We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Secret Garden(Moshi)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
We Travel Hostel(Moshi)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$21
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
14
33
25
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
33
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelmosquito nets and fansa wonderful staytowelsshowerkilimanjaroguard
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2016

the hotel is located in a convenient spot. it is nothing fancy but staffs r friendly. food and beer is nice and all for a reasonable price. the summit breakfast place on the top has great kilimanjaro views.

Room Tip: convenient
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Stayed here for 7 nights of a 10day trip to Moshi, and it was a nice place to call home while visiting. There's not much that's fancy, but what bang for the buck!

Positive Thoughts -
A single room (quite small) runs 35,000TXShillings - $18.00USD/night, so really you can't do better on the price.

The staff couldn't be nicer. Everyone was very happy, pleasant and eager to chat. Keep in mind the staff is local, so first language is Swahili... but most everyone had good english and were excited to talk & teach a bit of swahili. "Habari Mr. Eric" was my greeting everywhere I went.

The rooms, while TINY, were clean. Housekeeeping made the bed fresh every day, and the property in general was very tidy.

The bar, while TINY, was a good place to relax and again, the staff was always friendly.

There's included breakfast service on the rooftop which was nice to have. Especially enjoyed the fortified porridge.

Free WiFi in the lobby (would be better if it were throughout the property... especially on the roof top)... but really, do you need wifi when traveling? Get out there!


Location - smack in the middle of the action of Moshi.... and there's a direct shot view of Kili. When you book a room, be sure to ask for a room with a view. I stayed in room 204 which had a balcony overlooking the main street, and had an unobstructed view of the mountain. Nice way to start your morning!

Negative Thoughts -
Rooms are TINY. Really really small. Not so much an issue, but if you are traveling with 2 people, be sure to request a larger room. The singles are the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. 12ft x 8ft at most.

They're missing out on the rooftop. An amazing space with an amazing view, but there's no food service or bar service. It really should have a small bar and some atmospheric lighting... and even music. It's an AWESOME space, that is super underutilized.

I noticed that the housekeeping staff left rings of room keys around when cleaning. Kinda freaked me out that anyone could enter my room with a simple swipe of the ring. Especially as I had an expensive camera kit in my room.

Some places had generator power during the days. It'd be nice to have power all day... especially as no power means no wifi... which translates to high international cell fees if you need access to email etc. Of course, you get what you pay for. Though a "negative" I'll take the $18.00 room rate, and deal with the inconvenience


Good to Know -
Power in TZ is kinda rough. The government shuts off power during the day, so be sure to charge batteries overnight!

Oh... try the streetmeat outside of the hotel. My god is it good!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Kili View room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Back of hotel is quieter
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Stayed here for one night with my friend while we were volunteering in TZ room was basic but clean, cheap and just what we needed really, staff were helpful the only bad thing was the included breakfast in the morning I have never seen such awful looking 'porridge' also boiled potatoes were another option?? we just had a glass of juice and made a quick exit to get breakfast elsewhere other than that didn't have any problems!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fitzgeb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

During mid July and early August, we spent 6 nights in the Kindorocko, not all at once. We were a school trip with 30 16- or 17-year-olds and the Kindorocko was perfect for our needs. Only possible minor complaint were a few power outages -- however, this is hardly the fault of the Kindorocko. Food (breakfast) was very nice and there was always enough for us all. Wifi worked well. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious, fully equipped with mosquito nets etc. as well as reasonably good showers and bathrooms. Location is difficult to fault; it is extremely central, near supermarkets, restaurants, street-food-sellers, souvenir shops. Hotel laundry service was quick and cleaned to a pleasing degree. Best asset without a doubt is its staff, who were always ready and happy to help, and with whom a lot of us genuinely made friends with. Bar staff were superb and happy to indulge us in our post-Kilimanjaro celebrations. If we were looking for suggestions as to where to buy certain things, the staff showed us to a good shop as well.

Very good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 206 was especially spacey.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HJS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

The hotel is located on the main street in Moshi. The rooms are really clean, affordable, and secure. The staff are also really friendly. Food and drink are also good, especially the breakfast that's included, which was pretty classy compared to other breakfasts I've had in the past.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank rbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews