We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
60
50
24
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
50
24
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit marta pool property guests balcony bedroom euros santillana breakfast spain town
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Being just out of the town the hotel has the advantage of good parking and yet is a short walk into Santillana. The property has character and we found it to our taste. Nice pool to relax around albeit short of loungers (only 4) for number of guests that can stay there.
We could not fault the bedroom or bathroom.
The breakfast lets the hotel down - you are given a basket and plates of items rather than a buffet from which you can choose. I do not like the thought of returned food perhaps being sent out again for another guest - or do they waste food and throw it away? Please have a buffet so guests only take what they like/want - we sent back 60% of the food served to our table back.
Lovely lady on reception - helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austinseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
208MAREJ, Gerente at Hotel SIGLO XVIII, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

We are very sorry you think we can give the breakfast left to another client. It is incredible someone can do that , but not in this hotel. Every client has the breakfast booked and if there is something you can leave, it is always recycled to the dustbin, it is never given to another client. Moreove, If you have a buffet, do you think they always give you different products every morning, or do they take it back in the fridge till next morning?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We spent 6 nights at this lovely hotel within comfortable walking distance of Santillana del Mar. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Our bathroom was bright and clean, our bed was comfortable and my husband thoroughly enjoyed the pool. We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and it has excellent wifi too.

Room Tip: Our room number 206 had a lovely large balcony which was good for sitting outside.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The hotel, 5 minutes walk from Santillana, is superb. Plenty of wood décor and very clean. The swimming pool is very good. Our bedroom was large with a very clean bathroom. The room also had a large veranda overlooking roof tops and fields. The breakfast room was large, well decorated, and breakfasts very tasty. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Get a room with a veranda - these are large.

Room Tip: Get a room with an open veranda
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

An elegant house outside Santillana del Mar, Siglo XVIII is quiet and comfortable. Rooms are clean - but small - the one we stayed in even featured a terrace with a panorama over the surrounding hills. Nice little pool in the garden, satisfying breakfast and very kind staff. This place is a must if visiting charming Santillana. Just one drawback: why on earth rooms are still to be cleaned at 1PM?

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Enrico P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The hotel is in a beautiful historic building, ideally situated just a couple of minutes' walk from the lively historic centre of Santillana del Mar. We had an elegant and spacious room - but unfortunately there was no air conditioning and we were there when temperatures were extremely high. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a pre-paid booking via Casas Cantabrias, and this included an excellent and extensive breakfast, far more than other guests. I'm sure guests travelling independently could request this at a supplement,

Room Tip: Try to get one of the upstairs corner rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Headaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews