We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better!”
Review of Oudrif

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cederberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oudrif
Reviewed 11 August 2015

This is a special place run by special people. Far off the beaten track and yet not too far! The cabins are comfortable and kept spotless, the food is outstanding. In 3 nights there we had 21 different delicious side dishes to accompany our braai. Our hosts Bill and Jeanine were wonderful.
It really can't bet better than this

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

One of our families best secrets on earth. We have stayed many times. Peace and quiet. Incredible river and walks. We love driving to out of town places so for us the drive is part of any worthwhile trip. And the hosts are more special than you could wish for. Love the place.
And you stay in magical secluded cottages all to yourself.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank craiglandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

What an escape, our 3rd visit in the last 10 years and certainly worth returning.

No Internet / mobile phone / tv, bliss....... We booked out all 5 cottages for 2 nights during May and was treated to excellent service, meals and drinks.

Strawbale cottages that is nice and cool inside if it is steaming outside and vice versa when it is cool outside. Open plan with a bedroom and seating area, chairs or hammock on the verandah. Bathroom at the back, shower with gas heater for your morning warm water fix.

You can't get better than to wake up in the morning with the birds singing outside waking you up or go to bed with the Milkyway winking to you as there are little or no light polution up here.

All the meals prepared by our host - Bill & Jeanine

Breakfast around the communal table with a view over the Doring River. Good French Press coffee, organic herbs out of the garden and good food on the table, never got up hungry afterwards.

Lunch was a nice wrap, quiche with a green salad. Nice and light and not too much on the stomach.

Dinner, who can beat a good South African Braai!! From the meat through to the Veggies on the Braai (BBQ for those that are not used to the Afrikaans Lingo). Some of the best seasoning and tender meat available.

Morning walk over the river and up the mountain to go and see some of the best preserved Bushmen rock paintings with all the information available by our hosts. Snippets about the plants and the natural value they have and all the animals around.

Room Tip: Just go - all cottages are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oiltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

A bit of a haul to get there - especially as we could not hire a 4x4 - but well worth the drive. A magical couple of days. Even though not a great user of the internet/phone it was good to be out of contact with the world. Our cottage was very comfortable with a veranda. Meals are all together which was fine by us but might not suit everyone. At the time of year we visited the river was low - but still provided for swimming areas - so made getting across to look at the cave paintings easy. Jeanine and Bill were great hosts. We are only sorry that we live so far away thus making a quick return unlikely.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robinhbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Stayed for our fourth consecutive year. A priority for us when we plan our holiday to SA. Have stayed in Sonkala cottage each time. Quiet with glorious views. Very warm this year and as river low we encountered mosquitoes for the first time. Ate out under the stars and enjoyed excellent food once again, beautifully prepared by Jeannine (Bill being away for the weekend).
We encounter dogs at most of the small hotels/accommodation in SA but the three residents here are the only ones we would ever feel like taking homes with us !!!!!. They provide ongoing entertainment, fun and security(as if that was needed here) without being at all intrusive.
Roll on next year.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cederberg
47.8 km away
Enjo Nature Farm
Enjo Nature Farm
#1 of 4 in Cederberg
67 reviews
34 km away
Bushmans Kloof Wilderness Reserve & Wellness Retreat
35.4 km away
de Pakhuys
de Pakhuys
#2 of 22 in Clanwilliam
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
285.7 km away
Flamingo Lake Self Catering
Show Prices

Been to Oudrif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oudrif

Address: Doring River, Northern Foothills of the Cederberg | near Clanwilliam, Cederberg 8135, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cederberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Cederberg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oudrif is a fully catered lodge situated on the banks of the Doring River at the Northern foothills of the Cederberg. Providing stylish accommodation in 5 individual straw bale cottages, for people who relish peace and quiet. Winter rains bring the largest outdoor flower display in the world; the pristine river provides opportunity for paddling, swimming, fishing and sun bathing on secluded beaches. The area whispers of our past from Stone Age tools to San rock art. Our rates include - all meals, beer, wine and soft drinks served in the central boma; daily guided walks and excursions. You just need to jump in your car with your clothes and toothbrush, we provide everything else. Our eco-friendly lodge accommodates a maximum of ten guests. We are solar powered so you can turn off all your devices and enjoy true peace and quiet. The straw bale cottages are environmentally friendly, providing excellent insulation in both hot and cold weather thus reducing the need for conventional power; there are fans for summer and gas heaters in winter ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing