We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and excellent position”
Review of Esplendido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Esplendido Hotel
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Soller
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Hotel is perfectly positioned, 20m from the beach and looking directly across to the mouth of the bay. Only occasional traffic goes past the front of the hotel plus, of course, the old tram to / from Soller town itself.

Generous little touches make the difference - mini bar is FREE, containing water, soft drinks and some beers. Similarly, all guests get a voucher for a free drink in the bar.

Staff are all young, friendly and enthusiastic. Breakfast is excellent - large variety and good quality. So much so, we broke our usual rule and ate in the hotel restaurant one night and had a very good meal.

The hotel is set into the hill, so the pools and sunbathing areas are on terraces at the back. Plenty of space to find a secluded spot.

The only thing I found to complain about is the gym, which relatively well equipped but always too warm for decent exercise (this is our 2nd visit and it is generally cooler to exercise outside!).

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony facing the front are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 49broomwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

We had an absolutely amazing meal in the Bistro of this lovely Hotel, I had the Suckling Pig and my wife had the Ravioli we both agreed it was one of the best meals we have ever had in Spain. The feel of the Bistro is more like a Covent Garden Bistro but with a better view, Professional attentive staff. great wine list and above all fantastic value for money. 100% recommended

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank l4tja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We have reviewed Esplendido before. We come each year and have done since 2010, when we stumbled across this gem of a hotel on our first trip to Mallorca. We have tried other hotels and resports, but none of have lived up to Port de Soller or the Esplendido Hotel. It is the benchmark on which all other hotels and destinations are measured.

So why come back? We could tell you it is the all about the beautiful resort of Port de Soller, with its peace and quiet, it’s excellent restaurants, the charming people, the quant tram that creeps to and from the town of Soller. We could tell you it is the meeting of mountains and sea creating breath-taking views, an authentic natural harbour, the marina that is home to both fishing fleet and leisure craft of all sizes. The joy of being in a Mallorcan village that has adapted to the tourist industry without losing its charm…

All of this is true. In fact, this alone would be enough for us to return year on year. But it is really the hotel we come back to. Let’s start with the staff. They are pleasant, courteous, attentive, and look after their guests. Many staff are still there from our first 2010 visit and they welcome us back with a smile each year.

The rooms are pristine, clean and well equipped. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The hotel facilities are excellent, with separate areas and pools on the terraced garden to the rear, an indoor gym, spa and pool, and an ever improving restaurant. Breakfast, sitting on the pavement outside the hotel on a sunny morning, watching the world go by, listening to the waves gently lapping the beach and gazing out over the bay is one of our favourite things

We recommend a standard sea view as more than adequate for a couple. You will not be kept awake by noise from outside the hotel, in fact you will hear nothing except the sound of the waves on the beach, and in the morning the gentle sounds of the first tram from Soller announcing it’s entry into the village with a brief ‘toot’ around 8:15am – it is a very pleasant way to wake up.

We will return. Why would we go elsewhere? Thank you to all the staff in Esplendido for yet another memorable holiday. We will see you next year

Room Tip: A standard sea view on the 4th floor is more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromA2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This is the 6th (maybe 7th?) time I have stayed at this hotel. It is now our favourite hotel to stay at when visiting Majorca. There are a number of reasons that keep us returning. Firstly the location, with a central position looking out to sea between the two small peninsulas that make up the small bay of Puerto de Soller. The convenience of a short walk to the old port or the tram to Soller, whilst being a little bit away from the main drag is helpful. The view from sea facing rooms is beautiful. In our experience the rooms are clean, tidy, well appointed and maintained. The vibe and general décor of the hotel is a clean fresh 'Scandi' style - this works well in the Majorcan climate and lends the hotel a classy yet relaxed feel. Without exception, the staff at the hotel are excellent. They appear to be very well trained, providing friendly, helpful and professional service across the board. What has been a nice touch is seeing a few familiar faces at the reception or restaurant year after year - retention of staff is a sign of a good employer in my experience. The reception staff are very helpful in recommending and / or booking experiences, trips and places to visit or even dining out in the local area. The restaurant menu seems to have been updated in recent years and offers a good range of food with a mix of the usual suspects as well as some excellent local specialities, in particular the sea food. I am surprised by one of the recent reviews that reflected a disappointing experience with the food - this has not been my own experience over what must have been dozens of meals in the last few years. The hotel amenities, whilst not being spectacular, are certainly well above average for Majorcan hotels that I have experienced. Of note is the rear garden, with a couple of pools and daytime food service (abridged menu). The indoor pool and gym area is quite small and probably not up to 'top' standard but to be honest the outdoor area more than compensates. The cycle store is a useful and secure addition which I used during this most recent visit. The hotel beach is small, but conveniently located no more than 10 yards from the main entrance and catches the sun for most of the day. On a previous visit I booked a Yoga session, which was well run and a nice experience. The hotel appears to be aiming to cater to slightly higher end clientele and the prices do reflect this. It is by no means cheap however when comparing to other hotels in Soller or along the promenade in Port de Soller, the experience on offer is more than worth the premium. On reflection, the two elements that makes this hotel a must-stay are the staff and the general vibe / feel which comes from the small touches that distinguish it from more 'corporate' feel places. Top tip? - have breakfast at one of the pavement side tables rather than upstairs in the restaurant - it's the same menu and you get to see the world (and the trams) go by as you eat al-fresco!

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must - watch the sunset !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We liked the idea of visiting Puerto de Soller with its pedestrian promenade and harbour as it looked far more appealing than the high rise resorts on the island. We were recommended this hotel but we normally stay in 5* hotels so we were a little reticent given the 4* rating, as we are fussy about rooms and service levels. However the location is far more convenient for the beach and evening promenades than the Jumeriah so we went ahead and booked. Any fears were completely unjustified as although some facilities are missing, such as a dedicated concierge, it's a very well run hotel with a more boutique feel, so it met expectations.
We had a seaview room which we would highly recommend as you can hear the waves at night in the room and the view from the terrace across the bay is wonderful. The rooms at the rear would be quite dark as the hotel is built into a hill so they do not get much natural light. The bedrooms have a quirky design but are not large (we found ours adequate for a 3 night stay but we’d prefer larger for a week or more).
Breakfast (included in the nightly rate) is served in two restaurants which both have outside dining tables (one restaurant being child free in summer). There is an open kitchen with a chef on duty in both cooking hot food to order. In addition, there is an extensive selection of cold items with local meats and cheeses, a delightful range of pastries (cooked throughout the breakfast service so are warm and fresh) and numerous juices. You can even squeeze your own oranges and add to the sparkling wine for a bucks fizz if you have the inclination (although the pre-squeezed offering is a lot quicker!).
The beach area in front of the hotel is not great as its very rough sand and quite pebbly so it’s not ideal for a barefoot walk / paddle. The hotel has some sunloungers set up on the beach and we never had trouble getting two, but there are not very many given the number of rooms (and they allow non-guests to rent them which would be annoying if it resulted in none being available for guests), so I don’t know if we were lucky or if the hotel simply wasn’t very full. The sand further around the bay where sunloungers can be rented is much finer so better for walking on but the beach is much busier.
We dined on the terrace at the hotel one evening and had a fabulous meal with a Japanese influence, which we certainly weren't expecting.
Overall we had a lovely few days of relaxation and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmcs2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Soller hotels
1.1 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
892 reviews
0.5 km away
Aimia Hotel
Aimia Hotel
#1 of 8 in Port de Soller
856 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#11 of 37 in Soller
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#22 of 37 in Soller
448 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Minister
Hotel Minister
#5 of 8 in Port de Soller
126 reviews
0.6 km away
Es Port Hotel
Es Port Hotel
#3 of 8 in Port de Soller
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplendido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplendido Hotel

Address: urbanizacion Es Traves 5, 07108, Soller, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Soller
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Soller
#6 Romantic Hotel in Soller
Price Range: RM 618 - RM 2,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplendido Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Esplendido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplendido Hotel Soller, Majorca
Hotel Esplendido

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing