We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Bavaro Palace(Bavaro)
US$345
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$220
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
US$242
US$156
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Art Villa Dominicana(Bavaro)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eleven Palms by Inmense(Bavaro)(Great Value!)
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,325)
Filter reviews
7,325 results
Traveller rating
4,136
2,070
764
209
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,136
2,070
764
209
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunta canala marimbalobby barsteakstar rock cafeseafooddominican republicstar friendsspecialty restaurantsthe oriental restaurantguest servicesapple vacationssaona islandjunior suitemake reservationsoutback safariother resorts
Filter
Updating list...
2,512 - 2,517 of 7,325 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Visited from Feb. 17 to 24th and this being our first trip, we were very pleased with the accomodations and all the resort had to offer.Our rooms were close to the pool and close to the beach. There were minor problems in the room, but one call to the front desk had them taken care of quickly. The Dominican people are so friendly and outgoing, speaking to you when you pass by. Anyone going should take at least $50 in one dollar bills for tips for the maids, the servers and the bar tenders. They work very long hours and everyone we saw in the morning was still there in the evening being just as pleasant after their long day as they were in the beginning. The food was okay and very plentiful and the entrees changed every day. One night at the midnight buffet, they actually had homemade potato chips! Yum! Lots of entertainment and fun things to do.

However, I must warn people about the parasailing on the beach. One group wanted $80 for two to parasail, but we found someone cheaper ($70) and decided to go with them. BIG MISTAKE!!! There were six of us and we were taken from shore to the boat in a small motorboat, believing we were the only ones going parasailing. What a surprise when they took us to another boat full of people also waiting to parasail and we were stuck on the boat for 2 hours without any shade, drinking water or even a hat. Even though I had adequate sunscreen on, I ended up with sun poisoning and blistered lips. The men running the boat were only concerned about the money and constantly told people to hurry when getting on and off the parasail harness. We were supposed to be up there 12 minutes and if we were there even 10 minutes, I'd be surprised! Bottom line......be very careful who you sign up with.

The Outback Safari was a great trip and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about life in the Dominican Republic. It was a wonderful eye opening experience and I would do it again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Marilyn M,
On the behalf of Ms Kawana Polanco, Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Manager, and her team, I want to thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays and for taking time to write some comments about your visit in the hotel.
We are pleased to read that you have valued positively the quality of the exquisite food in our buffets and snacks areas, and the kindness of staff members. Those are part of our guiding principles and we work hard to please all our guest needs. We are satisfied to know that we accomplished our goal during your visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please contact us before your visit to help you to enjoy it.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

FABULOUS, 7 people, 14 days, not one complaint with anything about the hotel,staff,food,the weather was just great too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBRO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest Robro_12,
I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Iberostar Punta Cana as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Kawana Polanco and her team, I would like to express how glad we are to read that you had an amazing experience among us. As you stated in Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service through the work of our staff members. It is one of our strengths, and we work happily to remain so. I am sure that our team will be thankful for your kind words.
We are here waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Again, another long winded review . . . if you don’t want to continue just know that if asked “would you return” my answer would be YES!!

A group of 16 friends and family stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana from 9-16 February 2012 and had a fabulous time! With this resort, we had access to both the Punta Cana and Dominicana side and each had its own special feel.

Check in was a breeze, and Yazmen was absolutely wonderful. As it was only our group checking in at that time, we had a group introduction to the resort, the amenities and perhaps most importantly, the location of the bars and restaurants. Our rooms were not ready on our arrival, but by 1430hrs we all had rooms assigned and were all located in the same general area in Building 5. All of us were very impressed with the cleanliness and presentation of the rooms.

We were assigned room 5241, and I would highly recommend this location as it is on the end of the building and overlooks the beach. The room was large and included a king sized bed as well as a small sitting area couch, table and chairs for in-room dining if you were so inclined. It was also a third floor room had had a lovely vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan. The patio doors were equipped with screens, so we were able to turn off the air, turn on the fan and leave the glass open for some lovely nighttime ocean breezes. Very comfortable! The balcony was large, and as we were on the 3rd floor there was planters which had flowers and palms – made the area very private, and in our opinion did not obstruct the view of the ocean at all. There is a drying rack on the balcony as well as comfortable mesh chairs and a table. The room included the usual coffee maker, mini bar (which was stocked daily an as required), clock radio with CD player and TV. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. There were no issues with water temperature, pressure or towels during our stay. The safe is an electronic one and costs $2.00US/day. Plenty of storage space in the closet and in the drawers of the dresser. Housekeeping was exceptional, and unlike other resorts we’ve visited, the cleaning products seemed to be ‘scent free’. One thing I really liked about the room (besides the great pillows) was the small bedside carpets that were changed daily – nice touch. We did not detect any dampness or associated odours. The bed and bedding were comfortable, and I will admit, the Iberostar had the best pillows I’ve ever encountered while in PC!

The building is an open concept with mature gardens, including full size palm trees, and fountains in reflecting pools down the centre core. We also noticed 2 elevators in the building. The internal walkways were always clean and dry, and we found it to be very quiet in our room.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The flamingoes are beautiful, but sometimes you have to go looking for them as they have free range! The exterior walkways were also well maintained. If it is raining there is a covered walkway on the west side of the building which will take you all the way to the lobby. Will also give you an opportunity to have a look at the Rui next door!

We did not go to any alacartes as with 16 of us it was difficult to get seating times together. Instead, after our first dinner in the buffet, Henri would make sure that there was a table big enough for all of us around 2000hrs every night – very nice customer service!! The food at the buffet was plentiful and varied, with at least 2 fish, chicken, beef, pork and lamb on the menu every night. On Valentine’s day there was also lobster which was a nice surprise, along with roses and champagne for all the guests as they entered the buffet. Breakfast at the Punta Cana buffet was always great, and again, good selection from healthy yogurts and fruits to decadent freshly made chocolate dipped donuts. There were two omelet/egg stations in the morning, and despite the resort being at capacity, there were never any long line ups as we’ve experienced elsewhere. The buffet on the Dominicana side seemed a little more congested in its layout for getting food and we preferred the Punta Cana side for dinner. Same offerings at both. The buffet serving areas were kept immaculately clean – being the buggy type that I am, even peered up into the range hood over the cooking stations and the surfaces were gleaming.

The lobby and lobby bar on the Punta Cana side was fun at night, and a little quieter than the lobby on the Dominicana side. Having access to both sides was great. We could wander over and watch the show at the theatre on the Dominicana side, shop in the plaza and hit the disco.

The beach was beautiful, the palapalas plenty and the loungers in good repair. The area was kept clean all day by staff picking up after others who failed to do so – pet peeve – as well as drink service was offered in the afternoons. We are early risers so always managed to find a great spot on the beach (usually just to the left of the water sports building). We tend to spend the entire day on the beach so this was a great spot, just a short walk up to the beach bar and the beach buffet which served great lunches, including a daily steak/chicken BBQ. There is a soft ice cream machine in this area as well as a popcorn machine. Lovely treats for the afternoon. The ocean was nice for swimming with small waves but no great undertow. We were able to walk for over an hour each way along the beach, checking out the other resorts and the vendor markets. Raphael’s Bar on the Beach is a must see – just be careful that first step up is a bit big!!

We did not spend much time by the pool, put it has a large seating area with plenty of shade available. There is a buffet and bar at the end of the Dominicana side which was a nice spot to sit and watch the world go by for an hour or two while enjoying a cold drink and some finger foods.

Caribbean Street is just to the right of the Dominicana side and has some nice shops, including a jewelry and duty free. If you don’t like to haggle in the vendors market the prices here were reasonable (and you could haggle a little if you wanted).

All in all, a terrific vacation with terrific friends and family at a terrific resort. Would not hesitate to return.

I will post photos in a TripWow slide show once we've compiled the group offering!

Room Tip: Rooms 5240, 5241, 5242 have terrific beach/ocean views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bugsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest Bugsareus,
In the name of the Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Manager, Mrs. Kawana Polanco, and her team, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience with us, and for choosing our hotel to spend your family vacations.
We want to express you how pleased we are to hear that your sixteen people group of friends and family had experienced a wonderful holiday among us. The friendly and helpful staff is one of our main strengths; and I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed. We are also thankful for your kind words about Yazmin, at Front Desk, Henry at the buffet; and Rafael at the beach bar. They will be happy about your nice comments towards their work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I along with 2 other couples just returned from Iberostar Punta Cana Resort in the beautiful Dominican Republic after a fun filled week in the sun. This was our 9th trip to this resort. We arrived on Feb 11, 2012 in the afternoon and going thru customs was fast. We paid our $10.00 per person and passport stamped and breezed thru to get our luggage. Apple Vacation personnel were waiting for us and we were put on a air conditioned bus and off for a 20 minute ride to the resort. At the resort we were greeted by Ceaser & Marcos (Bellmen) and they took care of your luggage. The registration deak had already had our rooms lined up and the young waitress had brought us a fruit drink while we finished checking in. We were in our room unpacking with in 15 minutes of arrival. We were ready to start a fun filled week. Off to the lobby bar for a drink before supper and then onto the buffet. There was as always, so much good food and a lot to choose from. The next morning we were off to the pool and our friends were off to the beach. The pools are just beautiful and the workers are always cleaning things up and so friendly. The gardens are kept in immaculate condition as well as the beach. The beach is pure white sand and the workers rake the sea weed up every morning that comes in with the tide. The beach and ocean could not be more beautiful. Since last years visit they had remodled the beach dinning area and it is extremely nice. The food and drink at the beach is all great and endless. Each evening before dinner we would meet at the lobby bar for cocktails before dinner. The Bananna Mama's are great... You can book alacart at five different locations if you do not want to eat at the buffet. We did eat at the steak house and it was really good. The service at the resort is all exceptional and all the employees are always smiling, singing and can not do enough for you to make you feel at home and enjoy your week. We can not say enough about the service and the people. They have shows everynight in the Dominicana side of the resort and they are very good. A comment about the rooms is that they are very clean, the beds are great and the maids come in everyday and clean, restock your refrigerator with water, pop, & beer. They do a real great job. As I said earlier this was our 9th trip to this resort and we have never ever been concerned about our safety or about having anything stolen. We will return again next year.
We always bring school supplies with us and we go to a school around Higuey and have been doing this for the past 8 years. The Dominican Republic is a very poor country and the people there are always greatful for anything you may give them. We usually bring 6-8 suit cases full of school supplies for the school. My wife, son-in-law and friends went zip-lining and would reccommend it. We met Mr. David Lopez, assistant Sub Director of Iberostar Punta Cana and Dominicana, and he was extremely nice and was always concerned if there was anything we needed. Just a very hard worker and is always around, no matter where we were we ran into him and he was always super friendly. He sincerely cares about the guest. We also met Ms. Kawana Polanco, Director General, General Manager for Iberostar Punta Cana & Dominicana. What a super nice and friendly young lady. She also wanted to be sure all our needs were met. It is obvious with the attitude that these two individuals have about there guests that it rubs off on all the employees. In closing we can not say enough good things about the people, the food, drink and property. We have traveled to Mexico, Bahamas, Jamica, Antigua, Hawaii and we just keep going back to the Iberostar because of all the before mentioned reasons. If you have never been to the Dominican Republic, you owe yourself a trip there to the Iberostar Punta Cana. I know we will be back........

Joe & Nancy Kaupa
Minnesota USA

Room Tip: We liked groung level on the pool side. The rooms a in the 50's. Also get your towels right away and if you want to eat at the 5 alcarts book them asap. I would reccommend the Steak house.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest Mrs. and Mr. Kaupa,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel, and for the time you took to post a review about your stay among us. In the name of Ms Kawana Polanco and her team, I would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you had a wonderful experience in your ninth visit among us.
It is an honor for us to read your kind words about our staff members. We want to ensure to our beloved guests to feel as “stars” during their holidays. We are pleased to read that we have been doing a good work with you during nine times. The friendliness of our staff members is one of the keys of our successful, and we work with illusion to remain so. I have already sent your greeting to Ms. Kawana Polanco and Mr. David López, as well as to César and Marcos, I assure you that they are thankful for your positive words.
We will be honored to welcome you back again, please contact us as soon as you have your reservation details, so we can assure you a relaxing stay.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at IB PC for 7 days in February 2012. One of the reasons we booked there was the publicizing of 'newly refurbished rooms'. This is completely inaccurate! The rooms were barely adequate and non-functional. Fridge barely works, safe was broken, sliding door didn't lock (on ground floor), leak in the bathroom from the upper floor, STRONG smell of mold/mildew and overlooked a utility building in the back. When we asked to be moved, we were told there were no rooms available in either resort and perhaps there would be rooms (but not together as requested) if we checked the next day at 3:00. We were finally moved to upper level rooms at 6:30 the following evening which were better.

Some of the food was very good but overall, I did not find the food to be of the quality I expected in a 'luxury' resort. Although there seemed to be maintenance ongoing (lawn mowing/shrub pruning), there were areas in desperate need of refurbishing aside from the rooms - peeling paint in the pool bottoms, etc.

I would not recommend this resort if you're looking for top-notch lodging.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest PalmB,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience at Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel. In the name of Ms. Kawana Polando, Hotel Manager, we would like to express you how deeply sorry we are to read that we could not fulfill all your expectations regarding our hotel facilities and premises.
I would like to clarify some point that you stated in your review. Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel last refurbishment took place almost 4 years ago. Iberostar Dominicana Hotel was newly refurbishment in 2011. You might have not received accurate information while booking the hotel at the travel agency, since both hotels are next to each other. Nevertheless, we apologize for the inconveniences that you may have encountered for the maintenance of the room you became. Our normal procedure is to check the rooms before assigning them to a new guest. We are deeply distressed to know that this was not your case.
In Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service, I assure you that I shared your concerns to the concerning departments so we can avoid this situations in the future. We certainly will be taking measures to improve in this matter.
We kindly invite you to give us the chance to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us before your arrival,
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews