We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Killahara Castle

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front door
Fireplace
Entrance to the castle
Kitchen and dining area
Kitchen window
Bedroom at the top of the castle!
Twin room
Purcells Suite at the top of the castle
Ancient staircase
Kitchen/Dining area
Lady Trants room
Sunset from the top of the castle
Chief Fogarties suite
Sitting room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Thurles, County Tipperary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
errit2015
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Staying in Killahara Castle is an amazing experience and should not be missed! My family had a great time. We had visited Ross Castle near Killarney a few days earlier which I would definitely recommend doing before Killahara so you can really appreciate some of the architecture and history of tower houses in Ireland.

The bedrooms are all really unique and comfortable beds. The view from the top is amazing (especially if you are lucky enough to have the beautiful weather we did!). The kitchen is fully stocked and the table is big enough for a true feast! After you can enjoy a drink by the fire in the living room or enjoy the stars on the roof.

The restoration of the castle is amazing. The modern touches to make your life a little easier while still maintaining the character and history of the castle. It is really an experience I would recommend to anyone who has the chance!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dariusz S
1 review
“Unbelievably”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

40th birthday is a great thing, should be celebrated as unusual as possible. My family and friends got shocked when arrived for my birthday dinner (between 14 folks only my wife new where it's gonna be). King of the castle :). Beautiful place, stunning views, lovely people running this place. We could feel a spirit of centuries. If you think about to visit Killahara Castle, just GO and enjoy it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Thanks Darek, delighted you enjoyed it and that you were able to surprise everyone! Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpr0uv...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay in amazing castle”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a wonderful time with a group of friends at the Killahara Castle.

Paula was extremely easy to deal with and we felt right at home.

The surrounding area is beautiful and I couldn't recommend staying more highly.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2016
So glad to hear you all enjoyed it! And thanks so much for leaving such a positive review... Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran-08...
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked Killahara on a recommendation from a friend. We booked it for the Halloween weekend. There was 14 of us in total a mixture of adults and kids. It really was an unforgettable experience. The kids have declared it "The best Halloween Ever". Memories really are created in a place such as this, memories that we will never forget,

We arrived on Friday afternoon. The place was nice and clean. So my surprise in was great to see the fridge contained some of the basic essentials. A really nice touch, made the place feel like home. Straight away we got the fires going and settled in for the weekend. We did all our cooking and eating in the castle. The kitchen is well equipped with to cook for a large party such as ours. It's got a dishwasher which is a nice luxury after cooking for a big crowd. We spent the rest of the evenings there sitting around the stove in the kitchen or upstairs in the sitting room. The views from the top of the castle are amazing. The room at the top of the castle is a real treasure and an amazing place to wake up. I really wished I could of stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience of living in a castle
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Great to hear that you all enjoyed it Kieran - and especially that the kids made that comment! We love getting feedback like that. Hopefully it is a weekend they will remember. And yes, the top room is a treat to wake up in - always a fight for that one. Thanks for taking the time to review it, we really appreciate that.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika M
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's the perfect experience!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This was an amazing stay, and really, the perfect experience for your first (or any) trip to Ireland. I felt like we melted in to the landscape and it was seamless - the views were amazing, like out of a storybook. It doesn't matter what time of year you visit, this is absolutely the place your group should stay. The rooms were diverse and comfortable, the living room held all of us (10) easily and it was just right for a night of card games. The kitchen was just right for a bunch of people getting ready in the morning, the table was just right for all of us. Really, really amazing staying in a castle like this - sometimes a little short if you're 6' tall like I am but that's ok, it's totally worth ducking through doors to stay in such a beautiful place.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: More towels would have been nice.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing