We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Mountain Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I spent 3 days at Borinquen and really loved it. The setting is picturesque and the staff are amazing. The resort was not busy at all and even if it were busy there are only 39 villas so it's a smaller, boutique hotel that caters to the guest. Hector at the pool bar was fantastic and on our last night arranged a special dinner on the balcony of the main restaurant for my family and the other family that traveled with us. Thank you Hector! Fernando took us on an eco hiking tour in the jungle, and he was great also. Oscar made us very comfortable on the horses and all the people working the zip line tour were very friendly as well. We really loved this place. It was very peaceful and laid back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a private villa. I believe there are some villas that are doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

We booked a travel guide at our hotel in Papagayo, and he took us to this resort to Zipline, Horseback Ride, and do the Volcanic Spa. It was a fun day. They took us on a longer trail than what we have heard is "Normal" and it was very fun. My husband is not one for horseback riding, but the animals were very well behaved and it was fun going through the jungle trails.

When we got to the top of the mountain we ziplined back down. It was a blast. 12 different ziplines, If you do these, the first long one (3rd one total) had an amazing view of a gorgeous waterfall. We were lucky enough to get this first line on our go-pro before it died. The guys who took you down the ziplines were hilarious, constantly joking and laughing on the way. We had about 12 people in our group, and everyone was sweet and having a great time.
After ziplining we went and had lunch at the open air restaurant. The food was delicious!
After ziplining we went down by the spa. There was some beautiful sights to be seen over by the hot springs. We did not partake in the mud baths, but many were and it seemed to be fun. lol
Overall we enjoyed our time here. We are talking about doing a family trip and will bring our family back if we are back in this area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This place is huge. Lots of individual rooms. Very quiet. Each with a porch to look out and enjoy the plants and wildlife and very nicely appointed. WiFi only available in the restaurant and reception area.

The wildlife was the best part for us. Howler Monkeys and Capuchin Monkeys. Toucons, Trogan, and much more. Getting a handle on the wildlife was a bit of a challenge. However, we stayed five nights and eventually determined that the area behind the swimming pool was the best location. We walked the grounds endlessly usually starting around 5:30 a.m. as the best wildlife is normally at sunrise. And best of all, we had everything to ourselves.

Food and the restaurant were quite good. Service was mostly quite good. Prices are not cheap, but the view is terrific so why complain.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Not worth the over price rates. Needs a lot of work. Pool was out of service, steam room under construction, walking paths closed, spa closed, and they didn’t tell us that everything wasn’t going to be open or working. Expected us to pay full price. Front desk useless and not helpful almost rude. Wouldn’t answer phone for room service, had to get in car and drive down to Office. There are a lot of other places, much cheaper and much better service and closer to amenities.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Missy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The property is 7000 acres of paradise, Heaven on earth. The staff are all very accommodating. It is a lot of hills and walking but they have golf carts to pick you up. The only recommendation we would have is, the option to have your own golf cart. A tropical storm came through 2 weeks before our visit and the phones were not working and we couldn't call for rides, so we had to walk everywhere which was very tiresome. Breakfast for the most part included and incredible. Lunch was good, with reasonable prices. The prices for the dinner did not match the quality however. Highly recommend going in October, which is low tourist season and everything is lush green. The tropical rainforest feel is in this part of the volcano is a once in a lifetime opportunity. Go, Go, Go!!!

Room Tip: Mountain view bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunk002017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
7.4 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,386 reviews
1.8 km away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
495 reviews
15.5 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,000 reviews
33.5 km away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
788 reviews
34.5 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Address: P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: RM469 - RM1,403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hot Springs Spa at Borinquen Mountain Resort is your exclusive vacation spot located in Guanacaste in the North Pacific Region of Costa Rica.The Hotel was designed and created in 1999 with the sole purpose of unlocking the exceptional beauty of the Rincon de la Vieja countryside and bringing it to the world. When you visit Hotel Borinquen you are literally stepping into a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Rincon De La Vieja
Resort Borinquen Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing