We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Like new with a few issues.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Like new with a few issues.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I hate to say anything bad about this hotel because it is a fine place to stay depending on where your room is and what time you take advantage of their evening happy hour. This new "Hyatt House" is very clean and new. Upgrading to a one bedroom is well worth the money for the extra space and full kitchen.

This is a family hotel, so there are families running around at all hours and unfortunately, we heard every step and conversation around us. An upper floor room might be a better way to go. We picked a 1st floor room right next to the pool for what we thought was our own convenience. Big mistake! We had to call the front desk at 9pm one night. I could not get my kids to sleep because a very LOUD family was in the pool playing marco polo.

When it came time to enjoy the evening happy hour, we walked into the eating area (only 30 min into service) to find grumpy hotel quests irritated that the hotel could not keep up with the demand of the appetizers and soup being offered. In the hotel's defence, it seemed as though some families thought of this happy hour as dinner hour. And whenever they came out with the very small pieces of pizza, one person at the front of the line, would pile up their plate and not leave any for the people waiting behind them. We eventually gave up on snacking before our fantastic dinner at the West Hotel next door. But not before we enjoyed a few of the complementary Sierra Nevada beers. They also had some nice wine. You can't beat that! The staff was very nice in the dinning room. I felt bad for how angry people were at them over not having enough food.
There was no problem with the free full breakfast the next day. There was plenty of food for everyone.
We will probably try another hotel in the area on our next trip to LEGO land.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    117
    38
    28
    22
See reviews for
276
53
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a 3 day visit to Legoland on the recommendation of friends. It was a great experience. The shuttle to Legoland (or anywhere we wanted) was great (we had a rental car but too expensive to park there!). Kids loved the room -- full size refrigerator for their snacks. Layout gave everybody enough space of their own (chairs, couch) as you could get in a hotel room. Breakfast buffet was fine, the afternoon happy hour was great for us parents (free beer & wine! ). Location was sort of isolated -- we could walk to the beach but not any shopping or downtown Carlsbad. Noise wasn't a problem. Staff was pleasant and helpful to direct us to local stuff. Pool and hot tub were fine. Liked Best: Legoland shuttle (our whole reason for being there); Liked Least: ravenous guests at the free food breakfast and happy hour....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbmnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Please note, this hotel is now called Hyatt House. Also, I'm a Hilton Diamond member so maybe I get better service than most at Hilton.

This hotel is so disappointing. The front desk clerk, Trisha, is extraordinarily unpleasant (I'm almost shocked,) the rooms are awkward, the floor is like cardboard (try, if you can, to get on the top floor...,) the hallways and check in are dark and uninviting, the elevator is really slow, and the gym room is a joke. I thought I would try Hyatt since Southwest isn't a partner with Hilton anymore. I think I will go back to Hilton properties - the people seem so much nicer, the rooms are better with white duvets, etc..., and at least the gym rooms have TVs.

I don't usually use the kitchen part but if you are self catering it does have a full fridge, stovetop, microwave, sink, etc...

Wish I didn't stay here this time - it's pretty much ruining a great week. At least now I know to never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Try to get the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chelseamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield1, General Manager at HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear valued guest:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to give us feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is truly important to us. We are extremely sorry for the way that you were treated at check in. Please know that we have addressed the issue with the front desk host. We pride ourselves on providing good customer service and it is unexceptable that you don't feel you were treated this way.

We are currently utilizing your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be.

Sincerely,

John Saunders
General Manager
Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmslatts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This was our first visit to the Hyatt Summerfield, but we will certainly return. We were visiting our son, daughter-in-law and new granddaughter for Chritmas and found our stay very pleasant. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with many items to choose from. It allowed us to have a leisurely breakfast before heading over to our son's house. Very convenient location also. My husband is a runner and liked the short block walk to the beach were he could get in a good run.

Close to the highway and commuter train, but we did not find it noisy. The train stops around 10pm so it did not bother our sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from the train tracks, and run the room fan when in the room to drown out any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmslatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our family spends New Years Eve at Legoland every year since our children were born. We have stayed at the Pacific Palisades, Holiday Inn Express and Homewood and West Inn in recent years. We made last minute hotel arrangements this year and decided to give the Hyatt Summerfield (emphasis on Summerfield) because of what seemed to be a good value for our money. We booked a studio suite with dual queen beds for 2 adults and 3 kids (10, 3 and 1). My wife was a bit hesitant because our GPS guided us to this same hotel when it was an Inns of America (IIRC) instead of the West Inn. It was empty last new years eve and reminded us of the Tower of Terror lobby. Forward to 2011 and we were pleasantly surpirsed with new decor and amount of cars parked outside. Check in was easy and we were assigned room 236, which faces the highway and near the train tracks. This room is close to rear guest entrance. When we first walked in the highway noise was very noticeable. I thought "oh oh, the reviews were right on?" After closer inspection I noticed that the window was cracked open. After closing it was quiet. I did not notice the train during our stay. The room was nice sized and the fridge and microwave were put to good use. So did the some of the bowels, plates and glasses. The walls are thin and you sometimes feel like the sounds are in your own room. Breakfast was just ok. By 9:30 food was almost all gone and it was difficult to find clean utensils, bowls, cups and dishes.

Overall the hotel was good. I may not stay here in the future only because we eneded up paying just a few bucks less than the West Inn, which is my wife's favorite in the area. We could have booked this hotel for just over $100 a night two weeks ago. We laggged and paid $140 a night. During a busy holiday weekend the parking was a little tight in the evening but cleared out early.

Just remember that you are near Legoland and expect families with small children. Also, that this Hyatt's version of a Holiday Inn Express not the Hyatt or Hyatt Regency.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank b&liz8823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.3 km away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
4.1 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.4 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.7 km away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad

Property: HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Address: 5010 Avenida Encinas, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4371 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#18 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): RM607 - RM1,192
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of beautiful Carlsbad, California and conveniently situated only 2 1/2 blocks from the beach, Hyatt House San Diego/Carlsbad is surrounded by the area's many great attractions and restaurants. Enjoy a five-minute shuttle ride to Legoland or GIA or travel a short 35 miles to the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, San Diego Wild Animal Park, Old Town or the San Diego airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites San Diego/Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Hotel Of America Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing