We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,390)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveller rating
699
404
151
78
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
699
404
151
78
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate entrance to legolandself parking feehotel restaurantvisiting legolandlego landprivate accesslarge poolping pongunderground parkingnice propertyearly checkocean viewoutlet mallhotel guestsmy songreat for familiesfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

I'm Starwood Preferred and I usually steer towards Westins as Sheratons can be hit or miss. This one hits. Very nice resort, beautiful grounds, decent pool, great breakfast. Rooms are up to date and nice. Large flat screen with HD and very comfy firm beds. Staff was also great. Premium outlet mall nearby a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricknieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We recently booked two rooms at the Sheraton in Carlsbad, while our house was being repaired/remodeled. Although our kids enjoyed the pool and nightly visits to Legoland (the park does not charge an entrance fee after 7:00 PM at the Sheraton's private entrance) and we all enjoyed the concierge lounge, both at breakfast and at dinner.
Being from the area, we rarely visit the local hotels and know little about them. But having to stay at a hotel for two weeks tells you quite a bit about it. For example, the pool is great if you have kids ages 4 to 10 (or you’re hard of hearing). However, hands down, it is the staff of the Sheraton that makes this hotel what it is, a luxury family hotel geared toward families. One of Sheraton Carlsbad staff in particular, a gentleman named Moe Usenbor, made our stay all the better.
Mr. Usenbor, or Mo after a few days, works at the front desk and occasionally in the concierge lounge. Mo always went out of his way to accommodate us and help us feel at home. He was kind and friendly, though not intrusive. After a day at work, he knew we needed some time to unwind. After our contractor informed us that our house wouldn’t be ready as scheduled, Mo worked extended our stay another few days, despite the fact the hotel was sold out! If you go the Sheraton in Carlsbad, I strongly recommend you seek Mo out. He can help make your stay great, find you that dinner reservation, suggest outings, and even listen to you complain about irritating contractors.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John n Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

I am glad that we could be your home away from home for two weeks. I know how hard it can be to have to be away that long. Mo what I can I say… He is an asset to our team and we are grateful that he is a part of our Sheraton family. We hope that you will return and visit us for a staycation or dinner in Twenty/20.
All the Best ,
Megan Conner
Assistant General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Family vacation with our two year old daughter. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The front desk was pleasant. The grounds were nicely kept. The pool was a bit cold, but our daughter still enjoyed it. They had a free movie night for the kids on the weekends, but we did not get a chance to participate.

A bit pricey, but enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. I will pass along your comments about to our wonderful Front Desk team. We hope you can come back next summer and enjoy our Dive-In movies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Our family's first trip to Legoland led us to overnight at the Sheraton Carlsbad with a promise of an 'Exclusive Entrance' to the park and wonderful photos highlighting the hotel's finer points.

The reality was that this is a somewhat spruced-up 3 star hotel attempting to masquerade as a 4-star establishment: The front desk staff was curt and less than helpful; the parking situation unclear and confusing; the room walls too thin; the poolside food sub-par; and the back entrance to Legoland somewhat removed from the main building of the hotel itself.

My general feeling was that the hotel is merely doing the bare minimum to cater to its guests because of its unique proximity to Legoland and that guest should be happy to stay here rather than the hotel being happy to have them.

If you are in a pinch and can get a discounted rate here, then perhaps it's worth a one night trial. But for those on a modest budget looking to splurge for a night or two, I would suggest looking elsewhere. The extra $11 you'll spend parking at Legoland will surely offset your disappointment at having overpaid to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JStern69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns the hotel. It is always our goal to provide out guest with exceptional experiences. My sincere apologies, that we fell short in providing the family with the fun filled weekend you were looking for. I have addressed your concerns with our team and we will continue to strive to better ourselves. It is through our guest feedback that we can learn and improve the hotel. I hope that we have the opportunity to prove to you what Sheraton Carlsbad is truly about.
Sincerely,
Megan Conner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My kids have severe food allergies. Traveling anywhere is always a challenge. I've never taken the time to rate a hotel, but felt compelled to do so after spending several days at the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa. The hotel was great, but the Twenty/20 Grill and Wine Bar is what deserves the rave review. Chris McNally, the Food & Beverage Mgr., and his staff (especially, Morgan, Server Extraordinaire) are the reason my family will return to the hotel. Chris and Morgan took our concerns to heart and were extra careful with our kids' meals. They understood the severity of the situation and made it a priority to help make our time at the restaurant enjoyable and safe. Also, the food is delicious! If you have any special dietary needs, then do yourself a favor and ask for Chris when you arrive. Better yet, contact him prior to your visit to discuss what your needs are so he can inform his staff before you arrive. If you're lucky enough to get Morgan as your server, then you're in for a treat. She always had a smile on her face and gave delicious recommendations off the menu. We'll miss Chris and Morgan, but will see them again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful comments. I cannot express how much of a joy it was to have your family here and Morgan has not stopped raving about the family. It is always our goal to make ensure that allergies are treated with the utmost caution. We appreciated the call prior to your arrival so that we can take the necessary steps in having product ready on property. Thank you for sharing your vacation with us, we look forward to many more family vacations.
All the Best,
Megan Conner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews