We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiboko Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
87
81
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
81
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat ridelake victoriatented roomsbeautiful spotweaver birdswater hyacinthmasalatented campguacamolelovely lakesidemozzie repellentfish disheseating breakfastsun setsrough roadcold tuskeroverlooks the lake
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We were 3 women from the USA who came here for lunch. We each had tilapia, prepared differently. I had mine with filleted with a marsala sauce. My friend had the kochumbari (sp?) sauce. It was all delicious. It was a nice day with a nice breeze and we sat on the covered dock. The furnishings were very comfortable--nice couches and pillows.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rustenburgbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our resort! Very glad to hear that you each enjoyed your meal of tilapia, prepared in different ways, which is a speciality in this region.

Happy to note that you were comfortable & enjoyed the breeze as you ate!

We hope you will be back to visit us again!

Many thanks,

Nirmal Darbar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

It was too expensive for me to stay as a student but I could step by any time so I made many new friends at Kiboko bay!

The staff is amazing and the view is stunning! I was happy to go on many boatrides and there is a nice little fishtown close by, Dunga fishing village.

Thanks for the amazing time!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Studentsonsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you made many new friends among our staff, & enjoyed the beautiful views of the lake, & lakeside scenery.

The boat-rides are always a special experience for our guests, & we are most happy to note that you had an amazing time!

Thank you for your appreciation, & we hope you will be back.

Asante sana!

Nirmal Darbar.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Dean is a gracious manager who sets the tone for courteous and helpful service beyond the norm. They supported us in the preparation of a workshop and gave us a table in the dining room for all our cutting out. They can arrange a reasonably priced car for the day with a cooperative driver.

Service was always friendly and relaxed. The food was generally good and we were happy to find Indian variations on the menu., clean, delicious, and reasonably priced. Eating breakfast as the sun rose over Lake Victoria with all those birds was delightful. We were lucky enough to find a boatman who was a birder and had a magical morning on the lake. Do bargain.

The tents are clean, but a bit tired and very dark. I kept losing things and was glad I had a headtorch. My window ‘flaps’ were furrowed and did not close. I had an outside light shining directly in my eyes at night. Bring a sleeping mask. The bed is comfortable with a good mosquito net. I did not get bitten at all. It’s lovely to sit on the netted balcony (with tea & fruit from the room, nice) and listen to the birds and the hippos. The bathroom is spotless with welcome toiletries and it’s nice to have a safe in the room. I give them 10/10 for service, the location, and a good bed, which is what matters. I will stay here again if I return to Kisumu.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank spip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your positive review of our resort. We are glad to hear that you found the service courteous & helpful, as well as friendly & relaxed. Happy to hear that you found the space you needed to work on your workshop materials too.

Glad that you enjoyed your meals, thanks for the compliments: clean, delicious & reasonably-priced is what we aim for! Breakfast at Kiboko Bay can be a most pleasurable experience, & we appreciate your spot-on observation.

Thanks too for your feedback on the tents. We are having them spruced up, & hope upon your return you will find them much-improved.

Thanks again for giving us a 10/10. Guests like you inspire us with joy at what we do, & give us the incentive to go the extra mile! The team at Kiboko Bay are most grateful for your kind comments, & we all look forward to your return!

Asante sana,

Nirmal Darbar.
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I've been here for lunch or dinner with friends before, its one of the nicer places you can visit by lake Victoria. As a Kenyan, I like to bring friends from out of town here for a meal. Two days ago, I had friends visiting from outside the country. A group of five of us walked in to the dining room for dinner and we were COMPLETELY IGNORED. Waiters kept whizzing past us and stopping at tables with white guests to ask if they needed anything. While we sat there and wondered whether we were invisible. I complained to the manager and the waiter came to rudely defend himself, yet I had had to STOP him after he walked by us TWICE. Eventually we left to a more friendly establishment in town, where we were welcomed and served. Thumbs down kiboko bay, you just lost a customer.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Manager at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Guest,

We are sorry you had such a less-than-stellar experience at our resort. We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us improve our standards where we may fall short. We assure you that as a policy we do not discriminate, all guests are free to visit Kiboko Bay irrespective of colour or creed, and will be welcomed with equitable warmth, which can be witnessed by the many positive reviews listed by our guests both local and foreign.

We have discussed this incident with all the staff concerned, to see where we may improve our services, and wish to politely point out that on the night you came in, there was a group of hippos on the grounds which the staff and guests had gathered round excitedly to see. Our supervisor called you to see the same as soon as your group walked in which you did. You then requested for a table in the garden which we informed you wouldn't be safe due to the presence of the hippos, and as our terrace was filled with guests, we requested that you sit in the dining room, which one of our waiters accompanied you to and settled you at a table.

As it was a busy night, our front office supervisor then brought you menus herself which she gave you some time to look at, upon coming back to enquire on whether you were ready to order, you said you were not yet ready and asked for more time. The waiter you called out to was serving several other tables, and did come to your table immediately he was free, to which you said you were still not ready to order. Neither were any guests who arrived after you, attended to before you.

Shortly after, you approached the manager who apologised after hearing your complaint and offered to take your orders himself or dedicate a waiter to your table.Therefore given the four points of contact you had with different members of our team, we are sorry to hear that you felt ignored.

We regret this unfortunate occurrence. As you said, you have come to us before, and hope that you found the welcome and service to be of a high enough standard to return.

While we do our best to strive towards excellence, we do sometimes fall short, and regret that this may be one of those times.

We apologise, and hope that you will give us another chance to allow you experience the true warmth and sterling hospitality that we aim to give all our guests.

Kind regards,

Dean Martins,
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

This is just at the foot of lake Victoria.. ..you sleep to the skin of waves hitting the shore and hippos "kiboko" grazing at night.we spent in their executive cottage with my family.. .And we loved the 3 nights we were there

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nirmal D, Owner at Kiboko Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Much thanks for your review of our property. So glad to hear that you loved the 3 nights you spent with us, and hope you will be back to visit us again.

The experience at Kiboko Bay can be truly magical, and we are grateful that you took the time to capture and share in words your experience with the sights and sounds, lake and hippos.

We are most grateful.

Karibu tena!

Nirmal Darbar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews