We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable, because it was so bad!!!”
Review of Crater Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naivasha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crater Lake
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Nice scenic place with a nice setting. Shame the hotel is not the same. Poor service, poor management. Staff do not care at all. Rooms are run down with leaking toilets. The food is awful for the price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPatL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2016

(actual visit Oct 2013 - just getting to this now) Nice, comfortable room. I felt room/bathroom/bed was in line with other mid range safari options. Perhaps not quite as polished as some. I enjoyed the food. The walking safari was different than my trips to Masai Mara and Sweetwater Ol Pejeta - you can walk because no "Big Cat / Predators) - saw Zebra, Giraffe, Buffalo, Gazelles, etc while on guided walk around crater. The night drive was nice (day on foot, night via drive) - had some more flexibility since private preserve (We drove our own 4WD with guide - we did not use their lights - we brought our own plus high power flashlights). We did this first, then the Mara, then Sweetwater.

Glad this was first on our trip. Saw less here - but was unique since on foot, and a nice relaxing pace. It may have been anti-climatic if done last. I did not feel "pampered" by staff, but did not have any issues.

It seemed like they were adding some guide accommodations while we were there. I think only one other tent was occupied while we were there - Even if it were fuller - would still have a good feel of privacy. Over 100 steps to get from parking down to lodge area, and the hike around the crater was not difficult or steep, but it was a hike - which we enjoyed, but may cause concern to others.

One of the values is that you don't have to pay an additional $ 70-100 day park fee like some of the other stops.

If the Flamingos are in town, this place is AMAZING. Flamingos come and go at any lake - even at Nakuru. Spent much of the day hanging out at the lake watching Flamingos.

in 2013, no hippos in the lake. We did an enjoyable 2 nights here - on way back to Nairobi, we did a boat ride at Naivasha, then lunch at a different place (Fishermans for lunch - Crater Lake was much more private and upscale) - saw hippos there and additional birds - it rounded out the trip well.

While not someplace where you will see all the big five, a nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The hotel is placed in a beautiful scenic background but its a shame the staff take this for granted with their poor service. A lot of problems were encountered during the stay. We were firstly told that a VW Golf would be an appropriate vehicle to get there, however this was the not the case there is a very bumpy patch which posses a risk to the vehicle and would recommend a 4-wheel drive. Secondly we were placed in the wrong rooms despite booking the luxurious tents. Thirdly the food was disgusting. fourthly one of the toilets was leeking. Enough said! There was clearly a miscommunication between the hotel staff and lack of responsibility for the mistakes. I suggest not to stay at this "tented camp"!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Akash P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

This Hotel is in a very very nice setting. The Hotel has tented rooms which are very nice. The beds are comfortable and they provide a lot of blankets which is strange when you arrive but in the middle of the night when temperatures drop to near freezing, you appreciate the blankets.

Loads of very cute Monkeys around. Very nice and friendly staff.

For the unfit, this hotel will be interesting as you have to go down an escapement to the rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but remember to lock your tent or the monkeys will get you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kaka17koko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

i spent a weekend here and would recommend it for a quiet getaway for 2. the lake has hippos and one can take a boat ride here..the attendants know how to navigate the waters and avoid the hippos which can easily topple you over *shrieks*. There is an eating area jutting out into the water and is good for an evening meal by the water. Rooms are comfortable too...

Room Tip: visit on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Silas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naivasha
0 km away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
44 reviews
0 km away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
0 km away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Crater Lake Tented Camp
Crater Lake Tented Camp
#14 of 42 in Naivasha
28 reviews
0 km away
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
Naivasha Kongoni Lodge
#2 of 42 in Naivasha
235 reviews
0 km away
Kiboko Luxury Camp-Sun Africa Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lake

Address: Naivasha, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Naivasha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Naivasha
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Crater Lake Hotel Naivasha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing