We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Would return to Oaksey Country Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaksey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaksey Country Park Cottages
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Oaskey Park was great, relaxing, spacious accomdation! We had a three bedroom, three bathroom cottage and it was spotless! The Kitchen was well equipped and had a large living / dining area. The bathrooms very clean and modern with a large shower. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we all slept fantastic. The hot tub was clean and the temperature was hot enough to sit in on a cold Oct weekend. The location is excellent - 40mins to Bath and about 20/30 mins to any neighboring town - Tetbury, Bibury, Burford, Stroud. They said the local pub was a 15min walk - but you would be brave to walk it as there is no path, lights and a little bit scary! We decided to drive as it was a lot easier.
This place is great for families of if you want to go with a group of friends as the layout of the cottage is very social. I definitely would go back and would recommend the Oaksey park to friends, families and couples. A great find but stock up before you get there as the nearest supermarket or shop is miles away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have nothing negative to say about Oaksey Country Cottages. We stayed in a Kemble bungalow and it was perfect. Everything you could need for a relaxing weekend away. The hot tub was already at 40 degrees when we arrived so we hopped straight in! I would highly recomend.

Room Tip: ask for no 16!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank aedav_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in a Marlborough lodge with two other couples.The lodge was a great size, open plan living room and kitchen diner downstairs with three good size bedrooms upstairs. And two full bathrooms and a third separate toilet. Perfect size for the six of us to live comfortably but not on top of each other.

The decor was very modern with all mod cons including washer drier. The only thing missing was an iron and we could have done with more oven dishes, it was a challenge to cook for six with the equipment provided.

The hot tub was lovely, very welcome after a hard day exploring, although a little on the small size, although it had 6 seats it was impossible to comfortably fit 6 people in it.

The park itself is actually a golf club so the entrance is very pretty, with a large golfing green and long gravel drive, however the club house and parking area could do with some TLC. The clubhouse also shuts at 6pm so if we wanted food we needed to walk down a pitch black farmers track to reach the local pub, fine when there was 3 men with us but if you are single females I would not recommend this. However the food in the local pub is brilliant so well worth a visit.

The location is also brilliant, we visited Bath, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat and other cotswold villages, none were more than 1 1/2 hours away.

One place to give a miss is the 'Cotswold water park' which is 2 minutes from the lodges, its a total rip off, the 'beach' is man made builders sand, the swimming water is manky, the lakes aren't great so we were a bit dubious about taking a boat out and overall its really expensive, £4 per adult to park and you have to pay for the kids as well, £10 to take a boat out, climbing and water sports were all extra and the tea was £2!. There are so many other fabulous places to visit in the area before even thinking about this one - we felt like we had been robbed!

It is clear to see that the place is in administration, it appears a bit like the owners have given up, the gardens were in need of a decent lawn mowing and weeding, fences painting and the house itself had been in the wars with a lot of damage to the walls on the stairs, there was also mould growing on the roof of the shower which was very off putting. Its a real shame because we actually loved the place and thought we got a great deal for our money, the place has a lot of potential.

We would definitely go back, brilliant base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

These cottages are in a good location for visiting many local towns, the setting is good and local pub well worth a visit. The cottage has clearly been built to a high specification but unfortunately the condition of them has deteriorated in places. The garden needed some attention, just cutting the grass would have made a big difference. There was however nothing significant which meant our stay was unpleasant, however it did not match other hoeseason lodges we had stayed in previously.
Overall we had a pleasant stay and for the reduced price we paid I have no complaints although if paying full price in peak season the small negatives may have been harder to ignore.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We arrives at Oaksey on 11th September 2012 around 5:30pm, at first I was a little put off by the broken sign but it wasn't a major issue. We arrived at reception which was very well sign posted and a very nice young man booked us in a gave us our keys, there was also a lady there who was very friendly and had a brief chat with me. We stayed in Kemble (number 8) and although there were a few tiny little things that could be attended to we had a fabulous time.
Myself and my husband had booked 3 nights away for out 10th wedding anniversary and went there for a peacful relaxing time and this is what we got. The cottage was very well equipped with everything we needed so much so that I was able to cook us a 3 course meal for our annivesary. The cottage was light bright and airy and although it took us a while to figure out the heating was surprisingly warm.
The hot tub was amazing, a few of the jets were broke which we reported to the lovely man who came to check the hot tub each morning and he said he would repair it. The bed was really comfortable and the huge bath with plenty of hot water to fill it and sink into was superb.
We loved this cottage so much and we will deffinitely be back. I agree the golf club and the cottages maybe need a little TLC but if you can look past the minor things then you will truly have a fabulous stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kewoo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oaksey Country Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaksey Country Park Cottages

Address: Oaksey | Nr Malmesbury, Oaksey SN16 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Oaksey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oaksey
Number of rooms: 66
Also Known As:
Oaksey Country Park Cottages Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing