We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”
Review of Leopard Den Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leopard Den Hotel
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Reasonable room, pretty good dinner (if a little expensive)

We found the service to be good and the staff helpful and friendly at all times

Convenient location close to the fantastic Wilpattu national park

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mark8323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namali2014, General Manager at Leopard Den Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Dear mark8323,

Many thanks for your kind words. As the new management we find this very encouraging

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2014

Stayed here for one night and had a terrible stay. Firstly had to pay 2000 rupees for a dirty, jail cell style room that stank and had cockroaches and a filthy bathroom. The staff were unfriendly, menu overpriced and when my friend went to buy a bottle of water the manager said it cost 190 rupees, she pointed to the price on the bottle (70 rupees) and the manager yelled "Why are you trying to bargain with me??" and threw the bottle down. My friend was not trying to bargain, was merely indicating that the price is usually around 70 rupees, we were expecting to possibly pay a little more as it was from a hotel but were not expecting to be yelled at by the manager. Don't stay at tis dirty unfriendly place if you don't have to.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank TipJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namali2014, General Manager at Leopard Den Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Dear TipJar,
We are the new management for Leopard Den Hotel. We came to business later part of 2014. Please do take our sincere apology for the very bad experience you faced here. And we take it as OUR responsibility, and humbly seek your pardon, despite it has been two years. And we wish to inform you that Leopard Den Hotel is under new management and we are working hard to bring it to a standard that would bring our future customers to a much remembered experience.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The chef ( Kingsly) was all out to serve us....no matter of time.....
It was a comfortable & happy stay. It was a family stay in A/C rooms in December 2013. Very convenient location on the main road and easy access to the Willpattu park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gune72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namali2014, General Manager at Leopard Den Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2015

,Dear Mr.Gune,

Many thanks for your kind words. As the new management we find this very encouraging

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Fortunately I stayed only one night there on 6th of november 2013. I stayed in a non ac room for 2500Rp. Cigarette butts under the bed and overall very dirty. Fortunately I had my own sleeping sheet and moskitonet with me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
namali2014, General Manager at Leopard Den Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

Dear Daniel B,
We are the new management for Leopard Den Hotel. We came to business later part of 2014. Please do take our sincere apology for the very bad experience you faced here. And we take it as OUR responsibility, and humbly seek your pardon, despite it has been two years. And we wish to inform you that Leopard Den Hotel is under new management and we are working hard to bring it to a standard that would bring our future customers to a much remembered experience.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Stayed in an A/C room on 29 Sept 2012 with wife and 2 kids. They gave an extra folding bed. A/C worked well. No problem with insects due to the a/c. No hot water but not needed as very hot and dry. Room (not tiled) and beds (no bed bugs) were fairly clean but the bathroom could do with a clean up. The bulbs in room and bath were very very dim. Food was delicious. (fried rice with deviled prawns and pork) Picnic breakfast of chicken sandwiches also good. The new Manager Anura was helpful. Given the area and price an average very basic guest house. However found a much better one 3km from the park (LLT safari guest house) with cleaner, larger, brighter A/C rooms, superb bathrooms and less noisy (as away from the main road) for a slightly higher price.

Room Tip: Go for an A/C room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinesh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilpattu National Park
7.8 km away
Wilpattu Tree House
Wilpattu Tree House
#1 of 7 in Wilpattu National Park
67 reviews
36.0 km away
Leopard Lakes
Leopard Lakes
#1 of 1 in Eluwankulam
3 reviews
7.9 km away
Wilpattu Safari Camp
Wilpattu Safari Camp
#3 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Wilpattu House
Wilpattu House
#2 of 7 in Wilpattu National Park
46 reviews
0.0 km away
Thimbiriwewa Ecoresort
Thimbiriwewa Ecoresort
#6 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
27 reviews
0.0 km away
Base Camp Wilpattu
Base Camp Wilpattu
#7 of 10 in Wilpattu National Park
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Den Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Den Hotel

Address: Wilpattu National Park 50220, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Wilpattu National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilpattu National Park
Price Range: RM170 - RM183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leopard Den is located 7 km before the Wilpattu entrance. Leopard Den compromises of 4 newly built AC rooms and 8 non AC rooms. The in-house restaurant caters Sri Lanka, Western and Chinese meals. The place offers no frills and out of sophistication but good value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Leopard Den Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing