We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A beautiful hotel in paradise. The location is remote but pleanty of access to Ao Nang. The staff at the hotel are incredibly attentive and friendly (especially the bar man that goes by Ali Baba and his sidekick). It was a trip for our anniversary and the hotel staff made it truly special! A great place to stay and a hard place to leave!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Krabi in the near future.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,413 - 1,417 of 2,627 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

Compared to other great hotels the staff at Sofitel Krabi stands out and should be commended. It is rare to experience such professional, yet friendly and positive, employees at all levels throughout such a large resort.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Stig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you have had a great time with us at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future for more memorable moments with us.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

LOCATION
Why isn't that "ugly paved massive truck traffic road" right in between hotel's garden and beach stated online? Because: 1) it's not glamour and Sofitel knows that 2) customers paying up to 200USD / nigh want direct (and quiet) access on the beach , not having to pass by an "ugly paved massive traffic road" boarder. Apart from that: facility is isolated , you won't get nowhere by foot. Except to those great restaurants 15 min walking on the left-side of the road. Beach is boring because narrow , noisy (cf. road) and access to sea gets complicated by rocks on the sand. We didn't see many folks down there.

F&B
Breakfast is fantastic , and the bar serves good cocktails. We didn't to try lunch or dinner because we found it extremely pricey (without taxes, imagine). Over 10USD for a pad thai, you must be kidding. I can get one 100m away from the hotel for 2USD. And guess what, sea view while eating it.

ROOM
What is that 20's century horrible TV doing in the room? The one my dad purchased in early 90's looked even better than this one. And why is Sofitel management so stingy with shower gels? One super little bottle for two persons every morning? That's so cheap.

SERVICE
That's the missing part. Spotty and globally unefficient. Very smiling and sweet , but in a star-rated hotel, thats just not enough. Rarely someone around at the pool to get you a towel. No free wifi, wanted to charge us 10USD extra just to call us a taxi to the airport. No shuttle service to the airport either. Aren't we supposed to be guests?

BRIEFLY
At over 200USD per night , we expected a fantastic experience , like we did enjoy in other resorts. We ended up in a nice hotel with what we found low consideration for its guests. Constently feeling like a wallet , and not a proper customer ends up being boring, if not offending. We could't appreciate the beach as we expected (and we promised) to , and even if the beautiful garden and pool were really enjoyable , our experience and time there is unfortunately very forgettable. And that's where all the problem is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elkemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your comments regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort. Rest assured that it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback, which allows us to achieve and improve our best quality service at all times.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the traffic in front of our hotel. You will surely understand that it is not of our control however it is important that we understand your frustration and would like to reiterate our sincere apologies. In Thailand, all beaches are public but we have managed to secure an area for the resort. We make sure that our Sport & Recreations team takes necessary measures on a daily basis to offer our guests a decent and comfortable beach.

In regard to your legitimate observation about bathroom amenities and TV, note that we are currently on process of reviewing those facilities, which should be completed in the near future.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide our guests with the highest of standards in quality and service by, not only meeting but also exceeding their expectations; therefore your feedback is once again very important to us.

We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful with great facilities, however, from the very beginning we found the service to be less than satisfactory and often found that we were not understood in English.

The rooms were fine but the beds extremely uncomfortable.

Kids club was good with plenty to occupy the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HickoryChick15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel
Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We realized that foreign language skills was indeed a difficulty in Krabi area. We have
recruited an English national English teacher, and we trust it will help our team to be
progressively more confident and efficient in their communication with our guests.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We returned home a week ago after a great 10 days at this resort.. Rooms very big, spotlessly clean, fresh linen ever day. Staff very helpful & friendly couldn't do enough for you. Fantastic pool and plenty of sunbeds... Breakfast amazing, plenty of choice... Eating dinner in the hotel very nice but quite expensive compared to the lovely little restaurants just a few minuets walk to the village, Beach quite rocky.. Can recommend a trip on the hotel speed boat to Hong Island a fantastic trip and so worth the money.., Must take a trip into Ao Nang for some shopping and eating.. The taxi's by the beach are great for taking you there.. Had a good massage just next door to the hotel at a fraction of the cost..!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannie186363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinDeb, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Bonjour and Sawasdee Krab,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our clear goal to welcome our guests with the high level of standards and facilities for which Sofitel Luxury Hotels is better know for.

We appreciate your time in sharing your feedback, and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Robin Deb
General Manager
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
3.4 km away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,518 reviews
10.3 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
10.3 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
2.5 km away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.1 km away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: RM552 - RM2,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing