We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Punta Cana
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Bavaro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Just returned from an AMAZING week at Iberostar Punta Cana. First time in the Dominican and after this experience I wouldn't go anywhere else. Not only was it beautiful and clean but the staff were out of this world amazing! Everywhere I went I got a smile and was greeted with a friendly "Hola". They were quick to help and always were entertaining. Beaches were great, beds were comfortable,food was good but the staff made this trip and the saddest part about leaving was leaving them behind. Special shout outs to Randy and Carmen at the lobby bar, Goofy at Reception, and Alejandro, Popeye, Pina, and Sexy Chocolate from the Star Friends group! Miss you guys and we will be back soon! Thanks Iberostar Punta Cana for an out-of-this world experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest Hanna L,
I would like to thank you for having chosen Iberostar as the destination for your first visit to Dominican Republic, also for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us. In the name of Hotel Iberostar Punta Cana Manager, Mrs. Kawana Polanco and her team, I would like to express how glad we are to read that you had a memorable first visit to our hotel.
We are very happy to read you enjoyed the exquisite quality of food served in our nightly themed buffet and five specialty restaurants, the beauty of our hotel premises and facilities, and the courteousness of our staff. In Iberostar we are committed to treat our guests as “star in vacations”. We are proud to know that Randy and Carmen at the lobby bar, Goofy at Reception, and Alejandro, Popeye, Piña, and Sexy Chocolate from the Star Friends group, made your holidays an especial occasion. They will be happy to know that you wrote positive comments about them.
We are already willing to welcome you back again, please contact us to assist you for your next visit.
With regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,387 - 2,391 of 7,002 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Visited from Feb. 17 to 24th and this being our first trip, we were very pleased with the accomodations and all the resort had to offer.Our rooms were close to the pool and close to the beach. There were minor problems in the room, but one call to the front desk had them taken care of quickly. The Dominican people are so friendly and outgoing, speaking to you when you pass by. Anyone going should take at least $50 in one dollar bills for tips for the maids, the servers and the bar tenders. They work very long hours and everyone we saw in the morning was still there in the evening being just as pleasant after their long day as they were in the beginning. The food was okay and very plentiful and the entrees changed every day. One night at the midnight buffet, they actually had homemade potato chips! Yum! Lots of entertainment and fun things to do.

However, I must warn people about the parasailing on the beach. One group wanted $80 for two to parasail, but we found someone cheaper ($70) and decided to go with them. BIG MISTAKE!!! There were six of us and we were taken from shore to the boat in a small motorboat, believing we were the only ones going parasailing. What a surprise when they took us to another boat full of people also waiting to parasail and we were stuck on the boat for 2 hours without any shade, drinking water or even a hat. Even though I had adequate sunscreen on, I ended up with sun poisoning and blistered lips. The men running the boat were only concerned about the money and constantly told people to hurry when getting on and off the parasail harness. We were supposed to be up there 12 minutes and if we were there even 10 minutes, I'd be surprised! Bottom line......be very careful who you sign up with.

The Outback Safari was a great trip and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about life in the Dominican Republic. It was a wonderful eye opening experience and I would do it again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Marilyn M,
On the behalf of Ms Kawana Polanco, Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Manager, and her team, I want to thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays and for taking time to write some comments about your visit in the hotel.
We are pleased to read that you have valued positively the quality of the exquisite food in our buffets and snacks areas, and the kindness of staff members. Those are part of our guiding principles and we work hard to please all our guest needs. We are satisfied to know that we accomplished our goal during your visit.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again, please contact us before your visit to help you to enjoy it.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

FABULOUS, 7 people, 14 days, not one complaint with anything about the hotel,staff,food,the weather was just great too.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBRO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Guest Robro_12,
I would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Iberostar Punta Cana as the destination for your vacations, also for taking the time to post a review about your stay among us. In the name of Hotel Manager, Mrs. Kawana Polanco and her team, I would like to express how glad we are to read that you had an amazing experience among us. As you stated in Iberostar we are committed to provide the best service through the work of our staff members. It is one of our strengths, and we work happily to remain so. I am sure that our team will be thankful for your kind words.
We are here waiting for your next visit, please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Again, another long winded review . . . if you don’t want to continue just know that if asked “would you return” my answer would be YES!!

A group of 16 friends and family stayed at the Iberostar Punta Cana from 9-16 February 2012 and had a fabulous time! With this resort, we had access to both the Punta Cana and Dominicana side and each had its own special feel.

Check in was a breeze, and Yazmen was absolutely wonderful. As it was only our group checking in at that time, we had a group introduction to the resort, the amenities and perhaps most importantly, the location of the bars and restaurants. Our rooms were not ready on our arrival, but by 1430hrs we all had rooms assigned and were all located in the same general area in Building 5. All of us were very impressed with the cleanliness and presentation of the rooms.

We were assigned room 5241, and I would highly recommend this location as it is on the end of the building and overlooks the beach. The room was large and included a king sized bed as well as a small sitting area couch, table and chairs for in-room dining if you were so inclined. It was also a third floor room had had a lovely vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan. The patio doors were equipped with screens, so we were able to turn off the air, turn on the fan and leave the glass open for some lovely nighttime ocean breezes. Very comfortable! The balcony was large, and as we were on the 3rd floor there was planters which had flowers and palms – made the area very private, and in our opinion did not obstruct the view of the ocean at all. There is a drying rack on the balcony as well as comfortable mesh chairs and a table. The room included the usual coffee maker, mini bar (which was stocked daily an as required), clock radio with CD player and TV. The bathroom was spacious and very clean. There were no issues with water temperature, pressure or towels during our stay. The safe is an electronic one and costs $2.00US/day. Plenty of storage space in the closet and in the drawers of the dresser. Housekeeping was exceptional, and unlike other resorts we’ve visited, the cleaning products seemed to be ‘scent free’. One thing I really liked about the room (besides the great pillows) was the small bedside carpets that were changed daily – nice touch. We did not detect any dampness or associated odours. The bed and bedding were comfortable, and I will admit, the Iberostar had the best pillows I’ve ever encountered while in PC!

The building is an open concept with mature gardens, including full size palm trees, and fountains in reflecting pools down the centre core. We also noticed 2 elevators in the building. The internal walkways were always clean and dry, and we found it to be very quiet in our room.

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The flamingoes are beautiful, but sometimes you have to go looking for them as they have free range! The exterior walkways were also well maintained. If it is raining there is a covered walkway on the west side of the building which will take you all the way to the lobby. Will also give you an opportunity to have a look at the Rui next door!

We did not go to any alacartes as with 16 of us it was difficult to get seating times together. Instead, after our first dinner in the buffet, Henri would make sure that there was a table big enough for all of us around 2000hrs every night – very nice customer service!! The food at the buffet was plentiful and varied, with at least 2 fish, chicken, beef, pork and lamb on the menu every night. On Valentine’s day there was also lobster which was a nice surprise, along with roses and champagne for all the guests as they entered the buffet. Breakfast at the Punta Cana buffet was always great, and again, good selection from healthy yogurts and fruits to decadent freshly made chocolate dipped donuts. There were two omelet/egg stations in the morning, and despite the resort being at capacity, there were never any long line ups as we’ve experienced elsewhere. The buffet on the Dominicana side seemed a little more congested in its layout for getting food and we preferred the Punta Cana side for dinner. Same offerings at both. The buffet serving areas were kept immaculately clean – being the buggy type that I am, even peered up into the range hood over the cooking stations and the surfaces were gleaming.

The lobby and lobby bar on the Punta Cana side was fun at night, and a little quieter than the lobby on the Dominicana side. Having access to both sides was great. We could wander over and watch the show at the theatre on the Dominicana side, shop in the plaza and hit the disco.

The beach was beautiful, the palapalas plenty and the loungers in good repair. The area was kept clean all day by staff picking up after others who failed to do so – pet peeve – as well as drink service was offered in the afternoons. We are early risers so always managed to find a great spot on the beach (usually just to the left of the water sports building). We tend to spend the entire day on the beach so this was a great spot, just a short walk up to the beach bar and the beach buffet which served great lunches, including a daily steak/chicken BBQ. There is a soft ice cream machine in this area as well as a popcorn machine. Lovely treats for the afternoon. The ocean was nice for swimming with small waves but no great undertow. We were able to walk for over an hour each way along the beach, checking out the other resorts and the vendor markets. Raphael’s Bar on the Beach is a must see – just be careful that first step up is a bit big!!

We did not spend much time by the pool, put it has a large seating area with plenty of shade available. There is a buffet and bar at the end of the Dominicana side which was a nice spot to sit and watch the world go by for an hour or two while enjoying a cold drink and some finger foods.

Caribbean Street is just to the right of the Dominicana side and has some nice shops, including a jewelry and duty free. If you don’t like to haggle in the vendors market the prices here were reasonable (and you could haggle a little if you wanted).

All in all, a terrific vacation with terrific friends and family at a terrific resort. Would not hesitate to return.

I will post photos in a TripWow slide show once we've compiled the group offering!

Room Tip: Rooms 5240, 5241, 5242 have terrific beach/ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bugsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest Bugsareus,
In the name of the Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Manager, Mrs. Kawana Polanco, and her team, we would like to thank you for posting a review about your experience with us, and for choosing our hotel to spend your family vacations.
We want to express you how pleased we are to hear that your sixteen people group of friends and family had experienced a wonderful holiday among us. The friendly and helpful staff is one of our main strengths; and I am glad to hear that you felt welcomed. We are also thankful for your kind words about Yazmin, at Front Desk, Henry at the buffet; and Rafael at the beach bar. They will be happy about your nice comments towards their work.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please contact us before your arrival.
With kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I along with 2 other couples just returned from Iberostar Punta Cana Resort in the beautiful Dominican Republic after a fun filled week in the sun. This was our 9th trip to this resort. We arrived on Feb 11, 2012 in the afternoon and going thru customs was fast. We paid our $10.00 per person and passport stamped and breezed thru to get our luggage. Apple Vacation personnel were waiting for us and we were put on a air conditioned bus and off for a 20 minute ride to the resort. At the resort we were greeted by Ceaser & Marcos (Bellmen) and they took care of your luggage. The registration deak had already had our rooms lined up and the young waitress had brought us a fruit drink while we finished checking in. We were in our room unpacking with in 15 minutes of arrival. We were ready to start a fun filled week. Off to the lobby bar for a drink before supper and then onto the buffet. There was as always, so much good food and a lot to choose from. The next morning we were off to the pool and our friends were off to the beach. The pools are just beautiful and the workers are always cleaning things up and so friendly. The gardens are kept in immaculate condition as well as the beach. The beach is pure white sand and the workers rake the sea weed up every morning that comes in with the tide. The beach and ocean could not be more beautiful. Since last years visit they had remodled the beach dinning area and it is extremely nice. The food and drink at the beach is all great and endless. Each evening before dinner we would meet at the lobby bar for cocktails before dinner. The Bananna Mama's are great... You can book alacart at five different locations if you do not want to eat at the buffet. We did eat at the steak house and it was really good. The service at the resort is all exceptional and all the employees are always smiling, singing and can not do enough for you to make you feel at home and enjoy your week. We can not say enough about the service and the people. They have shows everynight in the Dominicana side of the resort and they are very good. A comment about the rooms is that they are very clean, the beds are great and the maids come in everyday and clean, restock your refrigerator with water, pop, & beer. They do a real great job. As I said earlier this was our 9th trip to this resort and we have never ever been concerned about our safety or about having anything stolen. We will return again next year.
We always bring school supplies with us and we go to a school around Higuey and have been doing this for the past 8 years. The Dominican Republic is a very poor country and the people there are always greatful for anything you may give them. We usually bring 6-8 suit cases full of school supplies for the school. My wife, son-in-law and friends went zip-lining and would reccommend it. We met Mr. David Lopez, assistant Sub Director of Iberostar Punta Cana and Dominicana, and he was extremely nice and was always concerned if there was anything we needed. Just a very hard worker and is always around, no matter where we were we ran into him and he was always super friendly. He sincerely cares about the guest. We also met Ms. Kawana Polanco, Director General, General Manager for Iberostar Punta Cana & Dominicana. What a super nice and friendly young lady. She also wanted to be sure all our needs were met. It is obvious with the attitude that these two individuals have about there guests that it rubs off on all the employees. In closing we can not say enough good things about the people, the food, drink and property. We have traveled to Mexico, Bahamas, Jamica, Antigua, Hawaii and we just keep going back to the Iberostar because of all the before mentioned reasons. If you have never been to the Dominican Republic, you owe yourself a trip there to the Iberostar Punta Cana. I know we will be back........

Joe & Nancy Kaupa
Minnesota USA

Room Tip: We liked groung level on the pool side. The rooms a in the 50's. Also get your towels right aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

Dear Guest Mrs. and Mr. Kaupa,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel, and for the time you took to post a review about your stay among us. In the name of Ms Kawana Polanco and her team, I would like to express how satisfied we are to read that you had a wonderful experience in your ninth visit among us.
It is an honor for us to read your kind words about our staff members. We want to ensure to our beloved guests to feel as “stars” during their holidays. We are pleased to read that we have been doing a good work with you during nine times. The friendliness of our staff members is one of the keys of our successful, and we work with illusion to remain so. I have already sent your greeting to Ms. Kawana Polanco and Mr. David López, as well as to César and Marcos, I assure you that they are thankful for your positive words.
We will be honored to welcome you back again, please contact us as soon as you have your reservation details, so we can assure you a relaxing stay.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bavaro hotels
0.1 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
0.7 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
0.4 km away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
8.4 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
3.7 km away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Punta Cana

Address: Carretera Arena Gorda | Higuey, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bavaro
#4 Green Hotel in Bavaro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Casino Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Price Range: RM 685 - RM 1,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the beautiful, sandy beach of Bavaro (Punta Cana). Friendly atmosphere. Beach restaurant. Set in a palm grove. Attractive pool area. All inclusive (generous, varied buffets for all meals). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Iberostar Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing