We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (10,211)
Filter reviews
10,211 results
Traveller rating
6,557
2,368
786
305
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,557
2,368
786
305
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjambalayala doradacajun restaurantstar friendsspecialty restaurantssteakdominican republicmain buffetswim up barstar rock cafeother resortsbottled waterseafoodgot sickapple vacationsate at the japaneseevery other day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 10,211 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was extremely challenging to make reservations at the restaurants on the resort. They would have “reservations” made, but the restaurant would sit 75% empty. It seemed as though they wanted the buffet to be eaten for most dinners. The rooms were ok, but not worth the money spent. The pool, beach, lobby bar and lobby were nice and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank Heven246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product.

Regarding the reservation on the restaurants, there are different sittings for dinner and some times you will see empty tables but that does not mean it is not booked but they are waiting for the next sitting. Any ways we are sorry for the inconvenience and we will use this review in order to improve this and the others downfalls.

We look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence to our resort and service.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had such an amazing family vacation here! The resort is beautiful, the rooms are large and well kept (3 times daily), and the amenities are perfect for all your needs. This was our third trip to Iberostar resorts (Cuba and Jamaica previously) and they have never disappointed!!! We did venture over to the Domincana/Punta Cana resort buffets 1 night and I must say the Bavaro suites were worth the upgrade but the others were great as well if you're on a tighter budge! The staff at this particular one were absolutely incredible I must say!!! Orlando was amazing checking in on us at every meal to see how we are doing (seriously, the guy never takes a break!!!). He was so friendly to my entire family and even spoke a little Russian which went a long way with the in-laws. Julio ("Vitamino") and Juan were absolutely amazing servers!!! They never let our drinks go empty the entire meal, were quick to clear our plates and offer us anything we needed prior to the next course. Julio even went above and beyond on a rainy day to clear and set our favourite table after another family had just finished with it when there were plenty of others we easily could have used. He then proceeded to run around the resort making sure our every need was taken care of without us even asking....he was simply amazing!!! Last but not least....Mr. Eisy (& Mr. Wilkins helping him out the last 2 days) of the entertainment crew were both amazing! They kept my family entertained all week long with their shows and performances and running the archery lessons twice daily. They really made the week fun and special for our entire group. All 11 of us had an amazing time at the resort but the hard work of these 5 individuals certainly stood out above and beyond all the amazing staff working at this wonderful resort!!! Thank you for making our family holiday so special!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank crandleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR as your vacations destination and sharing the experience with the Tripadvisor community.

You can't imagine the joy bring with your words, which reflect exactly the impression we want to live in every single guest. Thanks for highlighting the wonderful stay; it`s for sure that your comment will help a lot those who have doubts about what we are offering and as well how they can enjoy more their stay in our beautiful property.

We will share your words with those you mentioned and congratulate them for the great service.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you here in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking.

Warmest Regards,

Quality Online Manager
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, I am on the fence as to what rating I want to give to Iberostar Bavaro Suites- because some things about our vacation I truly enjoyed and other things severely disappointed me. I consider myself an optimist, so I will star with the positives. At check in, we were disappointed that our request for a connecting room was not honored (especially since we had made our reservation 5 months earlier and were celebrating birthdays and anniversaries) but our front desk agent, Donald, gave us each an upgrade to a Junior Suite Supreme which was closer to the ocean. The grounds were beautiful including the lobby, pool area and beach. It was truly a stunning property that was well-maintained with manicured lawns. The condo-style suites were private and you didn’t feel on top of your neighbor.
Beautiful Mariel was our favorite breakfast waitress and took good care of our large party of 7 every morning with a table reserved for us and had my decaf on the ready as soon as I was seated.

Okay- now to the bad, the rooms could use some updating- the bathtub had cracks and looked too old and dingy to bathe in. The decor looked more autumn/fall-like and lacked the Caribbean flair of vibrant colors that we are accustomed to seeing during our trips to the islands. The food was average- with the only exceptions being the Steak house, the Hibachi grill and Mexican cantina—all had above average food. Avoid the Mediterranean fish place- most of us had GI issues after eating there and the descriptions of the dishes on the menu did not seem to accurately capture what we were actually served.

During our week long trip our room key de-activated on 4 separate occasions- which was incredibly annoying especially when my 8 year old daughter fell ill and we had to walk all the way to the lobby to get our key re-activated. Of course, when we tried to flag down a bell hop on a golf cart to give us a ride to the lobby, he told us he had to deliver a suitcase to the property next store (The Grand) and couldn’t help us. Really???

Okay, now to the ugly. After making our dinner reservation for the entire week (which was convenient and appreciated), the concierge urged us to attend an Iberostar presentation the next morning to “help him out.” We initially said we were not interested but then he pleaded with us that it was only an hour breakfast presentation that he needed us to attend to help him out. We caved and agreed to listen to the presentation for 1 hour only. The next morning he told us we needed our passports and a credit card for identification purposes only- and we reluctantly agreed and brought them. He brought us back to the lobby and told us the presentation would be 90 minutes but we could walk away after we agreed to listen to his sales person’s presentation. After we met with the sales person, we were handed off to yet another person who took us to breakfast and started asking us about our previous vacations and how much we typically paid for accommodations. After breakfast we thanked the Iberostar representative for her time but told her that we were not interested and did not want to go any further in the process. She then guilted us into meeting with her “closer”and told us that if we didn’t go to meet the next person she would get in trouble. The loser eventually told us it would be a $10,700 invest Kent and that is when we finally said “No” and refused to spend any more time there. The whole ordeal lasted 2 and 1/2 hours and in the end they gave us 2 vouchers for 25 minute messages at their Spa. Do yourself a favor- don’t get railroaded into this “Time Share” presentation where each of the Iberostar representatives guilts you into staying much longer that you would have liked. I definitely feel that our kindness was taken advantage of and the incident put a damper on our trip. I have NEVER been treated in such a way and will NEVER go back to another Iberostar resort. My family travels extensively and have always enjoyed our upscale accommodations in the past (Melia, Memories/Royalton, Akumal Resort) and none of those resorts ever used those tactics to buy a time share or anything else. They respected our time and that we were on vacation— they didn’t sell us something we didn’t want or guilt us into wasting our time for their benefit. Thus, that is why I can only give the Iberostar Bavaro Suites 3 star rating.

Stayed: March 2018
5  Thank Dori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in our IBEROSTAR Bavaro Suites.

Firstly we want to thank you for highlighting the positive aspects of your stay with us that you really enjoy such as those that you mentioned in your review, we would have liked everything to be positive but sometimes things are not as we want, but we will definitely improve.

We apologize if the initial welcome seemed geared to our loyalty program. Our concierges communicate hotel logistics and activities as well as encourage guests to explore Iberostar The Club. The presentation is a great way to learn about our new membership program designed for repetitive Iberostar guests whom wish to travel continuously with us with superior benefits and perks. We also want to sincerely apologize if someone from our staff conducted themselves improperly. We pride ourselves in delivering superb service to all of our guests and anything that follows below our standards. We are looking further into this situation to take necessary remedial action in this and the other aspects we felt short.

You cannot imagine the great disappointment we have when reading that we have failed during your stay.

Please give us other chance in order to make it better,

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

JJ was absolutely wonderful. She made our stay there even more enjoyable. All of the kids waited for her every morning and couldn’t wait for the shows at night. She is so upbeat and fun! So glad to have met her and was able to spend our week with her. Some of our kids had tears Wednesday night knowing they had to say good bye to JJ!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR as your holidays destination.

It`s a pleasure knowing that the main reason for you to enjoy your stay was because of the amazing service received. You can be sure that we will be sharing your words with JJ and congratulate here for the great service provided.

Come back soon and, do not hesitate to contact us in case that you need assistance with your next booking.

Cordially,

Quality Manager DR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first time visiting the DR and first time staying at an Iberostar property.
I was with a group of about 40 high school seniors and about 22 adults (parents/sponsors) for a Spring Break trip. Great group of people.

When we arrived, our rooms were not ready so we were all told to go get something to eat at the pool buffet and return at 3 pm to check-in (this was fine as we were all hungry at that point). Upon returning to the desk for check-in however, things were a little chaotic and some people were not able to get their rooms for a couple more hours. Also, they took all of our Passports upon arrival (to check ages for proper wristband no doubt) and I had to ask for ours back. They had been placed in a stack and in order to find ours (out of our big group) they had to look through each one--unorganized!

The grounds were well maintained and the lobby, bar and eating areas all were clean and well maintained. The majority of the staff is friendly.
There is food available from 7am until 10pm somewhere on the resort with 24hr Room Service. However, be prepared that the food tastes very different than in the USA. We stayed 4 days and by the end had figured out what foods we preferred. The Japanese restaurant was the best meal we had during our stay.

Dinner reservations--getting into the restaurants at the resort you need reservations. This is difficult as they fill up quickly. I didn't check into this before arrival, but wish I would've called/emailed ahead of our trip to see if we could make reservations that way. Also, the information in the binder in each room has incorrect information in it. It stated that the American restaurant does not take reservations, but after walking all the way there we were turned away due to not having a reservation ticket. There were probably 20 empty tables at the time. I don't know if they are short staffed or what the issue is, but we felt the tables should be full at all times during the dinner hours. There seemed to be empty tables at each restaurant we walked by or checked in to.

The Entertainment crew does a great job of providing things to participate in everyday and there is a different show every night on the stage in the main lobby area. However, we were never able to find a schedule/agenda for the activities taking place and at what times.
The beach is beautiful and there are waiters to bring drinks, but it takes a long time for them to bring your order and sometimes they forget your order. Bottled water is available for your room, but once again...sometimes you have to call 2-3 times to get it.

Please know--the legal drinking age is 18 in the Dominican. Alcohol is available 24 hours a day, so with that combination be prepared to see and deal with vacationers taking advantage of this. Bartenders do not stop serving anyone at anytime--still serving high school kids at 2am when pool bar "closed at 11pm" and the Disco Club is open until 3am.

If I were to travel to Punta Cana in the future, I would look for a different place to stay. Our experience was not terrible, but for the money we paid I feel it could have been better.

Room Tip: Some units are closer to the pool/beach as others are quite a long walk from those areas.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bailey993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityManagerDR, Quality Manager Online at Iberostar Bavaro Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Please receive a warm greeting from IBEROSTAR Bávaro Suites.

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed overview of your stay through this mean. Our guest’s feedback is truly appreciated in our constant commitment to improve our service levels.

There seems to have been a number of deficiencies encountered which are very atypical and not reflective of our brand experience; if this stay was marred by irregular circumstances, we can only renew our apologies and assure you that we have in the meantime briefed the team at great length of your comments. We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future.

With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence on our resort and service.

If there is any doubt, please do not hesitate in contacting us.

Quality Manager Online
IBEROSTAR Dominican Republic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews