We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
17
28
34
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
28
34
12
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We stayed her because one of our party had stayed 3 years previously and thought the location was excellent.

Much to his surprise, the hotel was not the same as he had previously experienced.

Our room (and the hotel) was not up to 3* standard and the bathroom was a disgrace, The taps on the sink unit were so loose that the whole tap unit could be lifted clear of the sink. The in-bath shower sprayed water everywhere except the bath and whole bathroom felt like someone had installed the fixings in the quickest and cheapest manner. The towels were thin and were worn and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. We all commented on this.

The location was very attractive with views over open fields to Santillana. It was a 10/15 minute walk down to the village and there were several very good places to eat. We had to eat dinner out as when we arrived, we were told that there was no dinner service in the hotel. This was very surprising, considering that it was late June.
As we were leaving early the next morning to catch the ferry from Bilbao, we asked if we could have an early breakfast. The manageress said that breakfast was served from 0830 and that it wouldn't be possible. We asked if there was nay chance of taking some croissants or rolls so we could eat on the way. Again, we were told that this was not possible.
When we returned from eating dinner in Santillana and went to the bar for a drink, we were offered some bread rolls and some sort of packaged snack. As these looked unappetising, we declined the offer. No discount was offered for us not taking breakfast.

We definitely got the impression that the hotel was running down and needed some urgent attention.

We definitely would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights at Easter break. It was just perfect, the room was fabulous,with a great view and very clean, we had a wonderful stay, very friendly staff and owner, can't fault anything.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, a great stopover from the midweek Santander ferry. Friendly staff, lovely breakfast and evening meals. There is a swimming pool but the cool weather stopped my boys from using it! The hotel is just a stone throws away from the beautiful medieval town which is highly recommended for a good walk around. The family room is comfortable and clean. The five star rating is based on value, just £60 per night including breakfast for the 4 of us. It's a no brainer to stay at this hotel, an absolute bargain. The beach is only a 15 minute drive and it's a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights towards the end of June. We found the location to be excellent with approx a 10min walk into Santillana.
I can't praise the staff highly enough, they made us feel more welcome than anywhere else we've visited in Spain. Thanks for all your hospitality and we will definitely return.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank nickfag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

I am giving this lovely hotel full marks. It has a lovely feel about it, with stunning views over the countryside. It's only a 5 minute walk into the town centre where there is a huge choice of bars and restaurants. The hotel has a small swimming pool which we didn't have time to use. There is a large car park at the front and a small seating area to the back which overlooks the village and fields. The receptionist was very polite and helpful, and yes, the hotel is dark in some places because they are using energy savers. There are light switches in the corridors. The bedroom was large and light and very clean. Breakfast was nice with breads, cereals and pastries while sitting next to the large windows taking in the scenery. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a one with the view of countryside
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank penelope_pit_stop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews