We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (605)
Filter reviews
605 results
Traveller rating
168
274
108
35
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
274
108
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard room grand deluxe room smaller pool swimming pool hot water cultural show nice breakfast rent bicycles great pool hotel restaurant nice stay e bike rooms are clean very nice hotel the main road breakfast is served laundry service
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 605 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

nice hotel with large rooms, breakfast ok dinner underwhelming! Good location and staff always super helpful, nice spa although quite expensive. Golf carts are a fun way to get around. Not much else to say was a good experience for the price

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank janetteandlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Delicious breakfast, everyone has to find what he likes. The staff is very friendly. The grand deluxe rooms are nice, you should ask a room with pool view otherwise your view is a high fence. We got immediately another room with pool view when we asked for it. Directly at Hotel Umbra are 3 ATMs and further on the street you will find other, so withdraw cash is not a problem. If you go out the hotel, you have a whole series of pagodas on your right side, absolutely to visit by foot. Along the left side you have several restaurants. We found Queens fantastic, about 5 minutes from the hotel. The taxi fare from the airport to hotel Umbra is 6000 Kya. We paid $ 45 a day to visit the pagoda’s and temples. The food is very cheap. The only comment on the hotel is that there are to few sunbeds at the pool but you can have a seat in the chairs of the adjacent restaurant / bar.

Room tip: Ask a room with view on the pool
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hugo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Located a couple of minutes from old bagan, the hotel is in a good location to start exploring the area. They offer bicycles or e-bikes (recommended) however the rental place across the street is cheaper. The hotel grounds are nice and the staff are helpful. Two pools and a spa - much needed after spending the day exploring temples. Provides full breakfast and dinner, although there are some local options along the street as well. The room we had was comfy enough, although a bit dated. Overall we were happy with our stay here.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Philtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Bagan is pretty well developed for Western tourists. This hotel had food, service and rooms that are up to Western travel standards. Most Westerners would find this good or better. The staff is friendly and has a decent level of English.

Room tip: There is no elevator so if you can't don't do stairs ask for a ground level room
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hihono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The staffs are very helpful and caring. They will constantly double check with the bus driver for our trip from bagan to yangon, even this is not their responsibility. Location is perfect because it is very near to old bagan, where all the stupas n pagodas can be found. The place is very quiet and peaceful. Staffs are very polite. Nearby of the hotel there is a few eatery and place for ebike rental. My dad and i really enjoy our stay and it is really the best we have stayed in bagan. We have also go to ngaung u, new bagan and old bagan as backpackers but we still find this hotel to be the best.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dogtortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james t, General Manager at The Hotel Bagan Umbra, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear dogtortoise
Warm greeting from the Hotel Umbra Bagan. Thank you for your valuable comment which can really encourage us to sustain our commitment to support our valued guests. We are very glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. We wish you all the best and see you again in Myanmar.
Sincerely yours,
Jameskthet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews