We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
4
7
7
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
7
7
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

While my husband and I love Cabarete, and the hotel in itself has a good location, we did not have a good experience at this hotel. After coming back to the room after a nice dinner, we opened the door with our key, shut and locked the door, and went to bed. When we got up the key was gone and a ballpoint pen was in its place. After searching through the entire room in every cupboard and drawer possible and through our own belongings three times, we came to the conclusion that someone had come into our room while we were sleeping and taken it, and switched the keys with another object so we wouldn't notice. The fee for losing your key is $50. We confronted the man behind the desk about it, and he seemed shady. He said he would check with the security. When he came back he had the key, and said we hadn't checked the room well enough, that they had found the key in one of the drawers in the room. He wasn't gone long enough to even check the room, and we checked all the drawers several times so we knew he was lying. We think this is some sort of scheme the employees have to make an extra $50. We never write reviews, but we don't want this to happen to someone else. Beware!!!!

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you put your room key in a secure place.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Just spent a week in a two bedroom apartment on the beach. The location is just about perfect, although the rooms could do with a little re- refurbishment, they are clean, large living room and kitchen with two balconies.
Very friendly staff, reasonably safe if you don't do anything too stupid.
Would stay again.... Not luxury but cheap and more than adequate

Room Tip: Great budget apartments in a very good location. Ask for a beach front as its much quieter..
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was part of staff of a volleyball tournament at Cabarete, when with my sister and GodSon. Godson was tired and stayed in room with the door and drapes closed but not locked. Someone got in and stole the camera. Management didn't care, did not call security, did not call their staff of that night not even the manager. They don't have insurance or surveillance cameras, no forms to make a claim we have to write down in a piece of paper and only 2 security guard for the whole complex (which I did not see while I was there and I spent 3 days). I had to go by myself to the police station so they could come and investigate and they were not cooperative with the police. Thanks God nothing happened to my nephew. Don't go there cause if anything happens to you they would not care.

Room Tip: None of the rooms looks secure
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank yoshira_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed in San Souci Apartments room 6 overlooking the sea, room was just what we wanted, clean, well stocked with everything required for 2 weeks of relaxing holidaying. Fabulous views of the bay & the perfect place to sit & watch the sun go down over the hills. Can't find any fault, bars & restaurants a short walk along the beach & Cabarete again (we came some 2 weeks last year) had all that we needed. The apartments had very friendly staff & the night security made us feel very safe, but in 4 weeks of holidaying in Dom Rep we saw or felt no trouble & felt safe at all times. Great holiday thank you. Tina & Adrain

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

have been staying at playa sans souci for over 10 years sometimes 4/5 weeks every feb/march. from its refurb some 10 years ago the place has declined so much, its now only fit for selling to someone who will take an interest in it .(its been for sale for some time now.).SHAME cause they are missing a trick here.the location and views are as good as it gets for caberete.JANETS supermarket is a minutes walk (best in caberete). 5/6 mins from all bars/eating/clubs (yet far enough not to hear the disco) kitesurfing is a concho ride away (local motor bike/taxi) or 20 min beach walk.A FEW MILLION DOLLARS more and I would buy the place!they have good loyal staff (but recently i expect their job insecurity adds to an air of despondency with shoulder shrugging the answer to many questions/problems).IF IF IF you are looking for a location where the sea actually breaks on to your terrace/sea views only million dollar condos have and paying around half the price of other beachfront apps this is for you.DO NOTexpect the facilities you would find at home.UNLESS of course you live in a very tired old house in need of total refurbishment!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookieavonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews