We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent retreat”
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was our second stay at Bodega Bay Lodge. The location is ideal--a short walk to the beach, and a short drive to some of the best crab sandwiches anywhere. We love the setting, which is peaceful and scenic. What we like most about he lodge is the staff. They are fantastic and go out of their way to make certain your stay is the best. From the front desk personnel to the wait staff to the groundskeepers, all are super helpful and friendly. We had a Pacific Coast Upper and had a nice view of the Pacific from our balcony. The pool, hot tub and spa are great and very relaxing after a day of exploring. We will definitely return again and again. A super coastal get away and only 3 hours from home. And the fog horn? We loved it and waves crashing on the beach.

Room Tip: Get an upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan D, General Manager at Bodega Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

With a name like DeepSee you must have found your paradise!

Thanks for spending some time with us and for sharing all the great tips awaiting anyone's adventure on the Sonoma Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Level setting - The temperature dropped to the 50's when we stayed. The view is very nice. I like the fireplace in our room. I like the fire pit area but the smell of gas was pungent. We arrived at 3:30 PM and there was nothing "socially" or drink-wise to do. The bar doesn't open until 5. There aren't drinks served at the outdoor spa (which has a great view). Our room was clean. Staff were generally friendly. The bar staff were attentive, friendly and worked well together. Overall, the lack of things to do socially combined with no drinks available easily and the lack of transportation/shuttle to the lower parts of the bay equal an ok experience. I've been to better resorts. The grounds are immaculately kept. The resort is pretty small, so walking it can happen in a few minutes. My impression - once you saw everything there was to do, I was like "ho hum". There was a loud regular beeping from the bay or hotel ... something but didn't know where it came from, was a maritime notification system, or what but it definitely impacted both my wife and I when attempting to sleep. I loved the beds though...very comfy! Shame of it - I want to give this 5 stars but so many little things added up to sour my attitude on this place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GEARLEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan D, General Manager at Bodega Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hello and thanks for the time shared and reviewed,

We agree that it is all about the details and we know in this world it is truly left to the perception of the individual to define their experience. While we know we are not for everyone, we work hard to set that level playing field for as many to enjoy as possible. The ho hum moment for many is the reason they come and is when the peace of the place finally settles in. Peace that for many does not come often enough in the hectic lives we lead.

Hope to welcome you back if we are blessed,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had not stayed at the Lodge in over 10 years and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean and we had an awesome view of the bay and ocean. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and both meals were excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 725suzannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan D, General Manager at Bodega Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

10 Years!?

After 42 years of continuous family ownership and improvement we have never been better or more ready to welcome you back. Thank you for rediscovering us and hope it is not another 10 years before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Excellent stay, wish it could have been longer. The sunset off the deck was spectacular. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant experience. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dianesS734OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We love staying here! We were with you twice for 3 nights this week and loved our rooms, food, and services! Thank you! We will be back again. Try to come once a year! Our dinners and breakfasts were outstanding at Drakes and my daughter loved the pool and hot tub!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank moosemenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan D, General Manager at Bodega Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Nancy,

Thank you for spending enough time to really get acquainted, 2x! Family time is so important and glad that this was a special visit for you all,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.6 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
539 reviews
32.1 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 km away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
381 reviews
30.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
23.2 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range: RM 830 - RM 1,722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Unexpected Getaway in a Soul-Stirring Hideaway With its rugged shoreline and rolling countryside, the Sonoma Coast has its roots firmly planted in the land. The Bodega Bay Lodge—a Bodega Bay hotel poised atop a tranquil bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean—reflects the wild beauty of this romantic region and offers an array of incredible things to do in Sonoma. Watch the fishermen ply the bay for the day’s catch. Spot migrating whales in the waves. Scout for rare birds in a location prized by the Audubon Society and Alfred Hitchcock. Stroll two miles of soft sands, hand-in-hand. Signature Service Whether it’s our popular wine hour, in-room fireplaces or complimentary Taylor Maid Farms organic coffee and organic Numi teas in the lobby, our signature service offerings are noteworthy extras that make every moment something to savor. Our staff is available 24 hours, ensuring you have a memorable and inspiring stay. Complimentary services include: •Luxurious, oversized guestrooms and suites •Concierge services •Complimentary morning newspaper in the lobby •Ocean-view pool, whirlpool spa and sauna •Bay-view fitness room •Wireless internet access •Free parking •Taylor Maid Farms Coffee served in the lobby throughout the morning •24-hour business desk with PC and printer access •Complimentary wine and cheese reception (daily from 5-6pm) •Safety deposit boxes •Non-smoking hotel •Views of Bodega Bay throughout the property Services available for an additional charge: •Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen •Spa treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing