We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome; great value”
Review of Kindoroko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kindoroko Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Moshi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2016

This place is excellent value for money, offering plenty of hot water, mosquito nets and fans and a breakfast where you can boil your own water for tea rather than relying on luke-warm water in a flask. Good wifi too. Pop next door to the Muslim- run Taj Mahal for incredibly good value food, but beware swallowing a whole chilli...I took a full day to recover!

Room Tip: Wifi free but only available in common area downstairs. Go for a room on higher floors...more atmosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraA9413YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2016

the hotel is located in a convenient spot. it is nothing fancy but staffs r friendly. food and beer is nice and all for a reasonable price. the summit breakfast place on the top has great kilimanjaro views.

Room Tip: convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2015

Stayed here for 7 nights of a 10day trip to Moshi, and it was a nice place to call home while visiting. There's not much that's fancy, but what bang for the buck!

Positive Thoughts -
A single room (quite small) runs 35,000TXShillings - $18.00USD/night, so really you can't do better on the price.

The staff couldn't be nicer. Everyone was very happy, pleasant and eager to chat. Keep in mind the staff is local, so first language is Swahili... but most everyone had good english and were excited to talk & teach a bit of swahili. "Habari Mr. Eric" was my greeting everywhere I went.

The rooms, while TINY, were clean. Housekeeeping made the bed fresh every day, and the property in general was very tidy.

The bar, while TINY, was a good place to relax and again, the staff was always friendly.

There's included breakfast service on the rooftop which was nice to have. Especially enjoyed the fortified porridge.

Free WiFi in the lobby (would be better if it were throughout the property... especially on the roof top)... but really, do you need wifi when traveling? Get out there!


Location - smack in the middle of the action of Moshi.... and there's a direct shot view of Kili. When you book a room, be sure to ask for a room with a view. I stayed in room 204 which had a balcony overlooking the main street, and had an unobstructed view of the mountain. Nice way to start your morning!

Negative Thoughts -
Rooms are TINY. Really really small. Not so much an issue, but if you are traveling with 2 people, be sure to request a larger room. The singles are the smallest rooms I've ever stayed in. 12ft x 8ft at most.

They're missing out on the rooftop. An amazing space with an amazing view, but there's no food service or bar service. It really should have a small bar and some atmospheric lighting... and even music. It's an AWESOME space, that is super underutilized.

I noticed that the housekeeping staff left rings of room keys around when cleaning. Kinda freaked me out that anyone could enter my room with a simple swipe of the ring. Especially as I had an expensive camera kit in my room.

Some places had generator power during the days. It'd be nice to have power all day... especially as no power means no wifi... which translates to high international cell fees if you need access to email etc. Of course, you get what you pay for. Though a "negative" I'll take the $18.00 room rate, and deal with the inconvenience


Good to Know -
Power in TZ is kinda rough. The government shuts off power during the day, so be sure to charge batteries overnight!

Oh... try the streetmeat outside of the hotel. My god is it good!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a Kili View room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Back of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Charatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Stayed here for one night with my friend while we were volunteering in TZ room was basic but clean, cheap and just what we needed really, staff were helpful the only bad thing was the included breakfast in the morning I have never seen such awful looking 'porridge' also boiled potatoes were another option?? we just had a glass of juice and made a quick exit to get breakfast elsewhere other than that didn't have any problems!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fitzgeb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

During mid July and early August, we spent 6 nights in the Kindorocko, not all at once. We were a school trip with 30 16- or 17-year-olds and the Kindorocko was perfect for our needs. Only possible minor complaint were a few power outages -- however, this is hardly the fault of the Kindorocko. Food (breakfast) was very nice and there was always enough for us all. Wifi worked well. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious, fully equipped with mosquito nets etc. as well as reasonably good showers and bathrooms. Location is difficult to fault; it is extremely central, near supermarkets, restaurants, street-food-sellers, souvenir shops. Hotel laundry service was quick and cleaned to a pleasing degree. Best asset without a doubt is its staff, who were always ready and happy to help, and with whom a lot of us genuinely made friends with. Bar staff were superb and happy to indulge us in our post-Kilimanjaro celebrations. If we were looking for suggestions as to where to buy certain things, the staff showed us to a good shop as well.

Very good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 206 was especially spacey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HJS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moshi hotels
0 km away
Kilimanjaro Backpackers
Kilimanjaro Backpackers
#40 of 75 in Moshi
49 reviews
0 km away
Mount Kilimanjaro View Lodge
0 km away
Mountain Inn
Mountain Inn
#4 of 17 in Moshi
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Altezza Lodge
Altezza Lodge
#6 of 17 in Moshi
50 reviews
0 km away
Kaliwa Lodge
Kaliwa Lodge
#4 of 75 in Moshi
172 reviews
0 km away
Honey Badger Lodge
Honey Badger Lodge
#2 of 75 in Moshi
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kindoroko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kindoroko Hotel

Address: Main Street, Moshi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Kilimanjaro Region > Moshi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Moshi
Price Range: RM82 - RM102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kindoroko Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kindoroko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing