We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, close to everything”
Review of Snow Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Snow Lake Lodge
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Reviewed 31 March 2017

check in is not until 430pm which is later than other places but the wait was worth it. they provided apple cider and Hershey's kisses in the shape of a heart on the kitchen counter and on the bed. I thought that was nice of them, it made our anniversary getaway a little extra special. the kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils, plates ....etc. our room had two fire places one in the living room and one in the bedroom, they also provide the long matches to turn it on. the bathtub in our room was clogged and they never came to fix it but it was ok because we had two full bathrooms in our room. Another great thing they provide their guest is a free continental breakfast on Saturdays. all in all we had a great stay here and will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: no view but good location, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sugarviri04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, General Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your comments about your recent stay. Happy Anniversary! We are happy to learn that we made your special occasion memorable. We apologize for the inconvenience of the bathtub being clogged. We are happy to hear that you overlooked it and had a great time anyways.

Snow Lake Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed at this hotel only for one night, but we were very impressed by the accommodations. The room was very large with two working gas fireplaces. Two large bathrooms, and it featured a good size kitchen. The entire place was very clean and well kept.

The only caveat I have about the hotel is that it does not have an elevator, which means two flights of stairs if you are in the 3rd floor.

Nevertheless, I recommend this hotel to friends and family. We are definitely staying here on our next visit to Big Bear.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanW-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, General Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that guests enjoy our accommodations and had a great time. We apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced. We couldn’t agree with you more that our location is nice. It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service and guest satisfaction. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to your next visit.

Snow Lake Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

My family stayed here over New Year's weekend in a one bedroom suite, via timeshare exchange. Southern California hadn't seen that much snow in 5 to 10 years, so the snow sports was fantastic. Big Bear is *quaint* and with a very provincial or *country* feeling. Mobile data/internet is well known to the locals as being very poor in all parts of Big Bear. Do not expect the location amenities to be on par with Vail or Tahoe.

The good:
**The suite comes with a serviceable full kitchen, living room with a Queen size pull out couch, two bathrooms, and master bedroom. There was a gas fireplace. There was no separate dining table, only a breakfast bar with tall stools.
**The master bedroom and the living room area were separated with doors, but connected at the front door with a very small entrance area about the size of a closet. In this way, the cold air could be shut out and the warm air kept in.
**The bathrooms had that special heater/fan, which made the bathrooms the coziest place in the apartment.

**Location-- easy drive to Bear or Snow Summit mountains. Also very close to Bear Village. It is *not* walking distance to either place. I thought that there would be public transportation (city bus) or hotel shuttle to mountains or village, but alas no.

The bad:
**The WiFi in the hotel was terrible. The best reception was outside of the building or right up against the window which for us faced the street.
**We never figured out how to use the gas fireplace. No instructions in the apartment. It was not intuitive at all, and different from other gas fireplaces we've encountered before.
**The room was consistently cold and there was no way to increase the heat. It could be that the weather was colder than normal, but it made us all fairly grumpy to be chilled even indoors.
** No elevators!
** Parking was limited. Only half of the spaces were covered. Only one car per room. All that snow had to be plowed away, and that meant no street parking! I had to park about 5 miles from the hotel in the lot for a National Park picnic area. I paid $5 per day for the special permit.

Bottom line: The location of the hotel and its affordability (time share exchange), means that I will likely book here again. Next time, I'll ask for a room with good wifi!


*********************************************************
Tips: When you book, ask for a room with good WiFi. It turns out that some rooms get better reception than others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KeenieBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, General Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

We appreciate your comments about your stay with Snow Lake Lodge. We are always happy to learn that our guests enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. We could not agree more with your comment about our resort being an unbeatable deal. Thank you for informing us about the minor things that you thought needed enhancements. This will greatly assist us in making continuous improvements to our resort. We look forward to your return soon.

Snow Lake Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Stayed here with the family (adult children). They had a blast at the ski slopes. Very close to The Village shopping and dining. Office staff was very accommodating and attentive. Beds are very comfortable. Each room had its own gas fireplace which was really nice. There is no view of the lake. Could not hear the cars on the road like others have indicated. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevators; 3 stories high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SturgisTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, General Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments of your stay with Snow Lake Lodge. The ski season is such a beautiful and enjoyable time of year and we are so happy to learn that you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. It iis our goal to ensure that you have the utmost pleasurable and memorable time. We anxiously await your return.

Snow Lake Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

The lodge was roomy with nice kitchen area; however, there were no key or matches for the two fireplaces. You can hear the cars from Big Bear Blvd and the sheets felt as if too much bleach was used on them. I spent $161.00 for Saturday night and honestly do not fill it was worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jagreenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIVacations, General Manager at Snow Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us your feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Your input is welcomed as it provides us an opportunity to hear our guests' concerns and make improvements to enhance their overall satisfaction.

Snow Lake Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Bear Region hotels
2.2 km away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
426 reviews
2.3 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Vintage Lakeside Inn
Vintage Lakeside Inn
#11 of 19 in Big Bear Region
73 reviews
1.8 km away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 km away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Lake Lodge

Address: 41579 Big Bear Boulevard, CA 92315
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Big Bear Region
Price Range: RM462 - RM1,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snow Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow Lake Hotel Big Bear Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing