We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Otherworldly feeling at eco-friendly lodge very near Ngorongoro Crater”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a room that opened to a covered walkway and courtyard where a large stork stood inconspicuously in the garden. We had a rear deck that was visited by several inquisitive, elegant water bucks who appeared through the morning fog. The lodge’s intimate dining room was surrounded by an outside deck where we could relax and take in the view while enjoying the heat from an outdoor fireplace. The evening meals began with rich soup followed by salad and dishes like robust stew, vegetables and other hearty options that were perfect for the chilly weather. All of the food and beverage service staff were professional, welcoming and friendly and always made sure that we had everything we needed. During dinner a staff person went to each table and offered to start a fire in the wood burning heater in our rooms. We returned to our warm room to enjoy this remote and eco-friendly hideaway on the rim of Ngorogoro Crater. We highly recommend a stay at this unique, enchanting and otherworldly place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank isis112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on our way into the crater. The best shower we had in 4 weeks! Very powerful and hot! Really nice cozy room with lovely balcony looking over the forest. Fantastic buffet for dinner and breakfast in a really nice dining room. Wood fired heater available in rooms. Hotel also has a clever combination of solar panels, batteries and genrators as a power source, which should be the norm around these parts.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zimmyzimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on way to crater from Serengeti park. Was a lot bigger and busier than some of our other accommodation on the trip. The room was nice and the fire at night was a good touch. We found the food to be only ok.
Bonus points for zebra gently grazing at our balcony!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank crisco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

*Rhino Lodge ~ 21 Nov

A hidden little gem nestled atop of the Ngorongoro Crater, myself and my two female travel companions from Australia stayed at the Rhino Lodge for one night.
On arrival we were greeted by staff and helped with our luggage while we checked in, had some complimentary juice and received our accommodation briefing.
Our room had three single beds, writing table, bathroom and shower, a private balcony looking out over a hillside and a group of local Waterbucks grazing carefree right outside.
Due to the altitude it can get a bit cold but the little touches like three hot water bottles, thick blankets and a small fireplace that can be started if required.
The restaurant has a winding balcony with a beautiful view and a fireplace to catch up around. Inside are two large fireplaces and a complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate station. Meals are buffet style with varying delicious food.
The WiFi is only available at the restaurant but is one of the best WiFi networks we’ve found so far out that way.
There’s a small gift shop with local beading and crafts to purchase near the reception area.
We left tipping to the end of our stay and placed it inside the tipping box located in the reception area.
Overall a unique, scenic and enjoyable place to stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We spend a night at the place, the room is awesome and I can't even begin to describe how great the meals at the place are. the staff are very smart
Shortly will recommend Rhino Lodge mostly for budgeters

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ilijamorion2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.6 km away
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodge
andBeyond Ngorongoro Crater Lodg...
#1 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
709 reviews
16.7 km away
Highview Hotel
Highview Hotel
#1 of 3 in Karatu
234 reviews
20.4 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#9 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#7 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,254 reviews
18.8 km away
Eileen's Trees Inn
Eileen's Trees Inn
#5 of 55 in Karatu
251 reviews
9.1 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 36 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Rhino Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: RM 1,303 - RM 3,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhino Lodge is ideally located on the edge of the Ngorongoro crater rim. The Lodge was originally the home of Ngorongoro’s first conservator, and its developers have maintained the house’s original rustic, low-impact style and natural setting. Rhino Lodge offers a perfect base from which to explore the Ngorongoro crater and its surroundings. Game drives into the crater, and, for the more adventurous, walking safaris in the forest reserve and visits to nearby Maasai villages, can all be arranged from the lodge. And, on return after a long day, 24 comfortable en suite rooms with forest views, a cozy living space, friendly local staff and generous African-inspired meals offer guests a warm welcome home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Rhino Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing