We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Amari Vogue Krabi(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Krabi(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nakamanda Resort & Spa(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
US$134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
Hotels.com
View Deal
US$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$522/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort(Nong Thale)
US$352
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,771)
Filter reviews
2,771 results
Traveller rating
1,636
727
269
77
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,636
727
269
77
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite lotusmaya restaurantpool barexplorer barhong islandluxury roomlargest swimming poolopera suitekids clubcolonial stylebusy roaditalian restaurantamazing poollow seasonfree shuttlespecial thankspool side
Filter
Updating list...
1,598 - 1,603 of 2,771 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in this wonderful Krabi hotel in January 2012. The hotel is just like the pictures show it - big and luxurious. The pool is fabulous with plenty of deck chairs and you also have the added bonus of the beach right across the road. Given it's not the most beautiful of beaches but it certainly isn't unattractive. We enjoyed quite a few walks along the lovely foreshore (the sunsets were magnificent).

The hotel itself is lovely. The reception area is delightful and the rooms themselves are clean and large. We found the bed extremely comfortable and had no complaints whatsoever with our rooms.

Facilities were great - in addition to the enormous pool, the resort also has a gym (unfortunately only one treadmill and bike) and a small cooking school. We booked a cooking class and were lucky to have the chef all to ourselves. The food we cooked was delicious and we would definitely recommend this as a fun optional extra.

We also booked a day trip to Hong Island on the resort's own boat. It was a great day but the water at Hong Island was suprisingly dirty. We had wanted to snorkel but after 5 minutes in the water got out due to the large amount of rubbish and cloudy water (to be fair - they had had rain for the week preceeding our arrival).

The restaurants at this hotel were also lovely. The traditional Thai restaurant was our favourite, although service was extremely slow and they kept mixing up our order with that of the nearby table (not great when you had allergies on both tables!). The food was magnificent though and if they could get the service right, this would be a highlight of the resort.

Breakfast was excellent - standard large variety expected from a chain like the Sofitel.

Hotel is located about 20 minutes from Krabi Town. We liked the peacefulness and relaxing feel to the hotel. We ventured into Krabi Town once and that was enough for us!

We would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers, especially those with children. The hotel is adjacent to an elephant refuge and the gorgeous baby elephant that they bought into the hotel grounds every few days was just divine and attracted adults and children alike whilst it played and snacked on palm leaves!

Thank you Sofitel Phokeethra - we will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for four days in July at the peak of the rainy season. We wanted somewhere to relax and swim for a few days and because we knew it was the wet season we chose this Hotel. The pool is magnificent and the Hotel was very quiet. On the down side the restaurant choice was limited in the evening and perhaps somewhat understaffed but on the other hand the staff there were extremely helpful, obliging and professional, they made every effort to make sure we were comfortable and dry! We were not able to do any trips as the sea was choppy but 4 days relaxing and dipping in and out of the pool when it was dry felt like a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, some rooms are beside the mosque and 5am call to prayers is not everyones idea of peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeemBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort and you enjoyed our personalized service. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Exceed my expectation, all staff at Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf & Spa Resorti show us excellent service mind. Quality of food service is also excellent. Check in is really fast even I arrived late evening. The quality of club service is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pranut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We just stayed 9 nights at the Sofitel and it was a fantastic hotel if you're looking for a relaxing place to unwind and recharge. I have used Trip Advisor for a number of years to research hotels but have never felt compelled to write a review until now.
I have summarized our thoughts on a few of the pros and cons of the hotel below.

Pros
- Staff: Very friendly and willing to go out of their way to make your stay perfect. They make you feel like THE VIP guest the entire time you're at the resort, from the moment you arrive (they give you a cold juice and towel to refresh yourself) to moment you leave (lots of staff line up to wave goodbye) - everyone is exceptionally friendly asking you how your day is going and what you have planned for the rest of the week - I would have thought the manager put them up to this on a daily basis, but the staff were truly genuine
- Food: Our room came with a complementary breakfast buffet which was incredible. The fruit juices (pineapple, papaya, orange and watermelon) were freshly squeezed and the food (omelet station, thai pho station, fresh fruit, typical American breakfast (eggs, bacon, etc), french pastries, homemade jams, etc.) was great. The only negative about the breakfast was that the plain brewed coffee wasn't very good like you would expect from a Sofitel (just ask for an espresso - their barista is fine).
- Pool: The pool was very large (they said the largest in the south of Thailand) with an excellent pool-side bar and pool-side seating area for lunch. They also have a separate section for children which is nice for them and the rest of the guests too! I'm always picky about the loungers at resorts, but these ones were very comfortable and here were tons of them around the pool. If you didn't want to sleep the day away on a lounger, they had hammocks you could use as well.
- Location: There are a bunch of small stores right next to the Sofitel (within a 5-10 minute walk) where you can get laundry done cheaply (40 bhat/kg), water, beer, snacks and book tours. There are also a few restaurants where you could have dinner for approximately half of the cost of the hotel if you wanted to be adventurous. The only downside is the resort is on Klong Muang beach (considered to be the area with the more luxurious resorts) which is about a 400 bhat taxi to Ao Nong or 600 bhat taxi to Krabi Town where most of the shopping and nightlife is if that's what you're looking for (just be advised most of the shopping and night life in town is geared towards backpackers).
- Beach: Klong Muang beach is situated on a national park and you can see some limestone mountains off in the distance which are beautiful. The next major resort is roughly a mile down the beach so you feel like you have your own private beach and the lounge chairs have memory foam pads on them so they're extremely comfortable. The only negatives about the beach are that you have to cross a small two lane road to get the beach (it wasn't busy at all when we were there) and because the beach is part of a national park, they don't have many beach chairs and they don't serve drinks. If you do want to go swimming here, make sure you bring sandles you can wear in the water - while the beach is extremely sandy, when you head into the water it's quite rocky.


Cons
- Internet: They don't have free wireless internet in your rooms and it's around Bhat 230/day if you want to use it. Alternatively you can use two computers they have setup in their business center (open 24 hrs day) which are very fast! Sometimes you have to wait a while for the computers to free-up and we were here during off season so I would imagine you would have to wait a long time if you're visiting during high season.
- Golf: I didn't come here to golf, but if you're an avid golfer you probably wouldn't want to play the course adjacent to the hotel. It's only 9 holes and it's not in the best shape.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trent_and_Newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments regarding internet and golf course.
We are currently on process of reviewing our service offer, which should be completed in the near future.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb,
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the hotel as a little getaway for her birthday, we were both impressed by the reception area and check in was smooth and efficient. We relaxed with a cool drink while the registration was done. The room was comfortable with a view of the well kept gardens. The guest relations staff were great, explaining all about the hotel and the various activities. We had lunch by the pool which is huge with lots of sun loungers and booked to have dinner there that evening as there was a buffet dinner and a show. The dinner was excellent but just as we signed the bill the heavens opened and we got soaked running to the main hotel building. We went into one of the bars for a drink and within minutes a girl from housekeeping arrived with towels for us to dry off, nothing in this hotel is too much trouble for the staff.
On my wife's birthday a cake was delivered to our room with a birthday card with birthday messages from a number of the staff a very nice personal touch.
All in all a nice break at an excellent hotel with five star staff.
The only downside was that there is a charge for Internet connection which many hotels provide as a free service for their guests. I purchased one day Internet access but when you log in if the connection is inactive for a short time the connection is dropped and you have to log in all over again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your wonderful stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next longer visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews