We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The castle ”
Review of Hostel Laguna Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Laguna Park
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Ended up staying here for 3weeks durning my visit to the Dominican Republic. Was referred by a friend that is a local resident, and I was grateful she did. Amazing established! Best rates in town,very clean, all amenities were regularly up kept, pool,shared kitchen,bedding,bathrooms,and moto or bike rentals. They have a tour guide and kite surf instructor on site, plus food delivery and bar. The staff welcomes you like your family, there always offering advice,suggestions and invites to make your stay the best it can be. I truly felt blessed to have been there. In my humble opinion, this is the best and only place you should stay in Cabarete. Infinite love to the castle crew!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank jasen144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2016

I open like that, because I land here after coulple of bad days, and staff´s warmness and kindness put me back on track quickly. The atmosphere and the air we breathe is very pleasant and relaxing, I feel a good energy … that´s why I’m hanging out between garden and swimming pool for a few days now. The hostel is located in Cabarete, on the north coast of the island, well known kiters, windsurfers and surfers destination. It is an unusual three-story red brick building, similar to a Danish castle, surrounded by palm trees and other tropical plants, just 15 minutes inland walk to the lagoon of the Parque National El Choco.
Prices are competitive and vary depending on the different types of rooms (double, 4 or 6 beds), mine is very spacious, has 8 beds, well, 4 large bunk beds, I usually sleep on top because in the one below I feel I cant´t breath properly and you cannot sit upright, but those are very comfortable and well made; the room has a private bathroom, ceiling fan, mosquito nets, personal lockers and power strips (!!), a must since nowaday we always need to recharge our multi electronic devices.
On the ground floor aside of the reception, there is a large lounge room with couches, plasma tv, games, tables, bar and billiards area. The communal kitchen is well equipped and clean; outside a large swimming pool, tables and benches, a relaxation area under a porch and hammocks; all it furnished with taste and creativity. WI-FI is all over the area, from rooms to swimmingpool.
During the day you can relax yourself with the sound of the wind in the branches and the birds singing, on the evening finally some good music: reggae & rock steady with the legendary DJ Luis (Wailer Soul), who on Saturday celebrated his birthday with a fantastic pool party!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stexas_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

Staff: 5/5
Staff are nice enough and helpful

Facilities: 2.5/5
Had plenty of stuff to do and spaces to hangout, but first aid kit was severely lacking and bunk beds were shakey. Sheets were OK clean. Only 1-2 electric outlets for entire room of 8 people, and none are near any top bunk beds. Lockers are decent size. Water pressure is EXCEPTIONALLY low, atleast in room #9. Showers that normally take 3-5 minutes now take 15-20. Extremely inconvenient.

Cleanliness: 3/5
Cockroaches and a few spiders, keep your bags closed at night.

Location: 3/5
Very long walk from beach ~15-20 minutes. But safe location.

Price: 4/5
Average price for hostel in the area. Not a terrible deal for $12/night, but not that great either.

Conclusion: OK if last few resorts and low on money. Not great. Hard to take showers. Not very clean and far from beach. But good atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank LRogerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016 via mobile

Is a great place, love the stuff and the good atmosphere you can find and this place.

Is really safe and really good to sleep and rest.

Easy to go to the beach.

I recommend this place, you gonna love it.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank yelmo_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Great hostel, a little far from the main entrance of the complex, but the best service for a hostel in cabarete, also the best vibe. It is just a place to chill while you live the experience of cabarete whish is one of the places that the Dominican Republic don't sell to tourist since is a surfer's town. But it is a good place to crash if you are in a fix income or if you are on low budget

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Alejandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
1 km away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
377 reviews
1.3 km away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sea Horse Ranch
Sea Horse Ranch
#7 of 19 in Cabarete
37 reviews
5.2 km away
Gipsy Ranch Rooms
Gipsy Ranch Rooms
#8 of 30 in Cabarete
14 reviews
1.7 km away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Laguna Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Laguna Park

Address: Calle C | barrio ProCAB, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range: RM86 - RM143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel LagunaPark is a welcoming, clean and safe budget place to stay for young and open minded travelers. Turns out most people that arrive in LagunaPark are solo travelers, so in one way LagunaPark is the perfect for the ones that travel alone, because all guests happen to bond really fast with each other, help each other with tips and tricks and no one ever gets bored or lonely here. On the other hand the hostel has great facilities and discounts for group trips. Big rooms with 2-8 beds, en-suite bathrooms (shower & WC), big living room with cosy sofas, plasma TV and free WiFi. All guests are sharing a very well equipped kitchen, which we really take care of to be clean. For the ones that don't want to make their own breakfast, the HouseBar offers a little breakfast buffet for a very economic price and even cheaper if you sign up for it up front! LagunaPark is LagunaPark because the hostel is right in front of the beautiful natural park of Cabarete, the Lagoon. The outside area of the property is a big tropical garden with swimming pool and sunbeds, a BBQ area for little parties. Usually BBQs happen spontaneously like once or twice a week, family style everyone makes one dish and then we share...we've seen some spectacular things there, specialties from all around the world. LagunaPark became a place with a really nice vibe, family atmosphere, a place to spend only a night or even two month. No matter what you'll leave with good fun memories and a couple of new friends that you've made! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing