We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Sideways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sideways Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Good price for location, driveway is just off 101 keep your eyes open for entrance. Newly remodeled fresh airy rooms. Upstairs patio overlooking pool or downstairs poolside patio, nice pool with towels provided, continental breakfast.

Room Tip: pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We hope that you plan future visits with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Our family was evacuated from Lake Cachuma due to the Whittier fire. Hotels were booking up fast and we were able to get a 2 queen room on the first floor. We've stayed here many years ago and we're really pleased with the renovations that are taking place. Clean, updated, modern farmhouse vibe. Breakfast offered consisted of cereal, toast, yogurt, juice, and hard boiled eggs.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide a memorable experience here at Sideways Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Had the pleasure of staying at this motel. Had a room on the second floor over looking the pool. The newly remodeled rooms were nice. Beds comfortable and for a change, plenty of pillows. The lavender scented shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, hand soap and lotion were a nice touch. Just a charming room. I would also like to acknowledge grounds/pool keeper Tom and Marilyn in the office.

I was sitting outside by one of the fire pits on Sunday morning and Tom came up and offered to turn on the fire. This made for a nice touch on a slightly chilly morning. Marilyn was also a great help verifying a future reservation I have over at Flying Flags R.V. Park.

The bartenders Friday evening and Saturday evening were also both very helpful and nice. Jessica made it a point to provide me with the name/number of a reliable taxi driver in the area.

Really enjoyed my week end in Santa Barbara Wine Country and my experience at The Sideways Inn certainly contributed to a great week end.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rameytwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon at Sideways and Flying Flags!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

This location is still putting it all together, but it is coming along nicely. We have a business in Buellton and we come up and stay quite often and this was just right for our needs. Marilyn, Patrick, Tom and even the hotel staff and grounds people were so nice and helpful on every visit. However, last night we encountered a situation that made us check out of our room and drive the 3 hours to go back home rather than stay up all night anxiety ridden because Carlos at the front desk ruined what had been a wonderful evening. I do not need to go into detail on Trip Advisor but I will be more than happy to discuss this with management if they would like to contact us. Our family has been going to Flying Flags for 10 years and We love what the new owners are doing with both properties and wish them great success.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank ValentineRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

This place is perfect ! Rooms are clean and modern , beds feel like clouds . Kuerig in room With Dunkin donut pods . Refrigerator . Heated pool and Jacuzzi! . Rates are very reasonable. Close to Solvang , Pea soup Andersons and Ellen's Diner very close by. Firestone Brewery a short car ride away . Yes u will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide an exceptional guest experience here at Sideways Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.2 km away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 8 in Buellton
401 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
921 reviews
4.8 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buellton/Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sideways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sideways Inn

Address: 114 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9724 (Formerly Days Inn Solvang / Buellton)
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range: RM359 - RM960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sideways Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Sideways Inn where you can unwind in a freshly updated rustic room with the Danish charm of nearby Solvang. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of amenities at our attached sister property Flying Flags. Guests can enjoy the resort swimming pool, playground, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Sideways Inn also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang, and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. The inn itself is an attraction as it was one of the shooting locations for the film Sideways. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Sideways Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sideways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton Hotel Buellton
Days Inn Buellton
Buellton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing