We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Guachipelin
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rinconcito Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$134
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vista Lodge & Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
US$102
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$34
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$78
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Curubande' Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,516)
Filter reviews
1,516 results
Traveller rating
513
544
286
114
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
544
286
114
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkriver tubingday adventurehorseback ridinghot springszip lininggrand tourcosta ricaadventure centerday passfree shuttledinner buffeta la carte menuwhite water tubingcanopy tourbuffet stylegreat adventure
Filter
Updating list...
657 - 662 of 1,516 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is a great find. Although it accommodates many travelers, it feels peaceful and intimate; you can easily find a quiet spot to sit and read or watch nature, and you can just as easily arrange to go zip lining or tubing. There is free transportation, leaving every two hours or so, to the park and thermal pools. But even if you don't go to the park, there's lots to do. Some beautiful falls are just a mile or so from the hotel.

The staff were just lovely, very attentive and gracious. We ate from the buffet and were delighted by the quality of the food. The fish is especially good.

All in all, a lovely place with something for everyone--and only thirty minutes from Liberia.

Room Tip: Travellers who have im
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crocus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear friend, thank you very much for your comments, we feel very happy that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed all our activities for all ages and likes, we hope to see you soon back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Hacienda Guachipelin is in a great location just minutes (by car) to the national park. The spa was a great experience. For 5000 colones($10) you get to do the 6 step volcanic mud painting. It was great fun, and made our skin very soft. Our room was clean, was very quiet. But I must say the beds where the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept in, in my life. They felt like they where from the 70's. This is the reason I'm giving this hotel 3 out of 5. I had a horrible sleep both nights I stayed here. The food was great, But I would recommend eating at the bar (which is below the main restaurant) they have the same menu as the main dinning room. But much more relaxed. The only waiter/bar tender was a great guy, very friendly had great recommendations from tasty drinks. Plus they allow the hotel dogs down there. Which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandDrifter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Hello friend, thanks for your post, we always take in consideration this kind of posts and they help us to get better everyday, we are so sorry you had a bad night, we change matresses constantly, not allowing them to go that bad. On the other hand we are glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, specially the mud baths, and the food at our bar with the dogs. :) Let us check what happenned with the bed, we hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

On this trip to Costa Rica we were surprised at a couple of hotels since the person at the reception desk really should be doing something else. Such was the case at the Hacienda Guachipelin. The receptionist rushed through a description of the place without really caring and then gave us incomplete or incorrect instructions to get to our room. In searching for them we ran into the manager or owner and he directed us correctly. In the process the receptionist showed up and of course was all charm and smiles. The CR people are really friendly and it should not be too difficult to find the right person for receptionist, except maybe for language abilities. We got over this unfortunate first impression and went on to have an interesting and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Don't think there is an option to choose a room; all seemed about the same.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you very much for writing your comment, we feel very sorry for the inconvenience with the reception, we will investigate what happened, at the hotel we have what we call : The Costumer Service Committee and we analyze this situations and take action, believe me, we will do something about it. We hope that besides this you had a great time with us, and that you will consider coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a standard room, which was clean, quiet, ample and comfortable. Slept great. Drove up to the National Park and hiked extensively, used the pool each day, birdwatched, went to the Rio Negro Hot Springs, went on the horseback ride/tubing adventure, hiked to the lookout and swam beneath one of the waterfalls (outstandingly refreshing). Great place to relax if you don't want to engage in an active visit. The grounds and setting are beautiful.The staff and guides were very helpful when you seek out their help. The dining room has great views and the food was good, although a bit pricey, as are the drinks. The included breakfast was extensive; the fruit and juices were a favorite, but there is plenty of other food to satisfy anyone. Being a working ranch made this feel like a very authentic Costa Rican experience and we would come back to explore more of the area and activities on a future CR visit.

Room Tip: Liked that the standard rooms are near the pool, dining, and reception building
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobL190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This hotal/adventure destination is so much more than you expect. The location is between the national park volcano and an incredible river gorge. The hotel and food are great, but the activities are incredible. The volcano's crater lake is unbelievable. The birds and animals abound in the national park. The geysers and mud pots are better than Yellowstone. And then there is tubing through the river gorge, riding through the hotel's cattle ranch (it is a working ranch), or zip lining above the gorge. This is not your usual zip line - it is not just speed and height, it also has rapelling and rock wall climbing, in addition to breathtaking views of the river gorge. If you are anywhere near San Jose, you have to spend a couple of days at this adventure hotel.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Thank you very much Mike, for your comments, we feel very happy you enjoyed our food, adventure activites and the volcano. We hope to see you soon back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews