We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Punta Cana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TRS Turquesa Hotel(Punta Cana)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,702)
Filter reviews
2,702 results
Traveller rating
1,315
698
302
180
207
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,315
698
302
180
207
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst clubroyal clubla divabeach bargrand levelpunta canamain buffeta la carte restaurantsseafoodstayed in buildingkids clubrecommend this resortgreat beachpizza placenice resortnachosgreat vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 2,702 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed at this resort for my spring break vacation with one of my good friends from school. After reading low ratings on this website, we were worried that our experience would fall short. We were wrong. The service was great, despite the fact that we were not Royal Level. The rooms were nicely renovated and clean; we always came back to a spotless room after our days on the immaculate beach. The food was impeccable — we couldn’t get enough of the guacamole and tacos from La Taquería! Definitely book reservations for the à la carte right when you get there, or you may be eating very late. Huge shoutout to Nordy at the Lobby Bar; he was an excellent bartender and always took care of us. I would love to return!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cecilia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement.

We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards,

Luz Salcé
Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great time for the second time, there were plenty of restaurants, lots of great food. The pizza upstairs was awesome, the a la carts were great (we did all 5).there was always a bar nearby. staff members were great, especially Nordy Rcynoso @ the lobby bar who always made sure we were taken care of . We stayed in room 24111 it was very clean and new , hats off to the cleaning ladies. Had a great time and will return again.

Room Tip: Rooms are all newly renovated
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lawrence p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lawrence,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are glad that in general we were able to have satisfied your expectations. That said, we are constantly refreshing and renewing our services and facilities to ensure that our guest want to return year after year, which is why we guarantee your next visit will be far better than your last.

It was our pleasure to serve you.

Best regards !

Luz Salcé
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed at the larger Barcelo hotels in Punta Cana and based on reviews I wasn’t expecting this resort to come close but WOW! It is a smaller resort in comparison but it is just as beautiful. The grounds are well kept. Our room at the Royal Club Level is beautiful and immaculately clean and well stocked consistently from the bathroom to the mini-fridge. My daughter forgot to lock our safe as we rushed out on our second day here and I was rushing back to our room in a panic. The room was made up and nothing was touched or missing. We have enjoyed the private hot tub on our balcony to the fullest. the pool. There is also a smaller giant pool/jacuzzi exclusively for the Royal Level guests. The beach at this resort is probably one of the most beautiful ones! Activities staff at beach and pool daily. Fantastic staff! Amazing how they remember our names after just 2 days!! My favorite restaurant and bar were at the Royal Level area. The staff and food were great! No lines and no reservations required and they have just about everything. No need to go anywhere else. We did go to the snack bar because my teen daughter always prefers burgers, hot dogs and chicken over anything. We will be back to this resort. Truly enjoyed our stay. Thank you Occidental Punta Cana for making my daughter’s 16th birthday weekend fantastic and memorable!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Martha,

Friendly greetings from the Royal Level at the Occidental Punta Cana !

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We truly appreciate you rating the quality of our holiday offering so highly. Needless to say we are thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future. We guarantee your next stay will be even better than your last.

It was our pleasure to serve you.

Kind regards,

Luz Salcé
Guest Service Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent Staff WILDA ACOSTA, RUTH DELANIA DE LOS SANTOS, LUIS VENTURA, ZOILA ESPIRITUSANTO they were all very polite, respectful, clean and very accommodating. Would recommend this resort to my family and friends. This was our second trip back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement.

We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us.

It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

Best regards,

Luz Salcé
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here for 2 weeks, and found that our building manager very rude because we were not interested in the VIP, we had to take back stairs to avoid him, nice beach and pools but good luck getting shade if not out by 7am and putting towels or clips on lounger, sometimes people would take lounger anyways, we like to leave tips in buffet but service was terrible and food was always running out and not replaced so made me feel tips were not deserving, our room was cleaned everyday, but pop only replaced only once and no beers as promised, told i couldn't take food out of beach bar but so small lucky to get a table, The wifi sucked we paid $50 usd for 1 week and it was forever disconnecting so logged in every hr even when sitting in lobby, it was very understaffed they did the best they could, but 1 waitress for 50 people was tough, so drinks took a long time to get and hope that it was what you ordered, we have been to mexico and Jamaica and if we were to come back to Punta Cana it would not be here, oh yea and we had no running water in our room every nite from midnight till morning, after a week it was finally fixed, we will not rebook this resort in the future :-(

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maureen,

Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we failed in regard to offering you a pleasant holiday experience. We´d like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for all of the difficulties you faced. It is unfortunate to know that the continuous inconveniences marred your perception of our service and that we weren't able to successfully address them during your stay. That said, our guests´ feedback is important to us and our first priority to to ensure we improve in these areas and, thusly, prevent future inconveniences for our guests.

Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us. Although we have disappointed you in the occasion, we hope you reconsider giving us the chance of hosting you in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and an even greater pleasure to serve you again.

Cordial Regards,

Luz Salcé
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews