial Hotel Express
#6 of 27 in Kisumu
135 reviews
1.7 km away
Vittoria Suites
Vittoria Suites
#5 of 27 in Kisumu
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiboko Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiboko Bay Resort

Address: P.O. Box 2111, Kisumu 40100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nyanza Province > Kisumu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Kisumu
Price Range: RM506 - RM1,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiboko Bay Resort is undoubtedly a small piece of heaven in Kisumu.Located on the shores of the mighty Lake Victoria, this luxury resort is only 20 minutes from the airport and jogging distance from the city centre.The resort has 10 luxury accommodations. Hosting a first class bar and restaurant coupled with impeccable service and a breath taking location, Kiboko Bay Resort is a must visit and stay destination in Kisumu.At Kiboko Bay Resort, you will experience a honest Kisumu baring its soul. We do not put our guests in a bubble, we allow them to experience the local sights and sounds in its entirety, be it a pod of grazing hippos or fishermen grasping their nets of destiny, you will experience the character and culture,"up, close and personal."Though we promise you unbridled nature, boat trips into the wetlands and fresh water mangrove forest, hundreds of birds and hippos, and as we try to create more jobs in the local community we also give you the Real Kisumu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiboko Bay Hotel Kisumu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing