We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class lodge!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaksey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaksey Country Park Cottages
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This was a great family base while staying in the Cotswolds. The kitchen was well equipped and the living room was big and airy. Could never get the dvd player to work though. The bedrooms were excellent and the beds very comfy. The hot tub was great to relax in every night after a day of exploring. There were three bathrooms so no one was kept waiting! Went golfing every night at the driving range which is 20 seconds away.Recommend eating in Jacks cafe in Cirencester and potting shed in Crudwell. Recommend going to-
Lacock-Lovely village where Harry Potter and cranford were filmed.
Wildlife Park-One of the best in the UK
Slimbridge-You can handfeed geese!
Overall I thought oaksey lodges provided a comfortable and enjoyable base to exploring the cotswolds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank King02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

The accomadation is all in seperate house all laid out to give some privacy from ones nieghbours. The decor is light and airey modern style with easy on the eye furnature.,all in first class order. each house has a spa bath on the patio a real treat to enjoy.the house are well equipped through out and clean and tidy. The club house is about 100 metres away and setrves food from 9 am untill nine pm there is also a bar. Golf can be played if so desired. A wonderful base for a Coltswold Hoilday allowing you to relax in quiet luxery on your return each day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris551953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed here for four nights and had an enjoyable and relaxing time. The two storey, 3 bed lodge ('charlton') was well equipped, modern and had very comfy beds. We never did work out how to switch the fire on but the central heating was enough and the hot tub was great. Despite some other reviews, it's worth pointing out that the hot tubs are not all that private - people can walk by and see you in your hot tub! - it didn't bother us but could bother some people - although there's not many people walking about-it's so quiet! There's nothing much in the village-small shop but a nice little pub with great beer and good-but expensive food - its just a 10 minute walk from the site. Lots of the pubs in the area are gastro pubs - a bit too fancy and expensive for our tastes, so take your own food or eat in Cirencester - Pizza express, Black Horse pub (decent bar meals).
If you're looking for a quiet base to explore the area, this is fine - modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derekjf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Booked through Hoseasons as it was a great promotional rate for the time we stayed.
Oaksey itself is a very small village with a tiny general store and Wheafsheaf restaurant/Pub. Other Pubs in the surrounding area most which offer high end gastro fayre but £14 for a burger and chips, The Potting Shed Pub - really? It's voted number 1 country pub by the Times so maybe that's why they can charge the earth.

Neighbouring Malmbesbury have a small Co Op and Cirencester have failry large Waitrose just outside it's centre and M and S Simply Food on the high street itself.
Malmesbury is an ancient town steeped in history and is nice. Special mention The Old Bell Hotel in Malmbesury serves afternoon tea, lunches and dinner. We had tea and hot chocolate by the fire, hung out and read our books and it was lovely. Staff very friendly.

We had the Marlborough Cottage on Oaksey Cottages complex, which is a two storey accomodation with three double bedrooms (one twin 2 doubles), 2 bathrooms (one en suite bath and shower the other bathroom bath/toilet suite only. It was bliss having nightly and lengthy baths knowing no one would be interrupting by doing emergency door knocking to use the toilet - we only have one bathroom and loo at home.

Dining area, downstairs toilet washroom, cloak room that could do with some hooks to actually hang coats so we used the stair banister instead no bother for us but for full occupancy it might be an issue. Our shoes were put in the clockroom. A fantastically utensil stocked kitchen beautifully fitted and functional with quality appliances and filled with top quality cookware etc - so good I took note of the brand cookware and actually going to buy a set for my kitchen! Washer dryer machine, dishwasher (no tablets so bring your own). Open plan lounge area, TV (frustratingly a bit temperamental one night so we watched the one in the bedroom and so comfy, fell asleep!).

Everything is totally contemporary, sleek, modern, luxurious and very clean. If you're looking for chintz, antique clutter feel and olde world charm Oaksey cottages is not for you. If you like modern and contemporary then it's a thumbs up.

Electric stove fire in the lounge area gives a warm glow flame and heat so you won't miss a fire in the winter and no ash mess to clear either, sofas comfortable but with a full occupancy could maybe do with one more - there is certainly space to accomodate it. The individual outside hot tub for each cottage is a nice luxurious addition that most seem to use all year round. The design layout means every accomodation is very private and no one is overlooked.

The guest book in the cottage had nothing but praise from each entry and clear to see lots of people made multiple return visits. One family had returned 10 times!

Oaksey are award winning accomodation for eco friendliness and little touches are evident throughout. Controllable central heating worked a treat. Being Feb we were never cold but be aware it is timed and works on water tank system. We were under occupied with three of us - the cottage sleeps 6 so we had bags of space but with 6 it still would still be spacious and airy feel. Heaps of clothes storage and no clutter type feel.

The friendly owners offer a full range of food service in the golf club including breakfast on site and available to offer advice and help . We had dinner once and it was cheaper than the surrounding pubs - does not profess to be michelin star type food just honest fayre, homely, reasonably priced my son and partner enjoyed their chosen meals. Improved extractor fans in the club house restaurant would be good as the kitchen is open plan to view.

The golf club the cottages are situated is remote but clear sign marked. A very quiet location, country views and all in all a marvellous stay. Oaksey Cottages (really they're houses/lodges) gets our thumbs up and we would recommend them to our friends in a heart beat.

Other interests and points to mention:

Take aways in Malmesbury and Cirencester but very busy and Oaksey not well located to actually do a takeaway and bring back to the house. We ate at the Fish and Chips bar/shop in Cirencester and great tasting/good value food.

Lacock village/Abbey - A national trust property: beautiful, a real gem of a village and a Harry Potter location too.

Dyrem House - also beautiful National trust but a summer location really, we struggled to fill our time there as not all the house was open. Great church on the grounds though.

Bath - park and ride, takes a good half hour from Oaksey but worth it for all the sites, museums and shopping. A full day easily. Check the Bath tourism website for park and ride details or ask the super frinedly and helpful Oaksey owners, Note Swindon park and ride is closed.

Have a great time... we certainly did!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank michie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed in a Kemble cottage which was very nice throughout. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge, and a downstairs toilet / washroom. Upstairs there was a bathroom with shower as well as another en-suite bathroom in the double bedroom. The beds are very comfortable and the site is silent so you get a good nights sleep. The hot tub on the patio area outside was very nice and had plenty of use! The area is quite remote but very tranquil, with plenty of country walks nearby. The village of Oaksey has a pub and a shop but little else. If you want a supermarket the nearest one is 7 miles away in Cirencester. An ideal place for a relaxing break, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elitemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oaksey Country Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaksey Country Park Cottages

Address: Oaksey | Nr Malmesbury, Oaksey SN16 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Oaksey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oaksey
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Oaksey Country Park Cottages Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing