We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most terrible experience”
Review of Mision San Gil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mision San Gil
Reviewed 26 June 2017

I had a terrible experience in this hotel. I went there this weekend along with my boyfriend's family. We occupied 3 rooms during our stay.
When we arrived they couldn´t find our reservation because it got lost in the system and we had to wait for over 30 minutes while the staff made all sorts of excuses.
Then we finally got our room and decided to go for a swim and some dinner; we ate at the hotel´s restaurant where the food was just ok (I ordered the chicken salad and it was filled with dressing and the waiter forgot to serve the tortilla chips on the side like I requested, but decided to let it go since it was a minor mistake)
When we finally arrived to our room that night, we couldn´t open the door because our key was deactivated and even worse there was a person trying to enter our room since it was assigned to him!! We went rapidly to the front desk to explain the situation and ask for a solution ASAP since there was a stranger with access to our room and all of our stuff. The staff at the front desk reacted quickly but failed to give an apology and took everything so lightly that just made me upset even more.
To top everything one of the bedrooms didn´t have electricity almost all Saturday afternoon and the other two didn´t have any water Sunday morning so we couldn´t take a bath until the afternoon. The staff explained to us that all the malfunctions were due to an event (wedding) they held on the weekend but I think that that should never be an excuse, cause weddings happened all the time in all the hotels.
I think that after all that it is safe to say that I had a terrible experience at this hotel and I am not planning on returning any time soon.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not at the front of the hotel since the highway runs there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glad1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADRIANA R, Guest Relations Manager at Mision San Gil, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017
Google Translation

Estimada Huésped, ofrezco una disculpa por los inconvenientes que nos menciona, le comento que los servicio que nos refiere de luz y agua fueron por causas ajenas a nosotros, estuvimos sin luz 1 hr y sin agua 2 hrs, realmente lamento estos inconvenientes, por lo que le ofrezco nuestras disculpas y espero nos de la oportunidad de atenderle en futuras ocasiones.
Cordialmente,
G. Muñoz / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel at the interstate between Mexico and Queretaro. I've been coming here every year since 1988. The breakfast is so good that we never try a any place else. Staff is always welcoming and the food is delicious

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADRIANA R, Guest Relations Manager at Mision San Gil, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you Adrian for your excelent comment about our hotel, please let me know of your next booking.
Sincerely
G. Muñoz / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent place, very clean, rooms very nice and beds very confortable, the Staff was extremely kind at the restaurant there was an excellent waiter Miguel Leyva that offered us the best of service. Beautiful gardens

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yojeved G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADRIANA R, General Manager at Mision San Gil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Family, thank you for your valious comments, trough my, Miguel will be recompensed for the dedication in the servicie.
Thank you in advanced
G. Muñoz/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This is a beautiful old hacienda right on the highway. It is less than an hour drive to Queretaro, Tequisquiapan and the wineries. Check-in was slow, mostly due to a large group arriving. Facilities are well kept, pool and gardens are gorgeous. Rooms are cold and a bit outdated but very clean. The restaurant is really good, everyone is attentive and professional. There are peacocks in the hotel, these are cool animals until they start singing by your window at 7 on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-L-1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADRIANA R, General Manager at Mision San Gil, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, agradecemos sus comentarios, reforzaremos el servicio y esperamos verle pronto nuevamente.
Cordialmente,
G. Muñoz / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Came here tonight with a colleague. What a great find! Had the tangerine chicken yum. My colleague had the fish. They made the salsa before our eyes....heaven. Also want to give a shout out about the chocolate cake.....delicious!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Missy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADRIANA R, General Manager at Mision San Gil, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, Es un gusto saber que su estancia fue agradable,Espero recibirle pronto nuevamente.
Cordialmente,
G. Muñoz / Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Rio
5.5 km away
Fiesta Americana Hacienda Galindo
Fiesta Americana Hacienda Galind...
#1 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
853 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Plaza Venecia
Hotel Plaza Venecia
#8 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
44 reviews
36.1 km away
Casa Mateo Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 km away
Hotel Rio Tequisquiapan
Hotel Rio Tequisquiapan
#3 of 13 in Tequisquiapan
120 reviews
8.5 km away
Hotel Hacienda La Venta
Hotel Hacienda La Venta
#4 of 9 in San Juan del Rio
77 reviews
27.1 km away
Mision La Muralla
Mision La Muralla
#1 of 1 in Amealco de Bonfil
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision San Gil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision San Gil

Address: Carretera Mexico-Queretaro Km. 172, San Juan del Rio 76821, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Queretaro > San Juan del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in San Juan del Rio
Price Range: RM232 - RM432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mision San Gil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mision San Gil Queretaro offers first class accommodation away from city noise, on a farm where he still breathes the colonial era, having all the comforts of a modern hotel that require working groups for successful meetings, couples to their weddings or travelers who want an oasis of relaxation in Queretaro. Our Queretaro hotel has 124 standard rooms and 10 Suites, with services and amenities of first class. Also offers 9 meeting and event areas can accommodate from 20 to 1,000 people, with amenities to ensure that your social event or business meeting in Queretaro will be successful, our staff is ready to help with the organization. In our facilities you will find restaurant, pool, massage, golf course with 18 holes, sports fields, extreme sports, campfire area, playgrounds, kiosk, arena and more, which places us as one of the hotels in Queretaro most complete services and amenities. Our Hotel in Queretaro has an unbeatable location near artisanal and recreational centers like Tequisquiapan and Bernal. In addition, it is located 25 minutes from Queretaro International Airport and 1 hour and a half from Mexico City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mision San Gil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing