We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kids' club and pool, can get expensive with children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We are a family of four with a two-year old and a four-year old. We very much enjoyed our three-day stay at the Sofitel and would recommend it to other families.

The pool was never crowded, the kids' club was wonderful and had lots of in-and-outdoor facilities to keep the little ones amused for hours, and the hotel offered a good range of activities for adults too: yoga, aquarobics, mountain biking, pilates etc. The gym is conveniently located next-door to the kids club. The beach is across a road but there were always guards there to safely get us across so that was no problem.

The breakfast buffet had a lot to choose from and they had a good children's menu.

A few things to note though:

- If you don't want the children to be fed or to be put in front of a DVD at kids' club, let the staff know. After leaving ours there for an hour while getting dinner organised, we found ours lounging in front of the TV and full of chocolate just before dinner: not what we had in mind...

- The hotel charges a hefty fee for extra beds and cots even for small children. It all adds up!

- If you choose to dine in your room, there is only one chair to sit on (this was in a standard room, pool facing) so you have to use either an upholstered lounge chair, a footstool, or drag the garden furniture from the balcony (or if you have two kids: all of the above!)

- Service in the restaurants is very slow and room service even more so: plan your kids' meals at least one hour before you actually want to eat to avoid ending up with children who are cranky/already asleep by the time your food appears.

- Internet in the room is 250 Baht ++ per day. Always disappointing when hotels can't offer this service for free.

- TV channels are limited, no kids' entertainment at all.

- There is a good tour company on the beach for going by longtail to Hong Island (paradise before 10am, horribly overrun after that) and many other spots near Krabi.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoeBeDo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We would also like to thank you and assure you that we have taken good note of your comments.
We shall be looking into appropriate measures in the future to ensure our guests' entire satisfaction.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,422 - 1,426 of 2,531 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

The resort is extremely beautiful and spacious with excellent interior designs and furniture. The staff was pleasant and helpful. One could easily get lost within the hotel grounds as the place is huge.The room was clean and held its 4star standard. The hotel arranged for activities for guest to participate in,had some aqua aerobic and muay thai sessions which were conducted by the staff themselves.
The shuttle to Ao nang town was not complimentary,and there was a taxi stand outside on the main road,which charged 600 thai bhat to get to town. It is approximately 40 minutes to town.Around the hotel were only small sundry shops run by the locals. There was a small shopping area which was 30minutes walk away.
I went for muay thai at Emerald Ao Nang which is owned by a good friend of mine,and taxi there cost me twice my training class. Food was at typical hotel standard,but you can get better choices in Ao Nang Town itself. Overall,this resort would suit honeymooners and couples,seeking a quiet time. If one came here alone,it would be a bad idea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiwitKongNakMuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and personalized service as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Good points...Fabulously designed grand hotel, every member of staff is smart and always says hello to you in Thai even in passing, there is a good mix of languages to get by, the rooms were magnificent, huge and comfy but having looked at other local 5* hotels in the area this level seemed just average more a 4* for 3000 bht per night. The all you can eat breakfast with such a huge range of cooked and cold selections was good, dinner was also well presented/cooked. Good selection of local tours. Staff will try to resolve any issue and make you feel relaxed.

Bad points...Fantastic food but too pricey at their restaurant (would be good to see more events at cheaper prices not 1000bht for a BBQ) so when you weigh up that in an expensive local restaurant the whole bill inc drinks costs less than 500 bht (£10) whereas the hotel for one person one course will cost way in excess of this...so for a couple to dine the bill can be easily in excess of 2000bht (£40), think like this....locals average wage per day is only 300bht! Also flies on the food/fruit at breakfast not appealing.
The pool was huge but this also meant it was hard to maintain...dead flies constantly, no seal between tiles (sharp!) and the cold water only 'jacuzzis' rarely were on.
Very poor beach, located across the road from the hotel and having to dodge the calls for 'taxi, taxi' it was a pointless excursion....unless you are happy to walk toward the small limestone islands created by low tide!
Once again everything seems to be an extra, most frustratingly wifi, even the hotel shuttle bus costs more than a local taxi!

Overall...I enjoyed my stay and it was relaxing but they do want you to spend your money in the hotel and do approach you regularly...my advice don't accept unless prices become more competitive...there are some really good hotels in the region, Sofitel needs to keep up, plus there are lovely local places to dine so if you want our business it has to make financial sense please!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Darran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

I was pleased to hear that you had a relaxing time with us and you enjoyed our personalized service. Rest assured that it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which allows us to achieve and improve our best quality service at all times.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the pool. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our Engineering Manager so that we make necessary improvements immediately.

Following your feedback about the prices for our restaurants we do have very competitive prices online with the other 5 star properties and also equivalent to the quality of service rendered.

I sincerely regret to hear about your disappointment regarding our beach. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

We appreciate your time in sharing and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and convince you with our top service, ambience and facilities.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We were very impressed with the high standard of the quality of the facilities provided at the Sofitel Krabi phokeehthra Resort. The staff was immensely friendly and well organised. It was a great pleasure to take part in the daily activities.breakfast and food was amazing.The pool is clean and very big.The beach is very beautiful and the water is really clean.we spent two incredible in Krabi and we can fully recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khing Hiong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We were fortunate to spend 3 nights here on our honeymoon with a special we got with Travelzoo, and let me tell you, it was worth it. From the time we checked in, til the time we left, the service was impeccable. I was given a lovely flower on arrival and we both had refresher towels and drinks whilst we waited for our room. Our room was very spacious and we had a lovely "honeymoon decoration" on our bed and the bathtub was filled with floating flowers. We also were invited to a wine tasting and had a great night with the staff and a few other select guests. When we got back to our room, there waiting in our room was an Australian red wine and 2 glasses to congratulate us on our honeymoon. We were spoiled with a cake decorated with "Happy Honeymoon" as well, and this was delicious. All these amazing touches, with true 5 star style. The staff were the happiest we had seen in Thailand, and obviously loved their jobs. Nothing was any effort for them and the fantastic Guest Relations Manager, ensured we were always happy. The entertainment included Thai Boxing and a fire baton twirling show and we had different themed nights. The pool activities officer was always trying to coax me to do the aqua aerobics which I didn't participate in....with not much success on his part. But if you are that way inclined there are always water activities to be involved in. The restaurants on offer are amazing as well and the brekky downstairs has the best spread in the whole of Phuket......I would nearly bet on that!! It was so amazing and the omelettes that were cooked for us and the poached eggs were the best!! The only thing that I think is missing is free wi-fi which is offered by most of the 5 star hotels, so if Sofitel offer this as free, then they would be one of the best hotels by a mile in Thailand. The hotel is a fair bit out of Krabi Town, or AoNang, so be prepared to stay here and just relax, or hire a car yourself. We will stay here again if we come to Krabi without a doubt.

Room Tip: Grab a direct pool access room for total privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your wonderful honeymoon at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next longer visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
3.4 km away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,415 reviews
10.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
10.1 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 110 in Ao Nang
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
1.2 km away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,405 reviews
1.5 km away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: RM346 - RM1,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing