We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oaksey Country Park Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$82
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Cirencester(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bell Hotel(Malmesbury)
US$132
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Head Hotel(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cricklade House(Cricklade)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stratton House Hotel(Cirencester)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox Hotel(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
13
8
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
8
4
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at Oaksey Park at the end of October, as other people have said, first impressions are not great. The broken sign and overgrown entrance makes you slightly nervous for what awaits you!! The Check in at the Clubhouse was easy and the staff were always pleasant and helpful with any queries or questions. The Clubhouse was shut by 6 every evening and we got the impression that in better times it was probably quite busy and open later. We stayed in the Marlborough which sleeps 6 people in 3 bedrooms. The main bedroom having an ensuite with Bath and seperate shower. The whole cottage was very spacious and decorated to a high standard with lovely fixtures and fittings, however as other people have said you do get the impression that small maintenance jobs aren't getting done which seems sad. The Kitchen was lovely, very clean with a full size fridge/freezer, large oven, microwave and dishwasher (A few tablets supplied) We cooked a proper meal every evening without a problem with lots of utensils. The Hot tub was a joy to have, it was hot and ready when we got there, a man came round every day and checked the chlorine levels and it was very private, having said that though I think it depended which accommodation you had as to how much privacy you got, so probably worth a phone to check if this concerns you, we were in Number 24 which was very private however walking around the site some were very open.

There was a downstairs toilet which housed in a large double cupboard a washing machine/dryer, this was very handy to have to wash out and spin your swimwear from the hot tub, being as it wasn't the weather to dry it outdoors.

All in all we were very happy with our experience at Oaksey Park and thought it was value for money and great for exploring the surrounding areas, there were lots of brochures and leaflets in the cottage of things to do. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Marlborough Cottage 24 was very private
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealMountie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Marlborough Cottage - sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms. Quiet, pretty location. Wi Fi at golf club reception.

Pluses - Very spacious cottage. Clean and warm on arrival, modern decor/furnishings, large bedrooms, quality bedding, beds v comfy. Hot tub well maintained, private and ready to use.

Minuses - Poor digital TV signal on many channels and some fixtures/lights & an appliance were damaged/not working, so reported to reception when we left. Didn't spoil holiday but staff need to keep on top of small maintenance jobs (if not made aware of by guests), especially as they ask for your card details on arrival to cover any damages.

Tip - take clothes hangers, none supplied & every bedroom had a big wardrobe!

Visit - Westonbirt Arboretum in the autumn - beautiful.

Room Tip: No 23 -semi detached and good privacy for hot tub.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Oaskey Park was great, relaxing, spacious accomdation! We had a three bedroom, three bathroom cottage and it was spotless! The Kitchen was well equipped and had a large living / dining area. The bathrooms very clean and modern with a large shower. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and we all slept fantastic. The hot tub was clean and the temperature was hot enough to sit in on a cold Oct weekend. The location is excellent - 40mins to Bath and about 20/30 mins to any neighboring town - Tetbury, Bibury, Burford, Stroud. They said the local pub was a 15min walk - but you would be brave to walk it as there is no path, lights and a little bit scary! We decided to drive as it was a lot easier.
This place is great for families of if you want to go with a group of friends as the layout of the cottage is very social. I definitely would go back and would recommend the Oaksey park to friends, families and couples. A great find but stock up before you get there as the nearest supermarket or shop is miles away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have nothing negative to say about Oaksey Country Cottages. We stayed in a Kemble bungalow and it was perfect. Everything you could need for a relaxing weekend away. The hot tub was already at 40 degrees when we arrived so we hopped straight in! I would highly recomend.

Room Tip: ask for no 16!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank aedav_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed in a Marlborough lodge with two other couples.The lodge was a great size, open plan living room and kitchen diner downstairs with three good size bedrooms upstairs. And two full bathrooms and a third separate toilet. Perfect size for the six of us to live comfortably but not on top of each other.

The decor was very modern with all mod cons including washer drier. The only thing missing was an iron and we could have done with more oven dishes, it was a challenge to cook for six with the equipment provided.

The hot tub was lovely, very welcome after a hard day exploring, although a little on the small size, although it had 6 seats it was impossible to comfortably fit 6 people in it.

The park itself is actually a golf club so the entrance is very pretty, with a large golfing green and long gravel drive, however the club house and parking area could do with some TLC. The clubhouse also shuts at 6pm so if we wanted food we needed to walk down a pitch black farmers track to reach the local pub, fine when there was 3 men with us but if you are single females I would not recommend this. However the food in the local pub is brilliant so well worth a visit.

The location is also brilliant, we visited Bath, Cheddar Gorge, Longleat and other cotswold villages, none were more than 1 1/2 hours away.

One place to give a miss is the 'Cotswold water park' which is 2 minutes from the lodges, its a total rip off, the 'beach' is man made builders sand, the swimming water is manky, the lakes aren't great so we were a bit dubious about taking a boat out and overall its really expensive, £4 per adult to park and you have to pay for the kids as well, £10 to take a boat out, climbing and water sports were all extra and the tea was £2!. There are so many other fabulous places to visit in the area before even thinking about this one - we felt like we had been robbed!

It is clear to see that the place is in administration, it appears a bit like the owners have given up, the gardens were in need of a decent lawn mowing and weeding, fences painting and the house itself had been in the wars with a lot of damage to the walls on the stairs, there was also mould growing on the roof of the shower which was very off putting. Its a real shame because we actually loved the place and thought we got a great deal for our money, the place has a lot of potential.

We would definitely go back, brilliant base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolleyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews