We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“San Roque peace and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Roque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Roque
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“San Roque peace and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We highly recommend the San Roque after a week there in early February. We stayed in a Junior Suite looking on to the (cobbled) road. The bed was super-large and super-comfortable and our teenage daughters were happy in the mezzanine bedroom next door. We found the staff extremely helpful with all our many questions about routes, the island, good walks,the weather in other parts of the island, etc. We enjoyed the spacious verandas in the courtyards and the roof terrace. The hotel is very beautiful and has such a calm welcoming atmosphere that you feel relaxed as soon as you come in off the street.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms facing into the courtyards seemed dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    54
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
179
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just to start by saying we spent a really relaxing 9 days at the end of February here. Garachico is a lovely little place and probably the Hotel San Roque is the best place to stay. Visually it is a real treat, a wonderful building and a great art collection, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfasts, lots of attention to detail. However, it is all a bit overpriced, the food in the restaurant is not very good, the bathroom fittings are very tired, the shower requires a climb into the bath and is not well lit, nor are the rooms generally, the seating in the public areas is not comfortable. So a lot of gripes. BUT what a relaxing experience! I would go again despite the issues so I recommend it very highly, just go with your eyes open so you are not disappointed,

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid a duplex unless you like clambering down stairs for a pee in the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scalloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We chose the hotel as a short 3 day break from the normal Canaries self catering/resort hotels.

We had difficulty finding it but when we did the welcome was excellent and staff throughout were excellent always friendly and very helpful . Room although stylish was very dark and not very suitable for sitting in although courtyards were lovely as was the heated pool ! Great care needs to be taken when accessing toilets at night down the steep wooden stairs. We found room a bit stuffy.

Eating by the pool in the evening was very good and the food although menu was fairly limited was very good and breakfast (particularly if you like eggs !) very good.

The hotel is exclusive and very expensive but in my opinion did not really represent value for money at these levels.

The

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MGoodlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Delightful historic building in the centre of the small unspoilt town which has been converted to a extremely well run hotel. In particular we were impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff. We stayed for a whole week and ate in the restaurant every night and the quality of the food was uniformly excellent. The breakfasts were also very good. The only feature stopping me giving this the full five stars was our bed which was a bit on the small size and not the most comfortable. Other rooms were obviously more luxurious however some around the ground floor of the courtyard did seem a bit dark (although friends staying in one of these did not have any complaints).

Room Tip: First floor especially those overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quantockm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a gem. A very small hotel with real atmosphere and a quiet modicum of luxury. The village is a little remote and a good 2 hour drive from the [South] airport, but it is well worth it. The rooms are spacious and surround two pretty courtyards. Dinner is served around the swimming pool and is a set menu each day. We found the food excellent [except for the salt-cod] and the menus varied and well constructed. The wine list is very limited with an over-emphasis on Canarian wines. Breakfast is a joy and served with great panache by helpful staff. Garachico is a small village of charm but there is little to do; however we found this of no importance since there are many places to visit and some interesting walks. A drive to the popular resorts on the island will convince any visitor that they were wise to choose San Roque.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road which we preferred since many rooms open only on to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garachico
20.0 km away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Hotel La Quinta Roja
Hotel La Quinta Roja
#2 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
31.2 km away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
9.3 km away
Melia Hacienda del Conde
Melia Hacienda del Conde
#48 of 389 in Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Roque

Property: Hotel San Roque
Address: Calle Esteban de Ponte 32 | Esteban de Ponte, 32, 38450 Garachico, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Garachico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Garachico
Price range (per night): RM881 - RM1,156
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Roque 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a region called Isla Baja, in the North-west of Tenerife, Hotel San Roque is to be found among the pebbled streets of Garachico, only a few meters from the blue waters of the Atlantic and in the shade of the emblematic Teide. A lordly 18th century manor house with just the right atmosphere to enjoy your holidays. It is a charming hotel where time can be forgotten and where to feel as comfortable as at home. The hotel has 20 double rooms, 8 duplexes with living rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 suites. La Torre (the tower) enjoys an amazing view of the town and the coastline. Each room enjoys a unique layout, colour and personality, but is identical in terms of comfort and service with air conditioning a Jacuzzi, audio visual equipment, designer furniture and contemporary art on their walls. That is twenty rooms in all offering ours guests a completely different experience of relaxation and comfort. All rooms are equipped with: Jacuzzi bathtub in the bathroom ( in Junior Suites is integrated in the room area ), Satellite TV, Flat Screen, DvD, Hi-fi, minibar, A/C, WiFi, safe box, Bath amenities.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel San Roque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Roque Hotel
San Roque Garachico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing