We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Manor at Ngorongoro(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
US$1,227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
US$500
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ngorongoro Forest Tented Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Masek Tented Camp(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gibbs Farm(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Crater Forest Tented Camp(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostel Ebeneza(Ngorongoro Conservation Area)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (769)
Filter reviews
769 results
Traveller rating
320
324
105
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
324
105
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovehot waterone nightdining roombig fireplacecrater rimback porchnice balconywarm blanketsrooms are basicherd of buffalorestaurant areaplenty of blanketswater buffalobuffet stylecentral fireplacewild animals
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 769 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Our room at the Rhino Lodge was small but cozy. Zebra grazing outside our window in the afternoon and evening. Wood stove to warm the room (it is cold and windy there). Wonderful deck to sit and have a drink while watching waterbuck and zebra grazing and walking by. The dining room with large fireplace is lovely, the staff very friendly. They happily brought us food to our room when my husband developed a fever and could not go to the dining room. We had plenty of very hot water, good water pressure. Great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhino L, Manager at Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We do remember your visit and hope your husband got better fast and enjoyed the rest of the trip.

Kind Regards
Rhino Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We really loved the Rhino Lodge at Ngorongoro, where we stayed for one night in August 2017. Unfortunately they were fully booked for our second night so we had to move to Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge (more expensive, but noisy and shabby).

At Rhino Lodge we had a very cozy room. The bed was super comfortable and the room is wonderfully decorated with special details. They also offer hot water bottles and a small fire place next to the bed for cold nights. We did not expect it to be that cold, so we were really happy about this. The fire place made a great warmth for our bedtime and it was also really romantic. Although you do not get any view on the crater, you do have a good view to the surrounding nature. At daytime we watched waterbucks pass by our balcony, at nighttime a heard of buffalos came by.

The dining area is well set and the food was really nice. The owner came buy during dinner to ask if everything was alright, and you could really tell that this is not just some business for them. They really go out of their way to provide a wonderful stay for their guests.

We wish we could have stayed longer. Rhino Lodge is highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights while exploring the Ngorongoro Crater. The location is beautiful, it's in a dense jungle near the rim of the Crater so you are surrounded by plants, birds, and animals. The room itself is simple but adequate, it was great to have a shot shower after spending all day in the crater. The area does get quite cold, thankfully they have fireplaces to heat the rooms but if you are there in August or September like we were make sure you pack warm clothes. The main lodge area has a small bar, a fireplace and tables where you eat your meals with a great view of the jungle and whatever animals pass by or decide to graze for awhile. We did not like the food, it was very bland, and both my husband and I got very sick after eating the boxed lunches they prepared for us to eat during the day spent within the crater. One major tip to all of those traveling to do a Safari in Africa-bring lots of Pepto or Immodium, when we told our guide we were sick he said it happens all the time, so definitely be prepared. The morning that we left we received boxed lunches again that had the exact same food that the ones the previous day had, which made us sick, so they went straight into the garbage. Some of the staff was friendly, others didn't seem to care about us being there but we received everything we needed. WiFi is said to be offered but no one there could get it to work both nights we were there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was delightful. The views of the dense forest on the rim of the Ngorongoro Crater were beautiful. The guest rooms were very clean lovely. The shower was amazing after a long dusty and bumpy drive through the Serengeti and Conservation area. The food was delicious!!! The staff warm and pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone on the Safari circuit.

We saw waterbuks and water buffaloes on the premises and lions a short distance away.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The room came with a wood fire heater which was nice. Otherwise the room is average but comfortable enough. I only stayed for 1 night so had no time to explore the surroundings. The standout out feature for me is the dinner - it is very good. One of the best in Tanzania - in my opinion! The buffet spread was really good & very tasty - I heard they have an Italian chef.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightnpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews