We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$215
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Youth Hostel Plakias(Plakias)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$52
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofia Hotel(Plakias)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
98
125
67
46
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
125
67
46
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba divingsea waterworking fineall inclusive dealoctopussun loungerssalt watercoastal pathsprivate covesea lifesmall paradisefunny guyfair distanceall inclusive resortbuffet style foodstunning locationsouth coast
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

How more disappointed can you be ?? The view is amazing, it is beautiful. But the installations...they are soo old, not optimised and all the furniture are low quality. Beds were not good. It is sooo disappointing. No wifi in the rooms so you have to go to the common places, not very useful. In the end my bathroom didnt work properly so there was a water accident. They didnt care at all. So i had water all over the floor. Also there rea some maasage offers but of when you ask for it, it is not possible for no reasons. It is nice to come there and see the village but not enough to book a room there. I regret to have booked there. This is so frustrating.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank PhilouTigrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KalypsoCretan, Διευθυντής at Kalypso Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear visitor,

We want to thank you for your review and for pointing out the reasons that made you judge your stay in our hotel in a negative way. We are very sorry that happened, but it is important to us to listen to the negative reviews, so we can work harder to fix those specific problems.

Regarding the particular issues you faced, we would like to let you know the following...

1) In more than half of our rooms the furniture is brand new, bought directly from the factory about 1 month ago. In the greatest part of the remaining rooms the furniture were renovated just a few years ago. All the material used for our furniture (wood, mattresses, etc.) is of high quality with the appropriate certifications. Of course that doesn't change the fact that everyone has his own criteria and aesthetics. Of course the design of our furniture is always visible on our own website, as on many other web pages.

2) Except one particular day that the girl responsible of some particular treatments was sick, all the offers of our Spa Center are served normally from the moment that each different offer is announced. We can only guess that you chose one of treatments that could not be served that particular date and we apologize about that. However we always did have alternative treatments available.

3) Regarding the water accident you mentioned we can only apologize that you faced a situation like that. Our departments of maintenance and housekeeping are always available to fix possible problems. We will have to investigate further why the message did not pass immediately to the appropriate departments. At this point we can only commit that something like that will not happen again.

With our warmest regards,
Kalypso Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The staff were lovely and accommodating. I had read reviews saying they were rude but I felt the opposite. It was my sisters birthday and the receptionist noticed the date on our check in form and came to say happy birthday the next day, very sweet. The place was clean and In a beautiful setting. Maybe slightly sleepy and dated and not as well used as it may have been in the past but it's still a lovely place with many pools and pretty little spots to explore. They have a mini bus services to the town of Plakias which runs twice in the morning and twice in the evening around 9am and 5pm for about 1 Euro. The town is also lovely and picturesque with lots of lovely places to eat and sun loungers to hire along the beach. Plus a massage and nail place for pampering. There are excursions too but I would say that Plakias main beach is probably nicer than palm beach which is the closest excursion. Nice for a relaxing weekend away. Top tip, taxis from the town tend to stop running pretty early so if you go to town for dinner book the taxi back before you eat.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank nadebentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The Kalypso Cretan Village is in a great location off the beaten track but the whole complex is very tired and needs a complete revamp.
The pools and swimming lagoon called Pirates Cove are lovely and is what makes this Village along with the beautiful views.
The staff are not very friendly and need to brush up on their customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindadownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This is a very interesting resort hidden away from other places. We really enjoed the "village", hidden bay, some swiming pools and nice views from our really huge terrace.
Place is a bit outdated and some renovation would be nice, but we did not mind it.

Food was decend and a lot of choice.

Staff was a bit confused and did not give good information (ie. they were not aware of amenities or events going on at the village).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DJojic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Ahhh the sea, the fresh air, the remoteness, the dramatic cliffs, the
glorious sunshine. Did I mention the sea?
This Cretan idyll is a wonderful place to stay if you want to get away from
it all and wallow in a shore cove paradise.
Admittedly there's no beach, but beaches are to be found nearby. In any
case you can still use the sun loungers and simply dive or jump into the
deep, or clamber down one of the ladders into the sea. Alternatively one
of 3 swimming pools await your presence. The whole place is charmingly
laid out: paths and streams meander hither and thither giving you countless
ways of getting from A to B. The villagey layout means that your walk to
the reception or restaurant is always a pleasant stroll past palm trees,
cacti, conifers and numerous other flora which a botanical numbskull like
me couldn't hope to name. What could possibly be wrong in this flawless
place? Well, as Plato observed ' a nation is made not out of oak and rock
but of the hearts and minds of its people'. Ironically this is where
paradisaical dream ends. Sorry dear reader, you might be under the
impression that the staff would welcome guests with outstretched arms,
after all, you are paying their wages, right? Better to think of yourself
as an inconvenience then you won't be disappointed. Some of the
reception and catering staff appear to have walked off the set of a Greek
tragedy (or comedy?) and forgot to get out of character. Just remember to
be humble and you won't draw too much ire.

Cats; not the musical, but our feline friends, abound in this coastal
resort. They seem to do a good job of suppressing the rodent population
when they're not mewing at guests plaintively at meal times or 'checking
out' their rooms for interesting snacks. Obviously you can make new furry
friends by offering tid-bits. Just don't be surprised when a hissing and
spitting brawl erupts when the rest of the pack discover.

And now a delicate subject ... sadly the local drainage based waste
disposal system, aka sewerage, can't cope with toilet paper. After wiping
yourself remember to place the soiled article in the bin rather than down
the toilet. I'm guessing this is still the modus operandi of Greek
toilets since I visited last millennium!

A couple more things to be aware of, Wi-Fi, not exactly superfast broadband
and only available in the reception area (which is pretty comfortable).
Also, archaic room power control mechanism means you can't charge up your
kit (mobile phone etc.) while you're out unless you leave the keys in your
room. Not exactly safe and convenient!

Overall, however, I have to say that the stay (12 days) was very good.
Just be mindful of the relatively minor drawbacks. Also the food buffet
was great, plenty of fresh and delicious fruit, meat, seafood and
vegetables!!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank JeepneyJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews