We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Enjo Nature Farm(Cederberg)
US$34
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$88
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lamberts Bay Hotel(Lamberts Bay)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ndedema Lodge(Clanwilliam)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint du Barrys(Clanwilliam)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
69
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstraw baledoring riversaladhomemade breadgreat companycave paintingsfantastic hostsbird watchinghot waterfantastic experiencemorning walkfriendly dogssouth africaoff the beaten trackget awaymealsvegetarian
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Perfect riverside, mountain escape. No signal - so no emails or social media notifications. This is pure bliss for any city dweller looking to get away & recharge. Bill & Jeanine are superb and generous hosts. It's completely catered, so you don't even have to think about food. And Jeanine's cooking is some of the best food I've ever eaten! Take a notebook for cooking tips. Took the dogs for a run, too. They're great company! Wish I could've stayed for a week.

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheFieldTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudrif D, Manager at Oudrif, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your review, we look forward to accommodating you on your next retreat in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed for 3 nights and regretted, that we had not booked a longer stay at Oudrif.
NO cellphone reception, NO internet, NO TV!
Therefor lots of unspoilt nature, peace and tranquility.
Wonderfully decorated, clean and comfortable little houses with all amenities one needs (books, magazines, hot water, homemade soaps and body lotion), beautyful views into the valley. Ample of distance to your neighbours.
Excellent (mostly vegetarian) food, with lots of choices, best homemade bread I have ever tasted.
Guests join each other for their meals at one large table (can be a PRO or CON, depending ...)
Superb hosts Jeanine and Bill, who take you on a morning walk to rock art paintings.
A small river, where you can take a swim or explore it by boat.
A couple of very friendly dogs accompany you on your excursions.
The only thing we missed a little bit, there could have been a few more deckchairs or hammocks on the lawn by the river. (only 2 hammocks there, which are soon occupied) but this is only a minor point...
Overall a fantastic experience and excellent value. We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susa195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a peaceful escape from the ratrace and the madness that comes with modern life, Oudrif is the perfect place. No cell phones to interrupt the songs of wild birds. No tv to dull the brightness of the stars. Your hosts Jeanine and Bill will make you feel right at home. The food is excellent, plentiful and freshly prepared. Even though it is mostly vegetarian, meat lovers are not forgotten and well catered for. Can recommend Oudrif for a perfect getaway.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raoulduplooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

No internet, cell phone or TV - just peace and relaxation in a delightful setting near the river with delicious food, superb hosts and very comfortable accommodation. What more do you need? - oh yes, a couple of dogs to accompany you on your walks to the rock art or in your boat - wonderful!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank CapeTownLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2016

My husband booked us into Oudrif last week for a stunning 4 night stay. It is a remote ecolodge with well appointed strawbale cottages and excellently clean amenities. My bug fetish was not realised here! There was also no internet or cellphone reception which was a wonderful change for us and, we realised afterwards, quite needed. Bill and Jeanine are excellent hosts and cooks (both extremely knowledgeable about a wide range of their passions), and over our 5 days we met some interesting people passing through the lodge. We loved the walks with Bill and the dogs in the mornings, followed by a chilled day either sleeping, reading books or swimming in the river with a row in a canoe thrown in too. Very little to do which was absolutely perfect for us. And the food was marvellous - good home-cooked delicious vegetarian food, with meat served with the evening meal.
I could not ask for a more ideal "get-away-from-it-all" holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews