We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Violet Cottage

Welcome to Violet Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Violet Cottage
Something you will always be at Violet Cottage.... Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Welcome to Violet Cottage
Something you will always be at Violet Cottage....
Cottage Kitchen
Lounge
Woodburning stove and plenty of logs to burn......
Front Bedroom Violet Cottage
Quality bed linen
Violet Cottage large rear garden
Garden seating
Front of Cottage
4 star quality
Shaded seating in the garden
Ancrum Village green and pub from Violet Cottage
The Borders - Secret Scotland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Jedburgh, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mapson201...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was a fabulous holiday, the village is lovely, the people very friendly, and the food at the pub was wonderful. Violet Cottage was the icing on the cake, home from home, just fabulous, we all enjoyed the week we had, and hope to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2015
Hi Lorraine. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Violet. We look forward to welcoming you back. Remember there is a 10% discount for returning guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray-Ecoss...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet & peaceful”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Nice property, good facilities, pretty village and good base for visiting the Borders. Loved the log burner and garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed kitchen, great garden
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime soon. We are happy to offer returning guests a 10% discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doctore
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife had stayed at Violet Cottage with friends last year and liked it so much that we booked for her birthday gathering with friends and family. The cottage has 2 good sized bedrooms and 1 smaller bedroom, an excellent lounge and well stocked kitchen. For 6 people the only issue is that there is only 1 bathroom/toilet. The garden is large, mainly grass but with adequate seating and well maintained.The cottage has been modernised but its character has been maintained, for example with tiled hall flooring and wooden doors. For dog owners a plus point is that one dog is allowed. The location is well located in the village next to the green and a short walk from the local pub/restaurant and village shop. We would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Central location in village next to green.
Liked least: Single bathroom/toilet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime soon. We are happy to offer returning guests a 10% discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caconvery
1 review
“A beautiful luxurious cottage with fantastic amenities- we will be back!”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I stayed with a group of 4 friends stayed in Violet Cottage and we had a wonderful time. It had lovely original features, a log fire, plenty of character but also all the modern utilities you could need. The rooms were spacious yet felt cosy, a proper country getaway. Ancrum was a perhaps a little too quiet for our taste but nonetheless was a perfect base to explore the other borders towns nearby. A car is necessary for this location. Overall a great place to stay- we will be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime soon. We are happy to offer returning guests a 10% discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cak74
1 review
“Amazing escape”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Violet cottage is truly amazing. We can't fault it. This is the second time we have stayed in a year. The cottage is in a beautiful sleepy village setting and boasts a beautiful garden and beautiful views. The cottage supplies everything you may need. even beautiful fresh flowers for our arrival.The cottage is immaculate bed linen top notch and an amazing log burning stove. This is a real comfortable home from home place to stay. My children and my dog just love it . We will definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Violet Cottage. We hope to see you again sometime. Thank you for such a positive review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing