We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner with elephants”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2017

the lodge is located immediately off the Ngorongoro crater. the room was very cozy, heated with a wood stove, with a nice balcony.
in the dining room there is a fireplace with sofas around, where you can share safari stories and trip impressions, and there's a big terrace.
During dinner, satisfactory, a family of elephants came right down the terrace, and they quietly began to dine there too. It was really amazing!

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you got to experience dining with elephants at our lodge. We hope the rest of your trip went just as well.

Kind Regards
The Rhino Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Our room at the Rhino Lodge was small but cozy. Zebra grazing outside our window in the afternoon and evening. Wood stove to warm the room (it is cold and windy there). Wonderful deck to sit and have a drink while watching waterbuck and zebra grazing and walking by. The dining room with large fireplace is lovely, the staff very friendly. They happily brought us food to our room when my husband developed a fever and could not go to the dining room. We had plenty of very hot water, good water pressure. Great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We do remember your visit and hope your husband got better fast and enjoyed the rest of the trip.

Kind Regards
Rhino Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We really loved the Rhino Lodge at Ngorongoro, where we stayed for one night in August 2017. Unfortunately they were fully booked for our second night so we had to move to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge (more expensive, but noisy and shabby).

At Rhino Lodge we had a very cozy room. The bed was super comfortable and the room is wonderfully decorated with special details. They also offer hot water bottles and a small fire place next to the bed for cold nights. We did not expect it to be that cold, so we were really happy about this. The fire place made a great warmth for our bedtime and it was also really romantic. Although you do not get any view on the crater, you do have a good view to the surrounding nature. At daytime we watched waterbucks pass by our balcony, at nighttime a heard of buffalos came by.

The dining area is well set and the food was really nice. The owner came buy during dinner to ask if everything was alright, and you could really tell that this is not just some business for them. They really go out of their way to provide a wonderful stay for their guests.

We wish we could have stayed longer. Rhino Lodge is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights while exploring the Ngorongoro Crater. The location is beautiful, it's in a dense jungle near the rim of the Crater so you are surrounded by plants, birds, and animals. The room itself is simple but adequate, it was great to have a shot shower after spending all day in the crater. The area does get quite cold, thankfully they have fireplaces to heat the rooms but if you are there in August or September like we were make sure you pack warm clothes. The main lodge area has a small bar, a fireplace and tables where you eat your meals with a great view of the jungle and whatever animals pass by or decide to graze for awhile. We did not like the food, it was very bland, and both my husband and I got very sick after eating the boxed lunches they prepared for us to eat during the day spent within the crater. One major tip to all of those traveling to do a Safari in Africa-bring lots of Pepto or Immodium, when we told our guide we were sick he said it happens all the time, so definitely be prepared. The morning that we left we received boxed lunches again that had the exact same food that the ones the previous day had, which made us sick, so they went straight into the garbage. Some of the staff was friendly, others didn't seem to care about us being there but we received everything we needed. WiFi is said to be offered but no one there could get it to work both nights we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was delightful. The views of the dense forest on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater were beautiful. The guest rooms were very clean lovely. The shower was amazing after a long dusty and bumpy drive through the Serengeti and Conservation area. The food was delicious!!! The staff warm and pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on the Safari circuit.

We saw waterbuks and water buffaloes on the premises and lions a short distance away.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.6 km away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
709 reviews
16.7 km away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karatu
234 reviews
20.4 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#8 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,254 reviews
18.8 km away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#5 of 55 in Karatu
251 reviews
9.1 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: RM 1,302 - RM 3,232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting. Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge. And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable en suite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing