We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
22
31
24
20
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
31
24
20
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles refrigerator and microwave a great place to stay smoking room room was clean gas station convenient location would stay here again free breakfast starbucks desk cereal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The hospitality, helpfulness, and friendliness of the ladies who run this motel are beyond any compliments. I was on a long motorcycle trip around California, and when I got stuck in Bakersfield due to some breakdown in the electric systemb of my vehicle, the motel manager did everything she was able to do to make me feel comfortable during this unexpected forced delay. Besides good attitude, you'll find there clean (seriosly CLEAN) rooms, nice wooden floors instead of stinky carpets, good pillows, free WiFi with decent speed, a microwave oven, a fridge, and even free breakfast. Don't expect too much from breakfast experience, just a few basic things like cereal, waffles, coffee and juice; but for a final receipt $54 that's a good deal. Also, there're plenty of eateries in walking distance, e.g. fabulous place called Hodel's Country Diner, Starbucks, Taco Bells, etc. Two gas stations in the area as well. And, despite of busy neighborhood, it's quiet enough to get some good sleep. And, repeating myself, the good, humane way they treated me touched my heart.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlenaS159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Alena, We appreciate you staying with us recently! We were happy to welcome you to our hotel, and we are pleased that we were able to assist you so well when you experienced such trouble with your vehicle. Customer service is a key focus of ours, so it's good to hear that we were able to help in your hour of need! We are very pleased that our property suited your needs so well, and that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay the next time you're passing through town! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Yay... I can have the dog and a smoking room. I have stayed here several times and always a good experience. The rooms are good sized with fridge and microwave. The water is real hot. The grounds are well kept. The office staff is outstanding. Sarge always has a good word for you and for your dogs. Had a situation come up and had to leave early they were very good about getting my extra night back to me. I will most definitely be returning.

Hey Sarge if you get this.... Everything turned out great. Got Chevy out of the dog house and daughter out of hospital. They are back on the road. See you all in May.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Hi Christine, It was our pleasure to host you and your pooch recently! Thank you for your review, and in particular for mentioning our staff, who always try to take the very best possible care of all of our guests, including those of the canine variety! We are happy that everything was to your liking, and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here 2 months ago and there were bed bugs and roaches in my room. Unfortunately I didn't see the bed bugs until the next morning when the sun brightened the room and we were about to check out. The bed bugs that I did see were dead so I was hoping there weren't any live ones. I left a note for the maid to inform her of the bug problem. However, ever since then, I have been getting bites every week. The bed bug had got into my stuff and followed me home. I finally found the bed bug and I hope that's the last of it.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi Lana, We are extremely alarmed by your statement regarding bedbugs, we take these situations very seriously indeed. We have a pest control provider who we work with, who inspects rooms on a regular basis for any evidence of bed bugs. We have acted immediately upon your notifying us of this issue, and we appreciate you alerting us to it. Thank you for your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

my husband and I have been staying here for the last 3 years on our trips to Bakersfield: never had a bad experience ..the beds are always comfortable staff friendly: The maids always do a very good job cleaning and making sure we have everything we need . will stay here again

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Hi Brenda, We are always happy to welcome you and your husband to our hotel, and we are happy that you always have a great stay. We hope to remain worthy of your loyalty, and to welcome you back many more times in the future. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We booked here from reviews and the fact that they had truck parking! Upon arrival...we saw police, firefighters standing in the door of a room. One rooms window was busted out the night before! Nothing but riff raff running around. Our room was not ready...thank god! Peeking in windows and doors, the beds were so disgusting stains all over! I wouldn't want my dog sleeping on it! Needless to say we left the whole area and went a little south to a different place. Honestly a place to pass and let the locals have it!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank michelleafay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Hi Michelle, We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not appeal to you. The incident that you describe was extremely unusual, and it is most unfortunate that you witnessed it. We are sorry that you did not feel that our hotel was suitable for your needs, and that you did not stay. We are sure that had you stayed, you would have enjoyed your room, as the bast majority of our guests do. Best wishes, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews