We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, secluded break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2017

The best bit about staying here are the people you will meet. Vanassa pours her heart and soul into the place and you can tell, she is very keen for you to have a wonderful stay. For us, this included driving us into the local town of Chiang Saen and offering two wonderful “Mama cooked” dinners for us. Her husband Ian has had such an interesting life - the two of them are well travelled and we thoroughly enjoyed all our conversations on a wide range of topics. Our tour of the property with Ian, my husband drooling over his classic motorbikes and eating fresh lychee from the tree, was a real highlight.
Yes, this is their business but especially when you are staying in low season and are the only guests, you leave feeling that you have stayed with friends.
The cottages are delightful, our one Egret had everything we needed, an efficient air conditioner, and including an impressive WIFI connection for “out in the sticks” location. We woke to a peaceful view overlooking the lake with to the sound of birds, many of whom we had never seen before. The grounds are beautifully kept and I enjoyed learning from Vanassa how she has created the gardens and why she has each plant where she does - not too much greenery near the cottages to keep bugs away, good flowers, doesn’t shed much etc. There has been so much thought gone into every aspect of Viang Yonok.
The lake is a tad disappointing at the moment on account of the extensive pond weed, which means kayaking are not really possible, Ian assures us we picked the worse possible time of year to visit and don’t get me wrong it is still beautiful, but we do urge the local authorities to do something about this overgrowth as they are losing their lake!
We were looking for a truly local experience and in this regard, Viang Yonok suited us well, we enjoyed being off the beaten track sharing a couple of nights with wonderful company.
Many thanks, Vanassa, Ian and Mama for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Little W,
Thank you very much for your lovely, long and detailed review. A lot of ground covered there and it is great that you enjoyed your stay. Your words give us great satisfaction and we thank you for that. The local govt know about the weed on the lake and hopefully, they will do something about it soon.
Thank you again and Best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017

A great place in north Thailand to get away and relax. Lakeside location with excellent views of the wildlife. The rooms are great, breakfast was top notch... watch-out for Ian's fresh home-made bread... it's something special.
Vassana is truly focused on customer satisfaction and that is all you need really. This is a destination that will see me and my fellow travelers coming back more than once. I don't rate five stars lightly.
I would recommend this place to anyone who can appreciate the natural environment and bird-life.

Room Tip: It looks to me that any room at Viang Yonok Hotel will be just fine.
Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hi Peter N,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. A quality review from a discerning guest is worth, well, lots.... It is unquestionably a superb birding area, we take tea breaks with the binoculars at hand, to watch the many delightful species that live in the area.
One has to be be cautious with my home-made bread, otherwise one may check out with an expanded waist line and ill-fitting trousers...!
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

We where at Viang Yonok Hotel for four nights with our daughter in her late teens and had a great time staying there.
The owner-couple are very nice, helpful, and entertaining people, the staff friendly and attentive, the bungalows are clean and in a good shape and the food is delicious.
The region offers both culturally interesting and scenic spots, but at least as important for me as a birder was the rich avial fauna (lots of wetland around there).
Should we ever happen to be in northern Thailand again we will definitely stay at this place!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lvk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi lvk225,
Thank you very much for your great review. We do have the best of both worlds here; a wonderful old historic town nearby, that is the best example of a walled city, in the country and an amazing variety of birdlife in a beautiful natural area.
If you were happy with your stay, then we are happy too.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Very nice hotel (collection of individual cottages actually -- which is so much better than a hotel).The food (especially the English breakfast) was wonderful. Viang Yonok is out of the way and overlooks a lake/bird sanctuary and is only a short (5 minute) drive to Chiang Rai and the Golden Triangle area. The grounds are beautifully kept and the hosts were very helpful and informative. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake if you can - great view, especially of the sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Palladinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Hi Palladinette,
Thank you very much for the great review. If you were happy staying here, then we are happy too.
Best wishes
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant and Sports Club is a wonderful place to stay. It is peaceful and beautiful and the owners take care of your every need. They make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. Each cottage is beautiful. The lake has an abundance of birds to watch and the sunsets are incredible. I love the beautiful mornings sitting on our deck listening to the birds and watching the lake. We enjoyed their pool and the food was delicious. Thanks for accommodating our dietary needs! If you are in Chiang Saen area, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
59Thunderbird, Owner at Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Hi Dana M,
Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much and there is nothing more for me to add to your words.
Best wishes
Ian & Vassana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Saen
10.8 km away
The Imperial Golden Triangle Resort
27.3 km away
Phu Chaisai Mountain Resort
29.3 km away
A Star Phulare Valley Resort Chiang Rai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Anantara Golden Triangle Elephant Camp & Resort
12.7 km away
Four Seasons Tented Camp Golden Triangle
13.4 km away
Bansaeo Garden and Resort
Bansaeo Garden and Resort
#5 of 9 in Chiang Saen
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club

Address: 201 Moo 3 | Yonok, Chiang Saen 57150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Rai Province > Chiang Saen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chiang Saen
Price Range: RM197 - RM264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Paradise. Family run hotel with a 5 star touch at the magical tranquil bird sanctuary of Chiang Saen Lake. Seven private bungalows and garden restaurant. Free; sports club, swimming pool, gym, sauna, high speed wifi, kayaks, mountain bikes, shuttle transport 4 klms to Chiang Saen. Airport, Chiang Rai, Chiang Khong transfers & day trips or tours. No ++ on the rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Viang Yonok Chiang Saen
Hotel Viang Yonok
Viang Yonok Hotel, Restaurant, Sports Club Chiang Rai Province, Thailand - Chiang Saen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing