We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room renovation!”
Review of Sideways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sideways Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Very pleased w/new room renovation. All the extras, large room & bathroom. Coffee maker, hair dryer, iron,etc. Beds were like heaven. The decor is very stylish. A free continental breakfast. Returning in the summer, can't wait to see the completed exterior renovation. Inn is close to everything.

Room Tip: If you're able to ask for new renovated rooms. do so. We stayed in room 227
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cambria40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Thank you for sharing these comments. We look forward to sharing our newly renovated amenities and accommodations with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Sideways Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

we usually get a hotel on the cheap side, just because money is always an issue. we chose this one, not realizing they were under construction renovating. This did not hinder our stay one bit, in fact we found it enhanced, because the Mgmt went above and beyond to give us the nicest room OF OUR CHOICE- even though we arrived at 11 am- check in is at 3pm! They totally accommodated us, and happily, too. We had a queen sized bed (so comfortable, with a beautiful handmade Blue and White traditional Dutch quilt) and a large sitting area with modern furniture (sofa, overstuffed chair and coffee table) and unique lighting. the bath had a walk in shower and an amazing sliding 'barn' door which was one of the attractions of the room. The sliding glass door went out to the patio and on to the HEATED pool and spa.. Did i mention that this was the day after Christmas?? it was heated!! ok... we were very please with the stay but the breakfast was really a special touch, too. A free 'Continental' breakfast with coffee, juice, hot chocolate, rolls, bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt- all very well-stocked, clean and welcoming. We were so pleased with our visit, we are planning to stay there every time we meet our Ventura family (we are in the SF Bay Area)- it's a few short miles to Solvang, and another hour and 15 mins to Ventura- so it's a perfect meeting place as far as we're concerned. Trust me, when money IS the object, you stay in a lot of dives when you travel and you just suck it up; most of the places are nothing to brag about. THIS PLACE IS! Stay at the Sideways Inn if you are going to be visiting Solvang or other surrounding areas. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: lower level, corner, facing parking lot on one side, pool on the other.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cbarr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I am between 3 and 4 stars with this one. As has been noted previously, the rooms are in the process of a serious upgrade and we were given one of these. Given the price point, the room quality is way above the norm for this kind of motel. That said, the outside and general vibe of the place is more typical of what I would give 3 stars. Let me be clear though that we liked this place.

On a trip through the Santa Ynez and surroundings, it was a fun idea to stay at the motel that now bears the name of the famous film, where Jack and Miles stayed. One can recreate the walk (we drive) to the Hitching Post, although the traffic is quite dense these days and there are no sidewalks. Of course it is super handy to all the local AVAs and Buellton also now sports Firestone Walker's superb wild beer Barrelworks, which is walking distance from Sideways.

The room is outsize spacious with thoughtful decor. The bathroom was a highlight with a stylish tiled floor and other upper scale amenities. No tub and just a walking shower with a glass pane rather than plastic curtain. The water pressure could have been a tad higher.

There is a little patio that overlooks the pool and hot tub that we did not take the opportunity to use.

Despite the proximity to the main highway 246 and 101, our night was very quiet and there were no neighboring guests to disturb our slumbers. We would definitely come again.

Room Tip: In the back away from the main road is probably best
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aylwin_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide excellent service here at Sideways Inn. We will use this feedback to help fine tune our services and amenities to help improve upon the overall guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

For New year's eve, the only thing I wanted to do was go to the Chumash casino. After checking all hotels around the area, this was the only one that was available, nearby, and at a reasonable rate. My boyfriend and I booked a room for about $155/night. It had one King bed, staff in the front office were extremely nice and helpful. The room also had a kitchenette which was surprising. It actually had a full-on stove and refrigerator. The room was easy to find and I felt safe. Apparently they also had a bar, live music, etc. But we didn't have the opportunity to utilize those. It did seem a little outdated and the room was freezing cold when we got inside but, overall, the experience was fine :) We also accidently overslept and the staff at the front were willing to accomodate and said it was fine. Thanks for a worry free New Year's Eve!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for your review. As you may have noticed, we are in the middle of renovation projects that include both room and amenities upgrades. We hope that you will visit us again to experience these exciting changes and our on-site bar & grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The Sideways Inn is being transformed into a top hotel. The new rooms are well equipped with new facilities throughout and nice finishings. Our room had a new fridge TV and microwave along with air con and heating. The pool area is being re landscaped, the sports bar is very good and having access to the burger bar in the outstanding trailer park next door is a plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our current improvement projects. We look forward to providing a more valuable experience for our guests as we continue to upgrade our accommodations and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.2 km away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 8 in Buellton
395 reviews
4.8 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
804 reviews
4.5 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
918 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buellton/Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sideways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sideways Inn

Address: 114 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9724 (Formerly Days Inn Solvang / Buellton)
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range: RM352 - RM922 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sideways Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Sideways Inn where you can unwind in a freshly updated rustic room with the Danish charm of nearby Solvang. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of amenities at our attached sister property Flying Flags. Guests can enjoy the resort swimming pool, playground, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Sideways Inn also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang, and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. The inn itself is an attraction as it was one of the shooting locations for the film Sideways. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Sideways Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sideways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton Hotel Buellton
Days Inn Buellton
Buellton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing