We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”
Review of Sideways Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sideways Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I were very pleased while at the sideways inn. For the price that we paid we weren't expecting much but it was aesthetically pleasing. I appreciate the modern vibe. And also the laundry room they have to wash clothes. I Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Sideways Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

We normally stop off in Solvang but as we were eating at the Hitching Post we wanted to be able to walk there and enjoy a few glasses of wine so we chose to stay here as it was a 10 minute walk away.

Marilyn on the check in desk was super friendly and efficient, and even offered us an upgrade as we had to wait a few minutes for a room. We stayed in a room on the first floor set back from the buildings surrounding the pool, backing onto the RV park.

The room was clean and spacious with a comfy king bed, massive shower and a bath with jets which was great for soaking in. Rooms are currently being remodelled and ours was painted and furnished nicely with historical photos from the area which was a nice touch. Even though you're by the highway it's not noisy at all and we got a great nights sleep, exactly what you want from a motel!

Breakfast was very simple with a couple of cereals, toast, pastries, yoghurt and a waffle machine. If you want something bigger there are plenty of eating places nearby, I'd recommended Paula's pancake house in Solvang if you want something more substantial.

Solvang is a 5 minute drive away where there are more food options or you can walk to Albertson's, fast food places like Burger King, or even the Hitching Post if you don't mind walking by the traffic. Overall a clean and comfy motel stay which gave us something slightly different to the Danish offerings of Solvang.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank McNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for leaving this detailed feedback about your experience with us. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
114
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We just checked out of The Sideways Inn - what a find. The room was nicely done with photographs on the wall, vaulted ceiling (at least in our room on the second floor with a balcony), comfy bed and plenty of pillows. Air conditioning was cold and the bathroom was nice with glass walled shower which made it feel open.

Breakfast in the morning was great with ample options of waffles, yogurt, fruit, raised bread, juices, coffee and even hot chocolate.

Grounds were beautifully landscaped and lovely fire pits and Adirondack chairs to kick back and relax with a glass of wine.

Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at this newly renovated hotel. Beautiful design, comfortable room, great bed. Don't miss the outdoor jacuzzi after a long day, it will lift your spirits. Helpful staff, Internet worked smoothly.

Breakfast is included and served in an adjacent building. Whereas this is convenient (most motels lack room to serve breakfast), compared to the Scandinavian style and well-thought design in the rooms this may look a bit simple, but I'm sure they'll pretty it up.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Monman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

What a newly remodeled gem! Took a tired old motel and made it trendy, comfortable and fun. They are still working on renovations as not all the rooms are finished, but exterior fire pits were inviting to compare notes on the wines everyone tasted that day. Only downside is the continental breakfast. Breakfast Room needs to be worked on ( plastic banquette tables) food was not appetizing ( all carbs for the most part) and workers came in 1/2 hour before breakfast closing and ate while being very loud and having their walkie talkies at explosive volumes. The management needs to be aware they have a good thing starting with this motel, but fine tune a bit.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank scvgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at Sideways Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for the constructive feedback. As we continue to fine tune our services and amenities, we will use feedback such as yours to help guide our efforts. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.2 km away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#1 of 8 in Buellton
395 reviews
4.8 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
804 reviews
4.5 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
916 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buellton/Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sideways Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sideways Inn

Address: 114 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9724 (Formerly Days Inn Solvang / Buellton)
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range: RM356 - RM913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sideways Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Sideways Inn where you can unwind in a freshly updated rustic room with the Danish charm of nearby Solvang. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of amenities at our attached sister property Flying Flags. Guests can enjoy the resort swimming pool, playground, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Sideways Inn also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang, and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. The inn itself is an attraction as it was one of the shooting locations for the film Sideways. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Sideways Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sideways Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Solvang / Buellton Hotel Buellton
Days Inn Buellton
Buellton Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing