We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$65
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Klawer Hotel(Klawer)
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Enjo Nature Farm(Cederberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Porterville Hotel(Porterville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
69
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaladthe rivergreat companycave paintingsbird watchinggenerous hostsget awaymealsworldwalksdogsstarsgridverandapeacesoapheaven
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

One of our families best secrets on earth. We have stayed many times. Peace and quiet. Incredible river and walks. We love driving to out of town places so for us the drive is part of any worthwhile trip. And the hosts are more special than you could wish for. Love the place.
And you stay in magical secluded cottages all to yourself.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank craiglandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

What an escape, our 3rd visit in the last 10 years and certainly worth returning.

No Internet / mobile phone / tv, bliss....... We booked out all 5 cottages for 2 nights during May and was treated to excellent service, meals and drinks.

Strawbale cottages that is nice and cool inside if it is steaming outside and vice versa when it is cool outside. Open plan with a bedroom and seating area, chairs or hammock on the verandah. Bathroom at the back, shower with gas heater for your morning warm water fix.

You can't get better than to wake up in the morning with the birds singing outside waking you up or go to bed with the Milkyway winking to you as there are little or no light polution up here.

All the meals prepared by our host - Bill & Jeanine

Breakfast around the communal table with a view over the Doring River. Good French Press coffee, organic herbs out of the garden and good food on the table, never got up hungry afterwards.

Lunch was a nice wrap, quiche with a green salad. Nice and light and not too much on the stomach.

Dinner, who can beat a good South African Braai!! From the meat through to the Veggies on the Braai (BBQ for those that are not used to the Afrikaans Lingo). Some of the best seasoning and tender meat available.

Morning walk over the river and up the mountain to go and see some of the best preserved Bushmen rock paintings with all the information available by our hosts. Snippets about the plants and the natural value they have and all the animals around.

Room Tip: Just go - all cottages are excellent!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oiltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

A bit of a haul to get there - especially as we could not hire a 4x4 - but well worth the drive. A magical couple of days. Even though not a great user of the internet/phone it was good to be out of contact with the world. Our cottage was very comfortable with a veranda. Meals are all together which was fine by us but might not suit everyone. At the time of year we visited the river was low - but still provided for swimming areas - so made getting across to look at the cave paintings easy. Jeanine and Bill were great hosts. We are only sorry that we live so far away thus making a quick return unlikely.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinhbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Stayed for our fourth consecutive year. A priority for us when we plan our holiday to SA. Have stayed in Sonkala cottage each time. Quiet with glorious views. Very warm this year and as river low we encountered mosquitoes for the first time. Ate out under the stars and enjoyed excellent food once again, beautifully prepared by Jeannine (Bill being away for the weekend).
We encounter dogs at most of the small hotels/accommodation in SA but the three residents here are the only ones we would ever feel like taking homes with us !!!!!. They provide ongoing entertainment, fun and security(as if that was needed here) without being at all intrusive.
Roll on next year.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2015

Jeanine and Bill are the best adverts we have ever encountered for going "Off Grid" .
They provide a special experience in an enchanting place and are very good hosts.Swim in the river(the dogs will often lead you there!),absolute peace and quiet,wonderful home cooked meals 3 times a day.Evening meals around the big table with fascinating conversations were a real treat.Bill has a view on everything.
You must go-we stayed 2 nights but wished we had stayed for 3.
The 50 km of dirt road to get there is straight forward , if you follow their directions, and gets you into the right frame of mind for your days in this special location.

Room Tip: Any of the 5 cottages will offer real peace and quiet .
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews