We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Gem”
Review of Sideways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sideways Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
A TripAdvisor Member
114
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We just checked out of The Sideways Inn - what a find. The room was nicely done with photographs on the wall, vaulted ceiling (at least in our room on the second floor with a balcony), comfy bed and plenty of pillows. Air conditioning was cold and the bathroom was nice with glass walled shower which made it feel open.

Breakfast in the morning was great with ample options of waffles, yogurt, fruit, raised bread, juices, coffee and even hot chocolate.

Grounds were beautifully landscaped and lovely fire pits and Adirondack chairs to kick back and relax with a glass of wine.

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Sideways Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this newly renovated hotel. Beautiful design, comfortable room, great bed. Don't miss the outdoor jacuzzi after a long day, it will lift your spirits. Helpful staff, Internet worked smoothly.

Breakfast is included and served in an adjacent building. Whereas this is convenient (most motels lack room to serve breakfast), compared to the Scandinavian style and well-thought design in the rooms this may look a bit simple, but I'm sure they'll pretty it up.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Monman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

What a newly remodeled gem! Took a tired old motel and made it trendy, comfortable and fun. They are still working on renovations as not all the rooms are finished, but exterior fire pits were inviting to compare notes on the wines everyone tasted that day. Only downside is the continental breakfast. Breakfast Room needs to be worked on ( plastic banquette tables) food was not appetizing ( all carbs for the most part) and workers came in 1/2 hour before breakfast closing and ate while being very loud and having their walkie talkies at explosive volumes. The management needs to be aware they have a good thing starting with this motel, but fine tune a bit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank scvgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for the constructive feedback. As we continue to fine tune our services and amenities, we will use feedback such as yours to help guide our efforts. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here one night after we visited Solvang because we were too tired to drive back to LA. We stayed at a much more expensive place in Solvang the night before and we both felt Sideways Inn was just as nice and even better in some ways than the other hotel. Great service, great room (king balcony w/ pool view), great amenities and all at half the price of where we stayed in Solvang. This will be our go to place to stay ever time we visit this area now as long as the quality and price stay the same. Very very impressed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with us. We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. Hotel is remodeled. Loved the room set up, very simple. Swimming pool is nice. Evening has gas firepit. Right off the freeway. Continential breakfast. Will recommend to others. Used to be Days Inn. Office is in a windmill.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide a memorable guest experience here at Sideways Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.2 km away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#1 of 8 in Buellton
395 reviews
4.8 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
804 reviews
4.5 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
916 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buellton/Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sideways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sideways Inn

Address: 114 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9724 (Formerly Days Inn Solvang / Buellton)
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range: RM352 - RM909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sideways Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Sideways Inn where you can unwind in a freshly updated rustic room with the Danish charm of nearby Solvang. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of amenities at our attached sister property Flying Flags. Guests can enjoy the resort swimming pool, playground, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Sideways Inn also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang, and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. The inn itself is an attraction as it was one of the shooting locations for the film Sideways. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Sideways Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sideways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton Hotel Buellton
Days Inn Buellton
Buellton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing