We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn(Buellton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$92
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley(Buellton)(Great Value!)
US$71
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground(Buellton)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
54
33
6
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
33
6
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarn doorhistorical photospet chargecoffee makerroad tripyogurtwalk in showerblackout curtainsadirondack chairshotel motelcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsbeds were comfortablereception areathe hotel staffnice roomheated pool and jacuzzi
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

we usually get a hotel on the cheap side, just because money is always an issue. we chose this one, not realizing they were under construction renovating. This did not hinder our stay one bit, in fact we found it enhanced, because the Mgmt went above and beyond to give us the nicest room OF OUR CHOICE- even though we arrived at 11 am- check in is at 3pm! They totally accommodated us, and happily, too. We had a queen sized bed (so comfortable, with a beautiful handmade Blue and White traditional Dutch quilt) and a large sitting area with modern furniture (sofa, overstuffed chair and coffee table) and unique lighting. the bath had a walk in shower and an amazing sliding 'barn' door which was one of the attractions of the room. The sliding glass door went out to the patio and on to the HEATED pool and spa.. Did i mention that this was the day after Christmas?? it was heated!! ok... we were very please with the stay but the breakfast was really a special touch, too. A free 'Continental' breakfast with coffee, juice, hot chocolate, rolls, bagels, cereal, fruit, yogurt- all very well-stocked, clean and welcoming. We were so pleased with our visit, we are planning to stay there every time we meet our Ventura family (we are in the SF Bay Area)- it's a few short miles to Solvang, and another hour and 15 mins to Ventura- so it's a perfect meeting place as far as we're concerned. Trust me, when money IS the object, you stay in a lot of dives when you travel and you just suck it up; most of the places are nothing to brag about. THIS PLACE IS! Stay at the Sideways Inn if you are going to be visiting Solvang or other surrounding areas. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: lower level, corner, facing parking lot on one side, pool on the other.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cbarr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I am between 3 and 4 stars with this one. As has been noted previously, the rooms are in the process of a serious upgrade and we were given one of these. Given the price point, the room quality is way above the norm for this kind of motel. That said, the outside and general vibe of the place is more typical of what I would give 3 stars. Let me be clear though that we liked this place.

On a trip through the Santa Ynez and surroundings, it was a fun idea to stay at the motel that now bears the name of the famous film, where Jack and Miles stayed. One can recreate the walk (we drive) to the Hitching Post, although the traffic is quite dense these days and there are no sidewalks. Of course it is super handy to all the local AVAs and Buellton also now sports Firestone Walker's superb wild beer Barrelworks, which is walking distance from Sideways.

The room is outsize spacious with thoughtful decor. The bathroom was a highlight with a stylish tiled floor and other upper scale amenities. No tub and just a walking shower with a glass pane rather than plastic curtain. The water pressure could have been a tad higher.

There is a little patio that overlooks the pool and hot tub that we did not take the opportunity to use.

Despite the proximity to the main highway 246 and 101, our night was very quiet and there were no neighboring guests to disturb our slumbers. We would definitely come again.

Room Tip: In the back away from the main road is probably best
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aylwin_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide excellent service here at Sideways Inn. We will use this feedback to help fine tune our services and amenities to help improve upon the overall guest experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

For New year's eve, the only thing I wanted to do was go to the Chumash casino. After checking all hotels around the area, this was the only one that was available, nearby, and at a reasonable rate. My boyfriend and I booked a room for about $155/night. It had one King bed, staff in the front office were extremely nice and helpful. The room also had a kitchenette which was surprising. It actually had a full-on stove and refrigerator. The room was easy to find and I felt safe. Apparently they also had a bar, live music, etc. But we didn't have the opportunity to utilize those. It did seem a little outdated and the room was freezing cold when we got inside but, overall, the experience was fine :) We also accidently overslept and the staff at the front were willing to accomodate and said it was fine. Thanks for a worry free New Year's Eve!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Abbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Thank you for your review. As you may have noticed, we are in the middle of renovation projects that include both room and amenities upgrades. We hope that you will visit us again to experience these exciting changes and our on-site bar & grill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Este hotel oferece suporte ao Camping ao lado, apresenta muito ruido nessa proximidade.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews