We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Cove Inn(Capitola)(Great Value!)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitola Hotel(Capitola)(Great Value!)
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Notte - The Inn at East Cliff(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Seacliff Inn(Aptos)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$188/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
61
31
22
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
31
22
6
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of the oceanacross the bridgenightly rategreat restaurants and shopsliving arealove this placebeach hotelsmall balconyhigh seasonper nightwalking distancefree parkingunitmurphyproximityfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel has some old fashioned charm but unfortunately the ventilation system is also antiquated -- no air conditioning or even a fan, so our room was unbearably stuffy without opening the window, which is where we ran into trouble. LOUD music from a nearby club till 4am made sleep impossible. Lumpy pillows didn't help.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Laurel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

I am very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Regarding the loud music from the clubs we are about 100 yards or so from a row of restaurants and clubs. I'm sorry if the noise was a problem. I haven't heard of them staying open that late. By law they should have been closed for hours by 4 am so I'll look into this and file a complaint with the city if I find that any are staying open that late. I'll check our pillows to see if we need to get new ones.

Thank you for the feedback,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

A bit dated but comfortable and close to the beach and restaurants, which is why we stay there. Recommend the 2nd story rooms only, although 133 on the end of the 1st floor does have a partial view of the ocean (and everyone that walks by, 2' away from the window all day and evening). The kitchenettes are a nice feature for a meal or two since it's a 2 night min most weekends. The gas fireplace was also a nice touch (and the heat for the room), so not sure we ever tourned it off for Valentines weekend. We've stayed several times, and will again.

Room Tip: Recommend 2nd story (133, end 1st floor) has a partial ocean view (and everyone that walks by, 2' away from the window all day and evening)
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmokeyTheBare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Regards,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Don't expect luxury accomodations, but this historic hotel is very cool. We had two rooms for two nights, both with oceanviews and balconies. My daughter and her famiy stayed in a room also and it was a very convenient location for walking to the wharf with the small children for lunch. The rooms are comfortable and have small kitchens which is really convenient for those traveling with children. Our two night stay was very comfortable and we will definitely stay here again while in the Capitola area. It is an easy walk to other restaurants also and the beach and shops. :)

Room Tip: We had Rooms 26 & 28, both with oceanviews and balconies
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank syrahgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Out family of 5 stayed in this historical unit for 1 night. We love it. It is old and ocean front with everything in walking distaince. We can cook some easy breakfast and lunch.
The corner unit we have is the largest and it has water front view. There is a parking at back but it is quite busy. I can walk out and seat on the sand and enjoy the ocean. The wharf is in walking distance and we go there for our coffee.

Room Tip: always book early as it could be expensive in summer time
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll be joining us again soon.

Thanks again,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Fun place to stay right on the beach. The rooms were built in the 1920's but they are cute and cozy. Some rooms have views of the beach and ocean. Most have kitchens with dishes and cookware. Within walking distance (2 blocks) of the cute little town of Capitola. Great shops with a wide range of prices to fit all pocketbooks. Great places to eat too.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view, worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R6887JYlaurenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartfieldGroup, Manager at Capitola Venetian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm really glad you enjoyed your time in Capitola and hope you'll be staying with us again soon.
Thank You,
Duane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews